Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 6th January 2016, 16:01   #1

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n

This is a brief narrative about my Kawasaki ER-6n that’s just completed a year so one can term this as a long term ownership review I guess .

I was not really looking for an upgrade after riding my TBTS 500 for almost two years and I was pretty content with it as well as I was used to its quirks. But then as luck would have it, I ended up visiting the KTM Kawasaki showroom during the X’mas holiday season of 2014 and it was love at first sight of sorts. Blame it on midlife crisis!

The booking and delivery experience
The bad thing with Kawasaki dealers in Pune at least (and in particular Gems auto) is that they don’t allow you to take a longish test ride which is inexplicable. In fact I’d to pay the booking amount of Rs. 30,000 upfront to get a ‘test ride’ within their premises (that too with the sales rep as a pillion).Anyway, that brief ride sealed the deal for me. I was promised the bike within 4-5 days and I got its delivery on 1st Jan 2015.

The story so far
Since then I’ve enjoyed every moment with her! She’s clocked 33,000 kms in exactly one year with totally trouble free ownership.
Few of the long rides include Spiti Valley, Kanyakumari and Sandakphu in West Bengal.

Now about some details:

Motorcycle Accessories

I got the SW motech frame sliders from http://bigbadbikes.com/product/frame...awasaki-er-6n/ and a fellow named Sean Alexander from big bad bikes was really helpful in answering my queries.

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-sw1.jpg

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-sw2.jpg

Apart from this, I also bought the engine guard set from here https://bikerzbits.co.th/bikers-engi...-set-8441.html

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-bikers1.jpg

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-bikers2.jpg

Then there’s a nifty tool named packjack (http://www.packjack.ca/) that can be used in the absence of a paddock. This has been really useful during my outstation rides when I needed to lube the chain.

The positives

• This is a parallel twin engine that generates 72 ps of power @ 8500 rpm.This power is more than enough for Indian roads (both city as well as the highways) in my opinion. The power delivery is really linear although the fun starts post 5000 rpm from where this bike just zooms like a rocket !

• Apart from the power, this engine generates a max torque of 64Nm @ 7000 rpm. Again, the torque curve is quite flat so one can trundle at low revs in the city traffic without a fuss. I've been regularly commuting to my office on this bike in the notorious Pune traffic without any problems.At the same time, overtaking on highways is also quite easy as there's always power available on demand. One really does not need to downshift to get past another vehicle.

• The gear shifts are quite slick although there's a noticeable jerk of sorts whenever one shifts from neutral to first.But I've seen N-650s behaving the same way. So I am not the only one I guess !

• The ergos are spot on! The riding position is quite upright and that kind of really helps during long rides with minimum strain on your body.This is one of the biggest +ves that I see in this bike.The maximum distance that I've been able to cover in a single day has been close to 1000 kms (Kannur-Pune) thanks to the excellent ergonomics !

• Suspension setup is quite excellent and absence of roads is really never felt. The Kaza-Manali section is one hell of a bone jarring ride but thanks to the magnificent suspension, I just sailed through unlike few of my RE compatriots

• Handling of the bike is quite superb in my opinion. Cornering is something that I've managed to do effortlessly (although I ain't no Rossie !) and the switch over to Metz has only enhanced the dynamics.Anyone who decides to buy this bike,please think of switching over to Metz. They make a world of difference.

• I think this is a total VFM product at this price range.Also the routine service costs have been 'reasonable' and I expect the servicing cost to come down further as my bike is out of warranty now and I intend to get her serviced at 12000 kms interval.

• The ownership experience till date has been totally trouble free and I think that’s what a Jap bike stands for. No offence meant to RE aficionados but there used to be this constant fear in my mind whenever I took out my RE for a long ride out of Pune. None whatsoever with my Kwacker though! Been on few of toughest roads like Kaza-Gramphoo section and Sandakphu (although partly as I could ride only up to Megma), but the Kwacker took everything in its stride. I think that speaks volumes about the bike’s build quality.

• I’ve been getting FE of ~ 28 kmpl at speeds around 90-110 kmph and that gives a tank range of nearly 350 kms which is decent in my opinion.

• The “tandoori tangadi” syndrome is not that bad and the heat that’s generated in city traffic is quite bearable!

