Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 30th July 2015, 15:24   #196

Re: DSK-Benelli launches 5 motorcycles in India

Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
Honestly this may not be needed. Moreover 50000 kms on Indian terrain can be done by any royal enfield also, so it really doesn't reflect quality or robustness in anyway.
Quality will be proven more by higher warranty periods, full warranty for all parts and some sweet service deals.
Since their bikes seem to be selling well, IMO they don't need to worry about perceived Chinese parts etc.
Originally Posted by Ricci View Post
Why 50k, Enfields have 3 times as much. Long engine/chassis life and high reliability are different things. The Tata Indica that many private users find unreliable is also used by taxi fleets for 300,000km - and some of marques held as less reliable by reputation, give longer warranties than the Japanese.

Reliabilty isn't how many kilometers done, but how many failures/breakdowns a vehicle has per mile ( or say per 1 lac km).
I look at reliability as the ability to bring the rider home under its own power for the number of kilometers done.

As against being parceled back home.

It should get the rider home. Battered, broken, wheezing, but if it makes it back home under its own power, its reliable.
ebonho is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 30th July 2015, 15:47   #197

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
Battered, broken, wheezing, but if it makes it back home under its own power, its reliable.
You just spoke my mind Doc, fantastic.

Yes that to me is reliability and I would not pay any heed to the number of kilometers it has done and all that crap.
ku69rd is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th July 2015, 17:44   #198

Originally Posted by ebonho View Post
I look at reliability as the ability to bring the rider home under its own power for the number of kilometers done.

As against being parceled back home.

It should get the rider home. Battered, broken, wheezing, but if it makes it back home under its own power, its reliable.
Then RE doesn't cut it!! bullets do die all of a sudden in a cloud of smoke, an oil bath and some drama. What's left is to tow the bike home or get a tempo...
That apart I am sure Benelli will not cause it's rider such grief.
apachelongbow is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th July 2015, 18:04   #199

Then RE doesn't cut it!! bullets do die all of a sudden in a cloud of smoke, an oil bath and some drama. What's left is to tow the bike home or get a tempo...
That apart I am sure Benelli will not cause it's rider such grief.
And then with a bit of DIY and help of M Seal or other 1001 jugaads, the Bullet limps back home with the rider, while most others when caught in a similar situation, wait for the flatbed.

Sorry for going OT mods.

--Anoop

Last edited by theexperthand : 30th July 2015 at 18:17.
theexperthand is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th July 2015, 19:08   #200

In the scenario that:

- I take good care of my motorcycle, get it serviced on time etc
- Ride it the way "it was supposed to". No lugging or keeping it screaming at the end of its powerband all the time
- Dont carry out any modifications

and still the bike develops a (completely unexpected / unannounced) snag that:

- Forces me to retire from a journey & / or drastically alters plans
- Requires me to carry out "jugaad" fixes every now and then
- Makes me best buds with my mechanic

Does it still fall under the ambit of a reliable motorcycle; regardless of it limping back home or not?
Urban_Nomad is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 31st July 2015, 13:19   #201

Then RE doesn't cut it!!
Maybe RE's don't.

Bullets do.

There is a world of difference. But I guess most of you have already heard that from me, so will let it rest.

Originally Posted by Urban_Nomad View Post
In the scenario that:

- I take good care of my motorcycle, get it serviced on time etc
- Ride it the way "it was supposed to". No lugging or keeping it screaming at the end of its powerband all the time
- Dont carry out any modifications

and still the bike develops a (completely unexpected / unannounced) snag that:

- Forces me to retire from a journey & / or drastically alters plans
- Requires me to carry out "jugaad" fixes every now and then
- Makes me best buds with my mechanic

Does it still fall under the ambit of a reliable motorcycle; regardless of it limping back home or not?
May depend from person to person and his ethos on touring, unsupported, often solo.

I've shared what mine is.

If a bike gets me home, safe, without having to be parceled home, she is reliable.

If I bike breaks down, catastrophically, and needs to be parceled home, then its not. There are shades of grey there, depending on what silliness you as the rider did in the interim, but you get my point.

I also have a special love for bikes that tend not to throw me. In spite of my silliness.

Last edited by ebonho : 31st July 2015 at 13:27.
ebonho is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st July 2015, 15:03   #202

I was here to see some reports on one of the Benellis. Looks like this thread has been taken over as well, like all the highways.

