Old 22nd April 2025, 17:13   #1

Automatic or Stick for a learner?

I have a child who is about to start learning to drive. Old school logic was to learn on a stick shift, because, well, because.

But going forward, especially with EV's proliferating, is that logic still solid? Should a young person start learning on an automatic instead? What's the opinion of experts here?
MadinMumbai is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2025, 17:22   #2

Re: Automatic or Stick for a learner?

Originally Posted by MadinMumbai View Post
is that logic still solid? Should a young person start learning on an automatic instead?
He would have to learn to drive a manual car, as I believe there isn't a separate section for automatic cars when obtaining a driving license yet. Once he has his driving license, he can choose to only learn or drive an automatic car.
It's Magic is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2025, 17:32   #3

I have a child who is about to start learning to drive.
=====
What's the opinion of experts here?
Highly recommended to learn Manual/Stick shift. Maybe your child would never have to drive one in their lifetime, but it is a bonus skill which is a plus if they ever happen to be in a situation where they need to commandeer a manual shift vehicle for emergency purposes or otherwise.
uneaz is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2025, 17:46   #4

My suggested steps:
1. Commence learning on Automatic
2. Master basic driving skills and work on advanced driving skills
3. Learn defensive driving
4. Build and improve muscle memory
5. Learn clutch-gear combo (Small learning step at this point)

Flipping the order, places a very high learning load initially, and road + traffic conditions nowadays are not as forgiving as when many of us were learning to drive on Manuals 2,3, or 4 decades back.
roy_libran is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2025, 19:00   #5
SRS

I believe that to obtain a licence, you should study driving a manual, and considering the growth of automatics and EVs, you may opt to drive on an automatic once the licence is obtained. A couple of my friends learnt to drive a manual just for the sake of getting the licence and haven't touched one since.
SRS is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2025, 20:46   #6

I just turned 18 and got my learner's license exactly two weeks ago.

Firstly, when you appear for the permanent driver's license test you always have the option of giving the test on an automatic (in case the person hasn't learnt stick). However, once you obtain the driver's license it'll clearly show that the holder is permitted only to drive a car with an automatic gearbox.
In case you decide to give the test using a manual car, you'll be eligible to drive both.

In my case, it didn't take me much time to get comfortable behind the wheel of an automatic. I had been driving from a bit before but always with an adult. I'm now going to transition to the manual before I give my permanent DL test.

Old opinion states that it's hard specifically for a newbie to learn an automatic after driving a manual, but I don't feel that way. IMO when you start off with an automatic, your mind is left free to focus on stuff like accelerator and brake inputs, learning the extremities of your car, steering inputs, etc without worrying about gear changes. Once all those things are mastered, make the switch to a manual the only thing left to learn is gear changes.

That's how I learnt, started off with an automatic, learnt the basics and now transitioning to the manual. I know it's a very different approach to what the experienced drivers suggest but that's what worked for me.

Safe driving, cheers

Last edited by PetrolHead2272 : 22nd April 2025 at 20:47.
PetrolHead2272 is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2025, 21:21   #7

Originally Posted by PetrolHead2272 View Post
IMO when you start off with an automatic, your mind is left free to focus on stuff like accelerator and brake inputs, learning the extremities of your car, steering inputs, etc without worrying about gear changes. Once all those things are mastered, make the switch to a manual the only thing left to learn is gear changes.
Exactly right. Even I have a friend of mine who learnt to drive on his family’s twin clutch Laura before transitioning to a manual car. He thoroughly enjoyed the stick and is one of the better drivers amongst my friend circles.

To me the ultimate learner’s car is a tall hatchback or van or ecosport like thing because it is not really about manual or automatic rather it is about managing weight shift if you want to think about how to best nurture a learner’s abilities. A tall boy car will prove easier to get to grips with when it comes to judging all four corners of the car which as you rightly pointed out, is important when it comes to diffusing nervousness and once that stage is crossed, either a manual or an automatic where the learner is encouraged to shift gears or use paddle shifters to row through the gearbox in order to establish control and sensitivity to weight shift.
IshaanIan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2025, 21:38   #8

Always a stick shift for a learner. A person who operates clutch-gear can always drive an automatic. But someone whose experience is limited to only automatics will find it very difficult to drive a manual.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 08:15   #9

Going against the tide, but unless the person is a car enthusiast, AT is fine. It will be far easier to learn. ATs are available in almost every car model on sale today and is usually the preferred choice. With some types of cars (EVs, premium cars), AT is the only way to drive. Out of the 30-40 different newly launched cars that I drive every year, perhaps one is an MT.

My sisters & better half used to drive MTs at one point. They haven't in 10+ years and have actually forgotten how to.