The bad ones

• The Kawasaki service center guys are clueless about doing jobs apart from the routine maintenance ones like oil change, air filter change and spark plugs change. Case in point is the Throttle Body (TB) adjustment that’s supposed to be done at 24,000 kms. The service center guys had no idea about how to do it and the refrain used by them was quite pathetic “Sir, this is Kawasaki, nothing will happen, you just do routine servicing and that should be okay”. Thankfully, I’d friends from Slipstream performance (http://on.fb.me/1Z7Bu0Q) who helped me out. Kunal Bhaskaran who’s the owner of slipstream is a team-bhp member and an avid rider himself did a thoroughly professional job of getting the TBs balanced.Here's a picture of the same:

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-tb.jpg

• I do feel mild vibrations at around 4000 rpm that correspond to speeds of ~ 90 kmph which is my cruising speed on our highways. This kind of becomes irritating at times. I would like to know if other Ninja 650/ER-6n riders also face the same issue.

• The weight!!!! This is a big letdown especially in a challenging terrain like the Himalayas. One just cannot manoeuvre the bike on a rough road and riding in such conditions becomes really tough. Another side effect of this enormous weight is picking up the bike after a fall. One can use terms like fulcrum/Leverage etc but getting a fallen bike that weighs in excess of 200 KGs up on its feet is nearly impossible in my opinion. I am not talking about plain roads here but say a road to Chandartal where I had a fall!

• Availability of not so common spares is another problem that I have experienced first-hand. I needed to change the chain/sprocket kit at 28,000 kms and it took the Kawasaki service center guys 15 days just to deliver the rear sprocket and chain. They somehow missed getting the front sprocket and I had to order it from performance racing store! Then again the service center guys did not have the chain breaker tool available with them and I’d to fall back to Kunal for getting this job done as I trust him more than the ASC guys anyway.

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-chain.jpg

• Availability of tyres (and getting them changed+rims balanced as well) at the ASC is also something that I’d to grapple with. The ASC guys were least interested in doing this job. As usual, I’d to get this done outside.

• The last one is about braking.Lack of ABS is a big omission :(.Apart from that the brakes lack the bite and frankly the rear brakes are not really confidence inspiring ! A switch over to EBC brake pads has definitely improved braking a lot.

The verdict

It’s been an eventful year with my Kwacker and as I had mentioned earlier, I have enjoyed it to the hilt
This has been a great learning experience for me as well. Buying a superbike/imported one in India is just a part of the story. Owning and maintaining it is a different thing altogether!
So a friendly word of advice based on my experience: These bikes are surely fun to ride but just make sure that you understand what you are getting into!

And few snaps

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-hvk.jpg

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-hvk2.jpg

Near Chitkul

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-spiti1.jpg

Near Nako

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-nako.jpg

Kunzum La

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-kunzum.jpg

And finally magnificent Kanchenjunga from Sandakphu

A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-sandak.jpg

Last edited by rb2399 : 7th January 2016 at 19:48.
rb2399 is offline   (55) Thanks
Old 8th January 2016, 10:38   #2

Re: A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Motorcycle Section. Thanks for sharing!
Old 8th January 2016, 11:23   #3

Nice write-up buddy and that's a LOT of riding in a year!

An obvious question - Considering how much of highway riding you've done, why not a N650? And how are you handling wind blast on this? In most naked bike threads, that's generally the first negative written. Surprised that you haven't mentioned it at all!

Also can you provide more info on the Packjack please? Did you get it shipped to India?
Added_flavor is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th January 2016, 11:23   #4

Wow!
there are few like you! Wishing you many many more miles and smiles on the beautiful and understated (under rated?) Er6n!
wolfy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2016, 11:32   #5

"Few of the long rides include Spiti Valley, Kanyakumari and Sandakphu in West Bengal."

