|
Advanced Search |
Go to Page... |
Search this Thread | 28,459 views |
22nd November 2015, 19:03 | #1 |
BHPian Join Date: Oct 2014 Location: BLR
| Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review My sincere greetings to all fellow BHPians, One look at this classic Harley Davidson Superlow model is all that is needed to recognise the influence of classic street bike styling. The horizontal seat, large fuel tank and circular lights are all borrowed from previous-generation motorcycles. A lack of fairings on either side expose the 45° V-twin, Sportster Evolution engine and gives a clear view of advanced HD motorcycle technology. The overall attention to detail adds a sense of sophistication and makes this Sportster stand out. By creating an ergonomically sound riding position, Harley helps you to ride with comfort whether commuting or traveling long distances. There is room for two in the saddle and this added weight does not affect the bike’s maneuverability significantly. So said, I am here to give you my first experience buying a Harley Davidson, from Spice Coast Harley Davidson Cochin on 21 October 2015. Introduction:- I had gone for the Harley super low because this is the only Sportster bike that has been the subject of continuous product development and improvement for 60 years. The sportster has been in continuous production since 1957. The XL883L is a low rider, looks very compact and loads of chrome. This bike is from the CKD(completely-knocked-down)models sold in India. India is the second country where Harley-Davidson has CKD assembly operations outside the US, after Brazil. In 1991, Sportsters finally got the five speed transmission they so richly deserved, rubber-mounted engine and belt final drive on the 883 Deluxe; by 1993 belt drive was on all the 883s. Important Specification to take note of before you decide to go for a XL883L: Ground Clearance -100mm ( the under-cradle frame ) hits an average Indian road hump! Rake (steering head) (deg) - 31.1 Trail - 145mm ; good road handling. Tires, Front Specification -120/70 ZR-18 59W, one of the best premium low profile tires in the market Tires, Rear Specification - 150/60 ZR-17 66W ( same as above ) Fuel Capacity - 17L ; nice big tank for a long journey. Recommended 91 octane or higher fuel (R+M)/2. Oil Capacity (w/filter) - 2.6L; pay attention to the service interval and type and grade. Make a note in your owner's manual. Weight, In Running Order - 255Kg ; remember this bike is heavy and there is no reverse gear. You will find it difficult to sit and pushback! Displacement - 883 cc Fuel System - electronic sequential port fuel injection (ESPFI) Gauges - handlebar-mounted electronic speedometer with odometer, time-of-day clock, dual tripmeter, low fuel warning light, low oil pressure light, engine diagnostics readout, RPM/gear display, ABS light, LED indicator lights. Security system includes immobilizer and siren - Not included as standard equipment. Colours - White hot pearl/Blue hot pearl ; Brilliant silver pearl; Vivid black. Purchase experience: To make a booking you need to make a down payment of INR 50,000/- So be sure of the choices you make and the costs to get this bike on road. You will get a refund if you decide not to go ahead with the purchase, but there will be some deduction by the dealer. So be careful what you are going to commit to. The bike is expensive and has a market depreciation. You will have to do the full and final payment once the bike is received at the showroom. You may be given a weeks time to arrange the final payment. The Company will give you a bumper to bumper insurance which is very important to make any damage claims. The Bike will need a few extra fittings before taking the new bike for registration. The Dealer does not do the registration, the day you drive out of the showroom. So take your bike to the RTO straight away. You will immediately need a one-piece front engine guard, confirm the fuel tank is full, good riding helmet, gloves, thick jeans and good pair of shoes to protect your feet from flying road debris. Should you need a special ownership registration number plate, speak to the dealer and he will guide you how to go to the RTO website and select the number listed for auction for the current week/month. This is very important before you get the bike outside the showroom. You have to carry your Valid ID, original driving license, address proof. All in original and make copy of them too. You will have to visit the RTO to present the bike for inspection and then go to the RTO office to sign some documents. Use the agent of the Dealer to get your bike registered. You may also like to do some kind of Religious puja for the bike @ the showroom. So make your preparations. I had placed one yellow lime in front of each wheel and pushed my bike over them. Showroom tradition: It is a tradition of the Harley Davidson showroom to celebrate your bike delivery with a cake cutting ceremony. I was surprised but very happy to see all the available Spice coast Showroom staff present and celebrate with me the handing over of the keys and first engine startup by the owner. Purchase price: The on road cost of the bike was around