When faced with a long work day, there's nothing better than a quick 'meeting' at my local Triumph store. I've used the scam to test ride all the Tiger variants, the Daytona and the Striple, just don't tell my boss.
The other day on my way back to the office from a real meeting, I decided to pop into the Triumph store and do a quick test ride on the new T120. In fact, all I could think of during my meeting was the whether I'd get a chance to ride the T120.
So a quick Uber ride from my meeting and I was at the store. I told them I'd like to ride the T120 and a quick filling out of forms later, I had a helmet strapped on my head and the keys to a T120 with just 500 odd kilometers on odometer in my hand. That's what I love about Triumph. No fiddle about test rides, no dilly dallying, etc.
Starting up, the bike had a nice sound to it. The new clocks really had everything I'd hoped to find on my bike (gear indicator, fuel gauge, ride modes, fuel economy). Once on to the highway, I slowly opened her up.
I was trying to figure out what she sounded like and then it struck me. A well maintained TVS autorickshaw (not Bajaj, TVS ricks sound different). That's not good. And then for the rest of the test ride, I giggled to myself about the rickshaw reference and promptly forgot about the rest of the bike.
Suddenly a car in front of me slammed the brakes and I was forced to do the same and without a fuss and with no drama whatsoever, the Bonnie came to a halt, in fact so fast that I thought a real autorickshaw might come hurtling into me. So the brakes were excellent. After passing the moron who had broken down in the middle of the road and caused the sudden braking, I opened up the throttle.
The bike does fly, but doing it misses the charm of my bonnie. There's no freight train pulling you from behind on this bike. It's a bit too German and no longer manic. I pulled over at about the 15 km mark, just by the Sealink and did a little walk around. Triumph has been generous with the farkles. You have every single accessory included with your purchase price. Center stand, excellent suspension, heated grips (Bhutan, I remember you).
I quickly took some photographs and then took a u turn and headed back to the showroom. The traffic was pretty heavy on this side of the road. I was stuck in a traffic jam for a bit and man the engine does really heat up. But after doing arms at the gym, I was grateful for the clutch. It is absolutely effortless and brilliant. The best clutch I've ridden with in my limited riding career.
On the other hand, the ride by wire in bumper to bumper traffic is not as fun. It's notchy and you can hear it click on and off, a bit like Mustaq bhai, my neighborhood tailor's sewing machine.
Finally, after reaching the showroom I came to the conclusion that despite riding with a stock seat, my bum wasn't sore. The seat is finally comfy on the bonnie.
Parking the bike, here are my conclusions: while Triumph has done everything to make this bonnie the best ever, in the process they've gone and lost the soul of the Bonneville. So gone is the manic acceleration (at least till 100), gone is the slightly forward perched seat and the beauty of the air-cooled engine. Instead, we have a bike that looks like a Bonneville, has the best safety features this side of 12 lakhs but with the heart of a modern, unremarkable two cylinder mill.
Here's a quick list of the pros and cons, in my opinion as a current Bonneville owner.
Pros:
1. Excellent brakes. ABS makes that even better
2. Superb suspension. All the after market chaps are going to wonder how to make money
3. Great stock seat
4. Traction control (it was bone dry here in Bombay and so didn't get to try it)
5. Excellent MID
6. Finally the key is in the correct place and no more scratches on the left fork.
Cons:
1. It just misses something about the Bonnie. I can't put a finger on what it is - power, torque etc are mere numbers. This is different. That said, if I hadn't bought the old bonnie, I'd have bought this.
2. Ugly DRL
3. The bike feels smaller. While it's probably a good thing, it feels too much like a Pulsar
So the million rupee (and then some) question: will I be upgrading to the T120?
The answer is an emphatic no. While my Bonnie misses out on essentials such as ABS and TC and great suspension from the factory and a center stand, it's heart feels like a true, blue blooded Triumph that I longed for and saved for years to buy (my savings account, opened in 2003 is still nicknamed Bonneville Fund).

(Stuck on you/Got this feeling down deep in my soul that I just can't lose)