Would love to see and read more about this baby in land rover nagar (urf) Sandakphu. Kindly do share more about that ride. I havent heard anybody do it on 2 wheels yet.
Old 8th January 2016, 12:28   #6

Originally Posted by rb2399 View Post
The weight!!!! This is a big letdown especially in a challenging terrain like the Himalayas. One just cannot manoeuvre the bike on a rough road and riding in such conditions becomes really tough. Another side effect of this enormous weight is picking up the bike after a fall. One can use terms like fulcrum/Leverage etc but getting a fallen bike that weighs in excess of 200 KGs up on its feet is nearly impossible in my opinion. I am not talking about plain roads here but say a road to Chandartal where I had a fall!
First of all thanks for that wonderful travelogue you shared with us. Taking a motorcycle like Er6n to Ladakh requires lot of preparation and will power. I also appreciate the positives and negatives highlighted by you. It is really unbiased and you have highlighted them very well. The behaviour and technical know how of Kawasaki after sales staff is appalling and funny. I mean the bike costs more than 5 lakhs and here they are giving silly excuses to a customer. Also the lack of ABS is a concern for a powerful bike like the Er6n. I am fan of naked bikes and Kawasaki Er6n looks business to me.

Also it is great to know that you owned a Tbird500 earlier. I believe with its heft of close to 200 kgs you might have got used to the weight. The Er6n weighs close to 204 kgs which is a marginal difference. About lifting the bike using fulcrum and body leverage, there are videos on YouTube wherein a single person is lifting super heavy bikes like Harley Davison Electra Glide, Honda Goldwing, etc. There's also a video showcasing a lady picking up a Harley Davidson Sporster 883 multiple times. All these videos although shows picking up the bike on nearly flat surface does gives some ideas as to lifting a fallen down heavy motorcycle using fulcrum and body leverage.

Mate I once had a fall on my Standard CI 350 and two times on my Tbird500 and managed to lift it alone all the time using the same technique. Anyways every fall is a learning and we learn to pick it up and ride again. Ride safe and do keep posting your experiences on the Er6n.

Last edited by navin_v8 : 8th January 2016 at 12:29.
navin_v8 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th January 2016, 14:51   #7

Great amount of riding in a year of ownership. The packjack looks a real good idea and so simple.
At what kms did your OE tyres give up? What make and size of Metzelers are you now using?
goandude is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th January 2016, 15:34   #8

Originally Posted by Added_flavor View Post
Nice write-up buddy and that's a LOT of riding in a year!

An obvious question - Considering how much of highway riding you've done, why not a N650? And how are you handling wind blast on this? In most naked bike threads, that's generally the first negative written. Surprised that you haven't mentioned it at all!
There's threshold speed (>160 kmph) beyond which the wind blast hits you really hard and I've experienced it first hand !. But my usual cruising speeds are far less than this threshold and hence I am kind of saved

Apart from that, the N-650 is somehow too bulky for my liking and hence I stayed away from it.

Also can you provide more info on the Packjack please? Did you get it shipped to India?
The packjack guys don't ship to India and I'd to get it via one of my friends in US.

Originally Posted by cUjO View Post
"Few of the long rides include Spiti Valley, Kanyakumari and Sandakphu in West Bengal."

Would love to see and read more about this baby in land rover nagar (urf) Sandakphu. Kindly do share more about that ride. I havent heard anybody do it on 2 wheels yet.
As I'd mentioned in my post, I could only go up to Megma and then just gave up as it became too difficult to get past those gigantic boulders and steep inclines as well . I switched to the trusted LRs for further journey.

Great amount of riding in a year of ownership. The packjack looks a real good idea and so simple.
Originally Posted by goandude View Post
At what kms did your OE tyres give up? What make and size of Metzelers are you now using?
The OE Dunlops lasted for 15,000 kms. Currently I am running on stock sizes i.e. 120/70 r17 and 160/60 r17 Metz M5 Sportecs

Last edited by aah78 : 14th January 2016 at 20:01. Reason: Posts merged.
rb2399 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 11th January 2016, 23:17   #9

Excellent ownership report and good to see the amount of miles you have munched on the ER6N. I ride a N650 and have done 65,000 kms on it which include 3 mountain rides i.e. Sikkim, Bhutan & Uttarakhand along with 1 Iron Butt SS1600K ride. I second what you have written about Power and practicality. It's truly a wonderful experience riding the Ninja and yes, it's definitely a reliable machine to tour with.

Only additional aspect I would like to add is about Ground Clearance which is 130 mm. As a solo rider I have never faced ground clearance issue with this bike but yes Sikkim ride was with pillion and ground clearance was a major set back. So if someone is looking for lot of pillion rides the Versys 650 may be a better choice any day.