INR 9.75 lakhs. Parts and accessories: You will immediately need a one-piece front engine guard and battery recharge tender and attached recharge pigtail harness. The accessories sold by the showroom are OEM, at times they have discount sales. Most of the parts are coming from the US and Taiwan. Be sure you check the parts fit the bike, by checking the year of manufacture and model. The parts are of improved quality control and design integrity of the parts is worth mentioning. Any modification on the bike should be crosschecked with the service manager who can give the quote with details of parts and costs involved. Parts are available from a wide network of official and independent dealers, which makes this motorcycle an ongoing rolling success. It is my personal opinion, get a feel of the bike and get around a bit before you give in to sales staff trying to sell to you add-ons. My riding experience. Controls and Indicators:- Keyed Ignition: The automatic-on headlamp feature provides increased visibility of the rider to other motorists. Be sure headlamp is on at all times. To start, switch off/run on the bike to run, the fuel pump will prime, note that the N green indicator is ON, fully pull clutch hand lever in against handlebar grip to fully disengage the engine from the gearbox and only then press the start engine button. Retract the side stand, swing the handle bar left and right to confirm the handle bar is not locked. Depress the front brakes to confirm it works. Slowly turn throttle control grip, the acceleration is phenomenal. Depress the gear lever fully down and slowly engage clutch. The clutch casing only contains a small amount of chaincase lubricant, approx 1Liter. It is important not to use half clutch in traffic, failure to do so will result in a burnt clutch plate assy. So you need to be paying attention. To reduce rider fatigue on long trips, a spring-loaded throttle friction adjustment screw is at the bottom of the throttle grip clamp. The riser-mount speedometer has an electronic display with an odometer/trip meter, gear/ RPM, time of day, trip A and B, engine diagnostic interface and indicator lights for low oil pressure and low fuel. Steering-head layout of my bike has been upgraded to that of XL1200C, the triple tree thus gives the rider a relaxed cruising position. I have installed handlebar clamp to raise the height and reach. My hands are now more relaxed and less stretched out. The hazard warning switch is located above the electric starter switch. This system allows a stranded motorcycle to be left in the 4-way flashing mode and secured until help is found. Gearshift pattern: 1st down, lift or press the gear shift lever 1/2 of its stroke to get the neutral, 1 up from neutral is 2nd,3rd,4th and 5th gear. Brake system: The front brakes are very sensitive and the rear is not so. Avoid sudden pressure on the brake levers as it could lead to disk brake locking & bike skidding. All this could happen in seconds. Maintain lower speeds on this heavy bike when going towards a bend or road intersection. Especially when approaching busy town and village roads. Chassis: Mild-steel tubing makes up the double-downtube, double-cradle frame. Remember to lift the under cradle at the front and rear interface where 2 frame members come together. Jiffy stand: be very careful to ensure the bike stand is lifted back and secure before you begin your ride, carefully move over humps as it could damage the jiffy stand retaining spring which is even lower to the bike’s under-cradle. The Bike is quite heavy, 256Kg. So be careful when you try to stop at the side of a road that is not flat. An inclined road can very soon tilt the bike to the side and suddenly the bike will fall down. So you need to be sure where you slow down, be sure the surface is not inclined or has loose gravel or mud. Front suspension: The 39 mm, cartridge-type forks run as standard. Easy-fill fork cap has been installed as an upgrade. The damping effect is very soft and dives very quickly when you apply the front brakes. So be careful when going over humps or step up road or floor edge. I have replaced the front wheel rim and tire to fit a Michelin Scorcher “11” tires, 100/90-19 BW tire along with a new fender. No change to electrical, throttle, clutch and front hydraulic brake line was required. Stock front Axle, was reused in the front wheel upgrade. Rear Shocks: Are replaced with part number mentioned in the bill. The rear Michelin Scorcher “11” tires, are upgraded to 160/70B-17 BW, on the stock 17inch alloy rims. . The superlow xl883l is configured for solo operation. If you choose to add a passenger and/or cargo to the vehicle, the ride quality may be compromised. You may adjust the rear pre-load to match the added weight. Rear View mirror: is well placed and the objects in the rear do not shake when on the ride. Adjust mirrors so you can see a small portion of your shoulders in each mirror. This will help you establish the relative distance of vehicles to the rear of your motorcycle. Comfort: The handlebar, seat and mid foot control pegs are well placed to give you a good riding posture. A lighter feeling, highly manoeuvrable front end with wider