Team-BHP > Super-Cars & Imports in India

Old 13th September 2021, 21:06   #2101

Re: Supercar & Import Crashes in India

Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
What website was this? The Mini looks like it got rear ended by a 2 wheeler of some sort, and is probably salvageable.
Its not a website but an IG page .
https://instagram.com/salvage_car_au...dium=copy_link
aditya_911 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2021, 13:44   #2102

Originally Posted by aditya_911 View Post
Flood damaged California from a salvage page
Thanks to Jai Patel for sending this in. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this Team-BHP share page!

Adding some more pics of the same car:

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-ferrari-1.jpg

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-ferrari-2.jpg

Image Source
ChiragM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd October 2021, 19:34   #2103

Thanks to Jai for sharing these pictures. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this page!

Poor Ferrari Portofino :(

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-img20211002wa0025.jpg

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-img20211002wa0024.jpg

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-img20211002wa0021.jpg

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-img20211002wa0026.jpg

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-img20211002wa0027.jpg

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-img20211002wa0028.jpg

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-img20211002wa0029.jpg

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-img20211002wa0030.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 3rd October 2021 at 19:35.
GTO is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 4th October 2021, 14:04   #2104

Thanks to Jai for sharing these pictures. Heartfelt gratitude for sharing it with other enthusiasts via this page!

That hurts ! I wonder what it would take to repair one of these machines.

I remember seeing the Murcielago SV totaled and I always wished I had the money to give it a new life.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 5th October 2021 at 11:08. Reason: trimming quoted post
MVij91 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th October 2021, 14:17   #2105

Poor Ferrari Portofino :]
You can see it in happier times in the pic above next to the Corolla that I have on sale!

Supercar & Import Crashes in India-2855739d1fa0418f841877608866ec0c.jpeg
ajmat is offline   (16) Thanks
Old 4th October 2021, 19:10   #2106

I think it is the same car which crashed on the Bangalore airport flyover and the incident has been reported here (Supercar & Import Crashes in India).

The front has had the big impact, I suppose it has run over the divider. Looks like it can brought back to shape or at least I hope so.
skarface is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th October 2021, 19:27   #2107

that's some Garage! I see a black RR too
Old 4th October 2021, 21:01   #2108

Originally Posted by skarface View Post
I think it is the same car which crashed on the Bangalore airport flyover and the incident has been reported here (Supercar & Import Crashes in India).

The front has had the big impact, I suppose it has run over the divider. Looks like it can brought back to shape or at least I hope so.
It is indeed the same car. The number plate in the photo shared by GTO matches the one in the video, ending with 5555.

Originally Posted by pineapple_ameet View Post
I would definitely want to visit such a service centre, even if its just to glance at these beauties for a few minutes. Any idea where this could be?
Torque_Curve is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th October 2021, 21:35   #2109

Originally Posted by Torque_Curve View Post

I would definitely want to visit such a service centre, even if its just to glance at these beauties for a few minutes. Any idea where this could be?
A Navnit motors would be my guess.

Frankly I think the car is totalled. The frame would have been bent. If it was abroad, it would have been scrapped
ajmat is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th October 2021, 00:13   #2110

Originally Posted by pineapple_ameet View Post
Hehe, did you miss the Urus, Bently, Merc SLS (My guess) and a few others? Another lambo in red in background or some other car? Pic not clear
sunilch is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th October 2021, 17:51   #2111

Better junk it. We had an unfortunate experience with a much humbler car. The problem is that shock waves from the front travel all over the car and basically wreck the chassis. Modern monocoque chassis are designed for maximum passenger survivability in a crash and not to conserve it. So the chassis is offered as a sacrificial lamb to meet that end.

Added to that is the fact that Ferrari and other supercars use exotic materials like Aluminum alloys, Carbon, Magnesium etc which are near impossible to bring back to original shape. There are garages abroad who are capable of a full restoration but i doubt if anyone can do such highly complex work here in India. The costs would also be astronomical.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 6th October 2021 at 10:17. Reason: spacing for improved readability
car love is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 5th October 2021, 19:21   #2112

I feel it can be saved if people with the right skills get hold of it. Youtube channels like goonzsquad, tavarish and similar rebuild channels have bought back cars that are way worse than this car. But the main problem will be getting hold of the parts and finding competent people to work on it here in india.
Arshad YR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th October 2021, 21:48   #2113

These kind of accidents are generally a write off as a total loss. Quotes for repairs generally exceed the cost of the actual vehicles.

The accident seems a serious one and replacement parts, body panels and actual assembly may not be possible locally.

Letting it go would be a better option IMO.
Old 5th October 2021, 23:46   #2114

It definitely can be repaired if it has to be, but from an insurance point of view it'll be a write off/total loss if the repair cost exceeds the car's value.

But from a repair point of view, much worse cars have been repaired even if it was abroad. Richard Rawlings of Gas Monkey Garage (from the car restoration TV show "Fast N' Loud) famously bought and repaired a 1991 Ferrari F40 which was deemed a write off by most people - at a great cost however.
Old 6th October 2021, 11:30   #2115

What would the price to restore such a car be?
Because if it is lower than a crore I think that the car will sell. The value of such a vehicle would normally be around 2 - 2.5 crore but since it is crashed it would sell for 80 lakh, so the entire cost would be cheaper.

I hope that the car is bought by someone who will care about it, fix it, drive it and enjoy it. The number of exotics restored in the country is low and if they aren't restored it will affect the used car prices. For a young person like me who hopes to buy a used exotic in 10-15 years, it will just make these cars more unattainable.

If the cars restoration price is above a crore than there is little to no chance that it will be restored, and we will see another beautiful exotic lying in a junk yard.