Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 28th January 2016, 09:57   #241

Re: Kawasaki Versys 650 launched at Rs. 6.6 lakh

Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
thanks!! Just the kind of real world review I was looking for. With the slightly nervous suspension, clunky gear shift and lack of two up touring ability (achy pillion seat and a driver's perch which is painful after an hour), I am not sure what kind of real life highway touring ability this one has.
This review is painfully different from the other reviews online. I am eagerly waiting for our member reviews as and when they happen before I can take a decision on which middle weight tourer to buy. I am swinging between the versys 650, the benelli 600gt and triumph tiger...
Well, I went through this dilemma last week and went through a lot of videos, forums etc. If you go back to the last page or two, you can read those posts. Finally decided no Tiger (due to reliability issues, heat, service issues, street triple stall videos).

Also had some great offer on a Diavel and even considered a Multistrada. Dropped them due to heavy maintenance. Finally decided to go with the more reliable Versys 650 for now and take a call later. I found 95% positive reviews and very rarely some negative reviews. Guess that is fine for now.
vprabu is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th January 2016, 10:54   #242

Originally Posted by Dust_Harl View Post
My bike is all set for delivery. It seems the RTO registration related approvals are through in Bangalore and you should see these guys deliver and register the bike.

AKS -- Super congratulations on the new acquisition! Look forward to seeing it in flesh n blood!
Originally Posted by Odeen12 View Post
Have you spoken to Sean at Big Bad Bikes. He's a dealer for SW Motech if I am not wrong and specialises in parts for tourers etc. Plus he's based out of Bangalore as well.

Check his FB page "Big Bad Bikes" he should be able to help you for sure.

Cheers and congrats again.
AKS - you should try Sean @ Big Bad Bikes - I got almost all my stuff for my Multistrada through him. Very prompt service and responsive.

Also - Evotech products are classy - I ordered quite a few sliders etc from the UK and they are all of awesome quality and very well priced too.
Old 28th January 2016, 11:16   #243

My bike is all set for delivery. It seems the RTO registration related approvals are through in Bangalore and you should see these guys deliver and register the bike.

Kalyani motors (KTM) Bangalore where I have booked the bike is all ready to deliver. On all probability will pick the bike either or Friday or Saturday. While he is ready to deliver tomorrow, I am held up with some pressing work with long hours in office and cannot really take time out for delivery of the bike. Hopefully by Saturday I will have my bike registered as well.
Great news!! Let me know if they have more bikes in stock for immediate delivery, so i can take one of them. not at all happy with the way KTM indiranagar is been so far and would not mind loosing the 5 k booking amount if it comes to that. Keep us updated on the delivery, PDI list if any, and initial impressions. Also, how do you plan to order spares, me be a few of the city mates can combine and order together. Do share link of accessories which you have decided to go for.

thanks!! Just the kind of real world review I was looking for. With the slightly nervous suspension, clunky gear shift and lack of two up touring ability (achy pillion seat and a driver's perch which is painful after an hour), I am not sure what kind of real life highway touring ability this one has.
This review is painfully different from the other reviews online. I am eagerly waiting for our member reviews as and when they happen before I can take a decision on which middle weight tourer to buy. I am swinging between the versys 650, the benelli 600gt and triumph tiger...
I guess it all depends on ones expectation from the bike and in relation to which other bike we are judging. For eg, obviously versys 650's suspension will not be any where close to the GS1200 telelever suspension, But would be better then say an RE. Atleast they have both the shocks adjustable, where the tiger XR series dont provide the same in the front. Infact that review raises points which have been raised several times in the international online forums by owners, who have experienced other bigger bikes before that. True, the V650 may not the best but its decent enough esp in our indian context, what money can buy. Only bike that priced similarly is the benalli GT600, but with lack of ABS, fixed front suspension, so much weight, its not really a contender. All other offering are priced twice or more.
AKS - you should try Sean @ Big Bad Bikes - I got almost all my stuff for my Multistrada through him. Very prompt service and responsive.
Did you finally get the delivery? Do share your impressions and would love to follow an ownership thread for the same.
Old 28th January 2016, 11:31   #244

Thanks for your responses, I guess my requirements were not clearly mentioned. I am looking for a decent touring bike (could be a cruiser, trail, on/off road etc), which is reliable, comfortable enough to ride 4/5 hours continuously (for me and pillion), has luggage mounts/hard cases to carry a weeks worth of luggage comfortably, can maintain 120kmph on most roads and importantly not too exotic or too heavy. Price is really not an issue, because this will be primary long distance tourer when the SUV is not used. Not really interested in lot of power, too many gizmos, charging points and what not, I am not offroading to Leh or something, just wanted to enjoy the pleasure of two wheel motoring and able to cover 700-1000kms without it feeling like a torture.
Old 28th January 2016, 12:00   #245

Thanks everyone. Eagerly looking forward for the delivery and shall keep you all posted.

Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
We look forward to lot of pictures and if possible a quick and slightly detailed ( I know, I know it's an oxymoron) riding report of it over this weekend
Yes Avi. Will definitely share by first hand experience with lots of pics. I am planning for a ride with our riding group Sunday morning and will keep you all posted with my first ride impression

Originally Posted by Odeen12 View Post
Have you spoken to Sean at Big Bad Bikes. He's a dealer for SW Motech
Yes I have spoken to him and working on few accessories from SW Motech

Originally Posted by vprabu View Post
Finally decided no Tiger (due to reliability issues, heat, service issues, street triple stall videos).
Well I was also in the same boat Prabhu sir and decided against Tiger for the exact same reasons and ended up saving some money. It was always my dream to own a tiger maybe later sometime and if possible 1200 explorer

Originally Posted by Shubz View Post
Also - Evotech products are classy - I ordered quite a few sliders etc from the UK and they are all of awesome quality and very well priced too.
Shubz good to see your post and thank you very much. Very much waiting for the bike and to ride along. Seems like we are following you from Harley to an adventure sports tourer but of a different make.