lock-to-lock steering. The seat is not very well built . The seat foam, cover is not ribbed and need to be upgraded to take you for a serious long ride. If you do carry a pillion passenger, they can instantly find the most supportive position in the saddle by resting on the well-positioned folding foot peg and back rest. Engine: The V-Twin engine has a lot of clatter at idle and riding. The heat from the engine is unbearable when the bike is slow moving or stationary at traffic signals, wearing a thick jeans and natural leather boots is the right gear to use when riding the bike. The top cam and tappet sound almost disappeared on replacing the stock exhaust. The first 500KM is very important so keep the rev and acceleration within the 2000RPM band, not to exceed 60KM/hr or rev the new bike. Exhaust system: closed loop exhaust system, delivers heart-pounding performance which is the trademark Harley-Davidson rumble. The durable mufflers with exhaust shields, a catalyst and mini heated oxygen sensors that improve emissions and driveability. What I dislike and need to upgrade: 1. Engine heat generated is a serious worry, as this is a air cooled engine. 2. 10cm, ground clearance is very low, to increase the under cradle height is an urgent requirement. 3. A battery charger, 5 Amps is highly recommended as the bike battery will only begin charging if the RPM is over 2000! A battery charging pigtail fitment is a must. 4. There is no storage for tools, documents and other riding gear. 5. No USB port to connect a phone or GPS device. 6. No ABS as standard equipment. 7. Very expensive spares and workshop service charges. 8. A 2 year warranty, is extended if you buy their ICICI 1st party insurance! any damage is paid from the insurance coverage. It is not covered by Harley Davidson. I have done a few upgrades, and details are given in the below posts. Spice Coast Harley Davidson Cochin, showroom delivery pictures: Celebrating the purchase of my Harley, at the showroom: The first cranking of my bike at the showroom: Bike taken for blessing to Kannamaly church - St.Antony's church: Bike battery tender and recharge pig tail attachment: Bike lift: EazyRizer Last edited by GTO : 10th August 2017 at 09:22. Reason: Spacing :). Thanks for sharing! |
(15) Thanks |
The following 15 BHPians Thank joednazareth for this useful post: | dkaile, FasterSon, GTO, Klub Class, marcussantiago, mh09ad5578, Nicky, Rehaan, RodRowdyBiker, Roy.S, roy_libran, Shome, starter, timuseravan, Vikram8891 |
|
26th May 2017, 19:11 | #2 |
| re: Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review Greetings to all, I have returned form my trip to Cochin, and would like to share my experiences with the Superlow Mod. 1. The ground clearance is an issue and i needed to resolve it to make my travel a bit less stressed with respect to the humps on the roads, and the soft diving of the front shocks when I applied the front brakes. 2. The heat produced by the engine and the exhaust flow being restricted by the CAT inside the mufflers. 3. Rear brakes have been not very effective and also seen the rear brake reservoir developing leaks. 4. Battery storage or shelving for over 3 or more months. 5. Bike lift to carry out required maintenance at home. To address the ground clearance: The XL883L Superlow 2015 has the following wheel geometry. Front wheel : 2011-2015 rim size=18X3.0; tire=120/70-18; Replaced with rim size=19X2.5; tire=100/90-19 Rear wheel: 2011-2015 rim size=17X4.5; tire=150/60-17; Replaced with rim size same; tire=160/70-17 Replaced rear suspension roadster PAM/Labour no.54615-01 Sportster Custom triple tree to fit the narrow profile front tire. Replaced front fender with custom built 19inch fender. Complete list of parts is attached: Triple tree replacement: Rear tire=160/70-17 replacement: Front wheel rebuild with tire=100/90-19: After the ground clearance rebuild, bike taken for 100Kms test drive by the same technician who did the rebuild: Some more pics to examine the improved ground clearance: My first long ride from fort cochin to Alleppey district: Front fork easy refill cap: To address the heat produced by the engine: I had to find another set of stock mufflers of my make and model and send it to a company in the USA, called American Custom exhaust systems. They ask you what kind of mod you want on the exhaust. I had the CAT partially removed and ordered for a - mid rumble tone baffle. American custom, did a great job to receive my exhaust do the mod and also polish my exhaust pipes and ship it to me in a very good cardboard box. The American custom, exhausts have been fitted and the heat from the engine has reduced. The baffle too was modified to produce mid-rumble tone, but noticed the sound is too loud, when compared to the stock exhaust. The Absorbed Glass Mat (AGM) battery has a life of 2 to 3 years, on my bike I used to remove the main fuse and the 2 small fuses when the bike is kept for storage. But my battery went bad and stopped to build charging to 12.3Volts. A good charged battery should be around +12.7 to +12.9Volts. The indication that the battery is dying is, starter motor will not prime but will chatter. Should this be the case do not repeatedly try to restart the bike. Get the battery to charge and wait for the battery voltage to reach 12.7v to 12.9v. The battery tender will indicate that the battery is charged (steady green lamp), but the extended charging will increase the current delivery. Should the battery get over heated, you need to stop charging and wait for the battery to cool down. Repeat the charging process. a two day charging is recommended. Test kit to certify the battery is un-serviceable: It would be recommended to disconnect the negative terminal from the battery, when leaving the bike for long period of storage. Last edited by GTO : 10th August 2017 at 09:34. Reason: Spacing :). Thanks for sharing! |