Why not name this thread appropriately then and avoid accidental bumps for searching souls like me ? '5 ways to fix a reliable stranded motorcycle with M-seal' or something that makes more sense akin to the discussions ?
Sojogator is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 1st August 2015, 10:59   #203

Mod Note: Please restrict this thread to ONLY Benelli discussions. We have other threads for other manufacturers. Thanks!
Old 2nd August 2015, 23:06   #204

This month's Evo magazine reports that the DSK Benelli showroom in Pune which was opened in March has sold 100 bikes. I for one am quite impressed by the numbers that DSK Benelli has managed to garner - 100+ in Bangalore and 100 in Pune for what some dismissed as a dead on arrival manufacturer with a non competitive product range.
Old 3rd August 2015, 08:23   #205

Originally Posted by neil.jericho View Post
This month's Evo magazine reports that the DSK Benelli showroom in Pune which was opened in March has sold 100 bikes. I for one am quite impressed by the numbers that DSK Benelli has managed to garner - 100+ in Bangalore and 100 in Pune for what some dismissed as a dead on arrival manufacturer with a non competitive product range.
Markets choose what they think of as best. The prices are pretty competitive, the build quality in flesh is substantial and the inline 4 of the 600cc sounds divine. In my observation, one doesn't get the feeling of an overtly plastic bike, one gets by looking at some other 250/300/600/800 cc makes.
Also most of the 200 odd bikes sold would be the 300 cc vtwin, which is rather affordable.
Old 25th September 2015, 11:16   #206

DSK-Benelli has launched the TNT 600i in a new limited-edition gold colour. Only 60 units of the gold shade 600i will be offered in India and the bike will go on sale from 3rd October 2015. The limited edition motorcycle (named the 600i LE) has been priced at Rs. 5.58 lakh (ex-showroom Delhi). The ex-showroom Pune price is Rs 5.66 lakh.

The bike is powered by a 600cc, in-line four-cylinder, liquid-cooled engine that produces 85.07 BHP @ 11,500 rpm and a peak torque of 54.6 Nm @ 10,500 rpm.

DSK-Benelli launches 5 motorcycles in India-dsk-benelli-tnt600i-le.jpg

DSK-Benelli launches 5 motorcycles in India-lr-mr.-shivapada-ray-coo-dsk-motowheels-mr.-shirish-kulkarni-chairman-dsk-motowheels.jpg
Tushar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st October 2015, 10:41   #207

Now that it's been quite a while since the brand forayed into the Indian market, what does the report card show? Is the brand's entry a success or a failure? How many units do they sell on an average?
Old 1st October 2015, 14:55   #208

Since the last week, I have a few ads for Benneli for sale cropping up. One is just 9 days old!!

Not sure why this market for used Benellis which are all less than 6 months old....
Old 1st October 2015, 18:59   #209

Originally Posted by killjoy View Post
Since the last week, I have a few ads for Benneli for sale cropping up. One is just 9 days old!!

Not sure why this market for used Benellis which are all less than 6 months old....
It seems entirely possible that the crowd that bought them realized it doesn't give them exactly what they want, something to the extent of sound and looks.
Old 15th November 2015, 10:04   #210

Had visited the DSK-Benelli shop here in Bangalore yesterday.

I wasn't that interested in their bikes, since I was in that part of town, decided to drop in and check them out.
They had a limited edit 600i on display as well. Quite a looker in that shade of color.

Took a short test ride on the same bike with a showroom guy pillion. All the bikes had aftermarket exhausts as well. I guess now that is a marketing gimmick.
The 600 as per specs has 85bhp but it seems like that's just on paper. Being a inline 4,i was able to hit higher gears in short distance, but the speed was not increasing along with it.
Maybe I didn't open up being in traffic and a pillion behind, but I expected decent thrust even with mild throttle which wasn't felt.
On the other hand, the exhaust note from the inline four was amazing with the aftermarket exhausts.
From what I learnt, the engines are a genera old Yamaha engine being built through technology transfer. Maybe for the price it is sold at for a 4 cylinder, it maybe worth it for few, but I would go for a latest technology twin which has power to be felt rather than on paper.

The bike is bulky, but not all that difficult to handle in traffic. I would have ridden not more than 2 kms. I wish I had a open road in which I could open it and feel the rest of the range.
Switchgear - the old Kinetic Honda felt better.

Came back to the showroom and tried the TNT300 as well. This one had a very annoying aftermarket exhaust. It was a case of barking dogs don't bite. Felt quite underpowered to me.
It was comfortable though with no complications in posture or seating.

Was thinking after the rides, the choice for us bikers are so vast now. There is a bike for just about every kind.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com