Can you give me the link for Evotech. I have a friend in London this week and he is travelling to Bangalore next week and want to check if he can carry few light weight stuff.

Originally Posted by nasirkaka View Post
Great news!! Let me know if they have more bikes in stock for immediate delivery
Banshankri KTM or Kalyanai KTM (one and the same) seems to have more bikes in stock and he is saying he can delivery ASAP to whom so ever contact him for Versys. It seems you will get a full refund in case you change the dealer and stick to same manufacturer. You just need to write to Kawasaki and they will enable the same. One of my other friend is also interested. On all probability both of us may take delivery of the bike together provide the dealer can arrange the bike by Saturday or Monday.
Old 28th January 2016, 12:09   #246

Thanks for your responses, I guess my requirements were not clearly mentioned. I am looking for a decent touring bike (could be a cruiser, trail, on/off road etc), which is reliable, comfortable enough to ride 4/5 hours continuously (for me and pillion), has luggage mounts/hard cases to carry a weeks worth of luggage comfortably, can maintain 120kmph on most roads and importantly not too exotic or too heavy. Price is really not an issue, because this will be primary long distance tourer when the SUV is not used. Not really interested in lot of power, too many gizmos, charging points and what not, I am not offroading to Leh or something, just wanted to enjoy the pleasure of two wheel motoring and able to cover 700-1000kms without it feeling like a torture.
Although on the Kawasaki Versys 650 thread but looking at your requirements one particular model comes to my mind and that is the Triumph Bonneville. You can read through some of the threads where our members have used this motorcycle for touring in India as well as cross country with and without pillion. See the below mentioned threads for detail:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superb...y-heart-6.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/superb...es-home-3.html

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...ju-lehd-2.html

Kindly note that the models shown in the threads are air cooled Bonnies displacing 875cc with 65 odd horses. These models have already started being phased out to make way for water/liquid cooled 1200cc motors.
navin_v8 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th January 2016, 12:55   #247

Originally Posted by navin_v8 View Post
Although on the Kawasaki Versys 650 thread but looking at your requirements one particular model comes to my mind and that is the Triumph Bonneville.
Kindly note that the models shown in the threads are air cooled Bonnies displacing 875cc with 65 odd horses. These models have already started being phased out to make way for water/liquid cooled 1200cc motors.
If I am not mistaken, the Bonnie street twin, the equivalent of the old bonnie gets the 900 cc engine with less bhp but more torque. The other ones get the 1200cc, including the old T100 now T120
Old 28th January 2016, 13:38   #248

If price is not a constraint then you should seriously look at the Ducati multistrada....IMHO the best all rounder available in India today.
Old 28th January 2016, 13:50   #249

Originally Posted by sammyboy View Post
If I am not mistaken, the Bonnie street twin, the equivalent of the old bonnie gets the 900 cc engine with less bhp but more torque. The other ones get the 1200cc, including the old T100 now T120
Yep true there is a 900cc base variant as well.
Old 28th January 2016, 14:18   #250

Banshankri KTM or Kalyanai KTM (one and the same) seems to have more bikes in stock and he is saying he can delivery ASAP to whom so ever contact him for Versys. It seems you will get a full refund in case you change the dealer and stick to same manufacturer. You just need to write to Kawasaki and they will enable the same. One of my other friend is also interested. On all probability both of us may take delivery of the bike together provide the dealer can arrange the bike by Saturday or Monday.
Called and they gave some container related issue in transit, and if i go with them, they will delivery by around 10th of Feb. Called Indiranagar as well and they asked me to call tomorrow when they will be able to give me a better picture. Although i am not desperate for delivery but you know how it is. Once the mind is set on something, it wants is asap.
Old 28th January 2016, 14:57   #251

Bumble bee kitted out with SW motech gear... God she looks fine.

#jushavinfun
Kawasaki Versys 650 launched at Rs. 6.6 lakh-1453973130438.jpg  

Old 28th January 2016, 15:11   #252

Originally Posted by Dust_Harl View Post

Shubz good to see your post and thank you very much. Very much waiting for the bike and to ride along. Seems like we are following you from Harley to an adventure sports tourer but of a different make.

Can you give me the link for Evotech. I have a friend in London this week and he is travelling to Bangalore next week and want to check if he can carry few light weight stuff.
Haha.. Its good that we all see sense in the same direction and moving in the same direction without even discussing amongst ourselves.

https://www.evotech-performance.com/ this is the link and they are very prompt in shipping etc. Quality of products are TOP Class!
Shubz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th January 2016, 15:52   #253

A screenshot from the BigBadBikes FB page. Looks comprehensive and might work out cheaper than original accessories.
Kawasaki Versys 650 launched at Rs. 6.6 lakh-screen-shot-20160128-3.50.08-pm.png  

kavinv is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th January 2016, 16:16   #254

Originally Posted by Shubz View Post
Haha.. Its good that we all see sense in the same direction and moving in the same direction without even discussing amongst ourselves.

https://www.evotech-performance.com/ this is the link and they are very prompt in shipping etc. Quality of products are TOP Class!
Do we need to pay the duty? How much time does it take for the products to get delivered?
Old 28th January 2016, 16:37   #255

Originally Posted by vprabu View Post
Do we need to pay the duty? How much time does it take for the products to get delivered?
Yes & No!

I ordered a bunch of stuff, so it had to be split into two packages. The higher priced package came home smoothly as it it was a 1 document letter.

Second one , lower priced package got detained at customs. Had to do a bit of running around to get it released. Though it was not a hassle, just their laid back approach of passing the buck.