(14) Thanks |
The following 14 BHPians Thank joednazareth for this useful post: | amit_purohit20, bevivek, dkaile, FasterSon, GTO, Klub Class, mh09ad5578, Rehaan, roy_libran, Shome, starter, timuseravan, Turbanator, yoscenario2000 |
10th August 2017, 09:36 | #3 |
Team-BHP Support | Re: Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Big Bikes Section. Thanks for sharing! |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks GTO for this useful post: | joednazareth |
21st August 2017, 16:55 | #4 | |
| Re: Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review Quote:
Thank you for your repeated guidance on how I should make my post presentable. This is my first individual post and I would like to thank you for your understanding. I am working in the UAE and my bike is in Cochin, India. I am trying to raise a family and it has made my post lacking the quality and detail. Kindly forgive me for any mistakes made in my ownership review. My sincere thanks to all members of team-BHP forum. | |
(3) Thanks |
The following 3 BHPians Thank joednazareth for this useful post: | Klub Class, marcussantiago, mobike008 |
15th September 2017, 18:19 | #5 |
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2017 Location: Coimbatore
| Re: Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review Hello sir! Fellow superlow rider here, acquired a used one a year back. It is a 2012 model. Stage 1 upgraded. Thank you very much for useful info! I now know that the battery charges only after 2k rpm! I wil also buy a battery tender. The bike looks good in white and black. Put on a wind shield sir. It looks the part and immensely comfortable on rides. I have looked up a Dunlop tyre size 120/90, 18 inches. Will that not rise the ground clearance without spending a fortune on a rebuild? Also the front sag is to be corrected in mine. It sags heavy even though there is upgraded springs from Racetech. 2 ways to go about it are: a. Fork spacers b. Complete overhaul with monotubes Please let me know if you think these are useful mods. Also if at all we want to change the gear ratios, the front sprocket wheel can be swapped to give more time in the lower gears. I think that may reduce the need to half clutch in city rides. For the rear shocks I am thinking of Hagon's 13 or 13.5 inch nitro shocks. Dkaile sir, I know you are around! Please opine |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank FasterSon for this useful post: | joednazareth, mh09ad5578 |
24th October 2017, 19:33 | #6 | |
Greetings to all. Thank you for you comments. I will get back to you about the options to raise the GC of a stock XL883L. 1. With a different damper tube set from a stock Roadster that is no more in production.. will get you part number.. 2. Rear shocks also from belonging to a stock roadster, will send you the part number. 3.Also I have a HD senior mechanic from Ernakulam, who will give you all the useful info. 4. Don't put too much funds in this project, I built my bike to a retro bike of the 80's and thus the costs went up. 5. The battery is an issue , but have a work around on that too, please bear with me; will share info in a few weeks. I am going to India for a holiday. Will be back and send you details. OK. Take care! and ride safe! Regards to all-Joe Abu Dhabi UAE | |
() Thanks |
24th October 2017, 20:37 | #7 | |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: pune
I put on the vance N hines FP3 on my Dyna and its a whole new monster engine runs much cooler and smoother + no decel pop. Also put on heat deflectors makes a world of difference. All the best. Last edited by davids4x4mm550 : 24th October 2017 at 20:38. | |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks davids4x4mm550 for this useful post: | joednazareth |
19th November 2017, 18:40 | #8 | |