I am yet to do Throttle Body sync, valve clearance and air vacuum sync primarily because of the same reason you have mentioned. I might have to search some private shop which can help me complete this checks.

I am currently using Michelin PR2 set and very happy with it. Its rear size is 180" compared to stock size of 160" but there is no issue because of the increase. Again, did this switch because it's easily available, cheaper cost and more life than 160". PR2 lasts for 20K kms if you are a sane rider.

P.S. You can switch to Rolon chain sprocket set rather than OEM as it is easily available in market and comes with X ring. Cheaper too.
Sachin_Nair is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th January 2016, 11:49   #10

Wow, you are inspiring me to keep mine. I have done about 7000 kms in one year and was thinking of selling it off. Now decided to do some more saddle time and get to love to the bike. Didn't the ground clearance bother you in bad terrain? And how did the metz hold up on bad roads?
Oreen is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2016, 09:11   #11

Originally Posted by Oreen View Post
Wow, you are inspiring me to keep mine. I have done about 7000 kms in one year and was thinking of selling it off. Now decided to do some more saddle time and get to love to the bike. Didn't the ground clearance bother you in bad terrain? And how did the metz hold up on bad roads?
I have been riding solo during my outstation trips and the ground clearance has never been an issue as such (roads or no roads)!

As far as the metz are concerned, all of the running (~5K) has been on highways so I am really not in a position to comment about their worthiness on bad roads
Old 16th January 2016, 23:23   #12

Jealous of your ride! A lot of cars sold in India don't have an engine with those numbers. Eager to own a litre bike some day.
motorhead16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2016, 10:08   #13

Hi rb2399,

Excellent post. Is the maintenance same for Ninja 650R also. I live in chennai any info. on who is the best private service guys out here?

Waiting for a reply.

Venky.
Old 11th February 2016, 10:04   #14

Here are few snaps from a recent ride along the scenic Kokan coast with doc (@ebonho).
A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-53a154c34ef641d7b454302f4d9a3f0d.jpg
A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-dsc00746.jpg
A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-dsc00747.jpg
A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-dsc00753.jpg
A year and 33,000 kms with my Kawasaki ER-6n-dsc00757.jpg
The route taken was:
Pune-Kolhapur-Nipani-Amboli-Sawantwadi-MSH-4-Harihareshwar-Pune.

As an aside, the odo now stands at 36,000 :-)
rb2399 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th November 2016, 13:37   #15

Hey there! Loved your short but precise review.

I am considering getting back to riding a two-wheeler and am currently researching options. The ER-6N and the N650 are the only two on the radar so far.

Had been to the KTM showroom at Nal Stop recently and got to check out an ER-6N. As expected, a request for a test-drive was refused and I was told that "Kawasaki's are the best bikes in the world and there is no need for a test drive".

Got to know that the current generation ER-6N has been discontinued from India as the new model is being launched in phases globally. So only 30-40 units are available at the plant it seems, and delivery requests are not being accepted easily. For the ones who have already booked the wait time is around 4-5 months.

After checking out the proportions of the bike (the current generation 2016 model), I felt that it's a good option for me considering my light frame (5'7" height / 66kg weight). My feet weren't touching the ground fully, but it seemed comfortable nonetheless. The seating posture seemed quite comfortable as opposed to the bikes with fairing (got to see only a N300, comparing the posture with that). Not sure if posture on N650 would be same as ER-6N or like N300. When I sat on a N300, the fairing seemed obtrusive and I didn't feel comfortable with that much mass even when the bike was stationary, neither did the posture inspire a feeling of comfort. As I didn't get to drive any these are just first impressions.

Considering that the incoming model (Z650 2017) has a weight reduction of 17kg, has ABS and seat height is reduced by 20 mm (785mm) - it feels like a really great product now (for me that is). Would like to know your thoughts on this and any advice/suggestions considering your experience with this product would be really helpful.

However, how is the general situation of the ASS in Pune? I stay in the Kothrud area and the Nal Stop showroom would be the closest for me. I'm not much of a DIY person and would prefer to get things done from the showroom service.

AbhisheKulkarni is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com