The only person who needs to know how to drive an MT today is a petrolhead, because of the occasional fun of rowing gears, high-revving an MT is unparalleled pleasure and who knows, you could get the opportunity to drive a Classic Car, old Jeep or Padmini. Otherwise, the MT is irrelevant today.

Last edited by GTO : 23rd April 2025 at 08:17.
GTO is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 09:19   #10
NPV

I have a child who is about to start learning to drive. Old school logic was to learn on a stick shift, because, well, because.
First off, thanks for using the term “stick shift”, not commonly used in India, we generally use “manual transmission” or MT; brought back memories of my first car shopping experience in the USA 2+ decades ago

My 2 cents on this topic would be:
Get your child to learn driving on a car with stick shift, get the drivers license and then practice with an automatic and use it. This is because I believe switching from stick shift to automatic is usually easier than the other way around, in my experience.

Another reason is (as someone else has already mentioned) I think in India there is no way to get a car drivers license (LMV) for a gearless/automatic car like how one can get a 2 wheeler license specifically for gearless scooter or motorbike/moped.

Last edited by NPV : 23rd April 2025 at 09:25.
NPV is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 09:19   #11

If he/she isn't all that enthusiastic. Learning from AT makes it lot more faster to adapt than an MT. After all, learning the life skill is far more important than proving a point to someone

In my case, I was super scared to drive MT in the initial days. I had a 3 month US trip where I drove rentals. That made a huge difference in the confidence level. I had a 6 year hiatus before I started driving. Got myself an AT first and then transitioned to a diesel MT the next year. I still drive a diesel MT today.

If you have a forgiving gearbox when you make that AT to MT transition, it is very easy to drive an MT.

Last edited by narayans80 : 23rd April 2025 at 09:20.
narayans80 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 09:29   #12

Many thanks for the informed inputs.

Automatic vs Stick shift decision leads into another one for me- I have an old Brio MT, 11 years old, that has done about 26k. The easy decision is to keep the car as a learning vehicle. But it also means that I change the tires and many of the rubber parts that are now in need of replacement in order to be a safe learning vehicle. This is against letting my child learn on my City CVT and later (3 to 6 months) replacing the Brio with an automatic. My estimate is the Brio refurbishment will cost near a lac or so with a limited extension of usable life vs buying a new, possibly small EV, that has a full lifespan.
Old 23rd April 2025, 10:04   #13
SRS

Many thanks for the informed inputs.

Automatic vs Stick shift decision leads into another one for me- I have an old Brio MT, 11 years old, that has done about 26k. The easy decision is to keep the car as a learning vehicle. But it also means that I change the tires and many of the rubber parts that are now in need of replacement in order to be a safe learning vehicle. This is against letting my child learn on my City CVT and later (3 to 6 months) replacing the Brio with an automatic. My estimate is the Brio refurbishment will cost near a lac or so with a limited extension of usable life vs buying a new, possibly small EV, that has a full lifespan.
The dilemma is of short-term practicality vs long-term investment, The Brio hasn't run much, is a manual and can be used for learning to drive a manual. Considering the repair costs of 1 lakh, a decision needs to be made whether this expense is justified given its age and need for a future replacement.

Hondas are reliable and can be driven for much more, and should last you as long as you want them to. If you are intent on renewing your registration once the 15-year mark comes, then keeping it would make sense. Else if you are keen on an upgrade to an EV, then don't bother spending the money on the Brio, sell it off and get an EV.

However there is another factor to consider as well, EVs are evolving at a rapid pace and an EV bought now may become outdated in four to five years' time, meanwhile the ICE vehicle will still retain some value, so on that note, maintianing the Brio for a short span of upto 5 years won't hurt either.

I know, this doesnt make the decision easier, but it provides a clearer picture of what to expect.
Old 23rd April 2025, 10:20   #14

Originally Posted by SRS View Post
Hondas are reliable and can be driven for much more, and should last you as long as you want them to. If you are intent on renewing your registration once the 15-year mark comes, then keeping it would make sense.
Unfortunately, living in Mumbai and parking the car out in the open takes a toll on many of the parts. While the engine is still a baby, it is probably in the best of life at 26k, the rubber parts are all showing their age. Body rust, though still not visible, has appeared in the form of leaks in Monsoon. It will need a fairly deep refurbishment to keep beyond 15 years.
MadinMumbai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2025, 10:25   #15

I am in the same Boat. Teaching my 17 year old son to drive. I own both MT and AT car. So after lengthy discussion with my son and couple of test drive with him. We have decided on him learning on an AT car. Once he has control of the steering wheel and becomes conscious of the length and breath of the car, shift him to manual car driving.

I am also teaching him riding bikes, so I feel its very important to know the gear ratios, control and manipulations.

chandrda is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com