Greetings to you. Below given is the information, how to compare the stock wheels and upgrade. The method was used to logically decide which model wheels can be swapped to address the ground clearance issue of my SuperLow. ) Front wheel: 1. Find sportster XL883L, 2015 in the list. (This is my model ) 2. RHS, front wheel specification of standard rim and tire = 18X3.0 & 120/70-18. 3. Replaced with, sportster XL 2000-2010; 19X2.5 & 100/90-19. This mod is expensive, the stock triple tree has to go, new fender, new handle bar mount, stock front axle bolt with some spacers. All front wheel controls (brake line and disc brake mount remain stock ) 4. Get a quote for the front end mod, the fender is custom paint and is very expensive. 5. Damper tubes are stock, no mods. Except for damper oil refill cap. 6. Front license plate mounting holes shifted. Rear wheel: 1. Find sportster XL883L, 2015 in the list. 2. RHS, rear wheel specification of standard rim and tire = 17X4.5 & 150/60-70. 3. Replaced by, street bob 2006-2015, tire = 160/70-17. No other parts were replaced. Rear suspension: 1. Replaced with sportster iron, rear shocks. Side Stand: 1. Replaced with sportster iron, side stand. Time taken for Mod: Two working days including test ride by HD technician, to certify the mod is as recommended and bike is road worthy. Achieved objective: 1. Ground clearance is = 140mm 2. Bike is easy to handle and stable over bends. 3. Easy to ride over tall humps, slow down a bit to cross the hump. 4. The front dive of the fork, helps in retarding the speed of the bike when the bike is straight. 5. Peace of mind. Better view of road surprises like pot holes ahead. Kind regards, Joe Abu Dhabi UAE Last edited by joednazareth : 19th November 2017 at 18:49. | |
(3) Thanks |
The following 3 BHPians Thank joednazareth for this useful post: | mh09ad5578, Nicky, vishy76 |
2nd December 2017, 10:36 | #9 | |
Greetings to all. Please read Rear wheel: 1. Find sportster XL883L, 2015 in the list. 2. RHS, rear wheel specification of standard rim and tire = 17X4.5 & 150/60-70. as 150/60-17. Kind regards, Joe | |
() Thanks |
13th December 2018, 09:46 | #10 |
BHPian Join Date: May 2017 Location: Bangalore
| Re: Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review Hi Joe, I am considering buying a pre owned (2012) model superlow. I will be going to see the bike this coming Sunday. Could you please guide me as to what all parameters of the bike I should check myself to ensure that it is a safe buy? I have never owned or extensively ridden a Harley and am pretty much a rookie when it comes to big bikes. All I know is that the owner has put in new tyres some time bike and she is coming from a trust worthy source. Still I would like some checklist or some pointers to do a preliminary inspection. Anything while I should be looking at closely when I ride it? Also I am exactly 6 ft tall. Is the standard seating position cramped for someone of my height? |
() Thanks |
13th December 2018, 13:30 | #11 | ||
Team-BHP Support Join Date: Mar 2011 Location: Gurgaon
| ||
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Turbanator for this useful post: | joednazareth, Vikram8891 |
|
13th December 2018, 13:34 | #12 | |
Thanks Turbanator. I am actually looking to get into comfortable long distance touring. I do a bit of it on my Dominar already and want to get into the Harley for 2 up comfortable touring for my wife and I. Not at all looking for poser value from it. I will definitely try to get a longer test ride and decide. | |
() Thanks |
17th December 2018, 09:47 | #13 |
| Re: Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review @Turbanator I test rode the Superlow and though all my reading and watching the reviews had prepared me for the low GC of the bike, the fact that it was bottoming out on even the smallest of speed breakers made me change my mind. There were a few issues with the bike too which the owner was up front about, but my main concern was that if the bike bottoms out so easily then if the same were to occur at triple digit speeds, I would be in a lot of trouble. The thing I loved though was the way the engine pulled and how easy it was to steer the bike into small gaps. The weight just disappeared. Like you said, a test ride was in order, will probably look at a pre owned Iron if I can get one in decent nick. |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank Vikram8891 for this useful post: | joednazareth, Turbanator |
19th December 2018, 22:38 | #14 |
| Re: Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review Dear Vikram, Greetings to you. Please find the FB link to my friend from Harley Davidson, Cochin. https://www.facebook.com/sarath.jnair Mr.Sarath, he will help you find the right kind of bike that will suit your height and purpose to buying one. Each Harley, model has been built for a group of roles and comfort. So, I strongly believe you do need guidance to find the right model of Harley that matches your requirements. Wishing you all the very best Viki! Sorry, for not responding earlier. Wishing all members of TEAM-BHP a very happy weekend! Kind regards, Joe Abu Dhabi, UAE |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank joednazareth for this useful post: | Turbanator, Vikram8891 |
23rd January 2019, 16:25 | #15 |
| Re: Harley-Davidson XL883L SuperLow : Ownership Review Dear All, Greetings to you. Please find information for new battery charging device recommended for HD Sportster. https://www.ctek.com/products/vehicle/mxs-5-0 1. CTEK BATTERY CHARGER 12V 5 AMP 8 STAGE CHARGING WITH TEMPERATURE CONTROL MXS5.0 2.MXS 5.0 also includes battery diagnosis to establish whether your battery can receive and retain a charge, patented automatic desulphation program, an AGM option which maximises the performance life of most Stop/Start batteries and a special Recond mode for reconditioning deeply discharged batteries. Best regards, Joe |
() Thanks |