Old 7th November 2024, 22:57   #46

Re: Horrifying Taxi ride in Goa - Palolem to Mopa

Originally Posted by Vasuki View Post
Dabolim(Military) Airport.
It's always been a civilian airport. The military occupied it in 1961 and never vacated it because it had good recreational facilities which they didn't want to give up.

Originally Posted by IamNikhil View Post
The Goan taxi mafia is legendary;
They are famous for high charges. But then this is the fault of the government who have decided on these rates. The government fully supports the taxi mafia.
However risking lives is not the norm. Maybe a one off incident. Taxi drivers all over drive fast.

Originally Posted by IamNikhil View Post
Mopa Airport is meant to cater to people heading to North Goa and Dabolim Airport for the ones heading to South Goa. This is purely from the perspective of convenience.
Mopa is in the extreme North. Dabolim is in the centre. So it's closer for everyone in South Goa as well as the Southern 50% of North Goa. So basically 75% of the state.
pedrolourenco is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 01:21   #47

Originally Posted by hemant.kamat View Post
Not justifying or condoning the daylight robbery, but South Goa taxis are not allowed to operate in North Goa and vice versa due to the ever ongoing feud between the 2 taxi unions. Due to this they return empty and charge the customers double the fare. So effectively, you paid for a 200km trip
This is true at many places abroad too. For eg. in the UAE one could board a taxi from one Emirate to another but can't make a return journey in the same taxi. The taxi has to mandatorily return vacant. Even the caneras detect taxis that try to flout this rule and hand out automatic fines to such drivers or taxis.

I have never understood the rationale behind such a rule, except not allowing taxis providing services flawlessley and the unsuspecting customers being looted.

Even in J&K, there is quite a rift between Jammu based and Kashmir based drivers. They have yo tread very very carefully when inside each others' territory.
Fuldagap is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 08:35   #48

Don't forget Ladakh, where the local taxi mafia had taken it upon themselves to check papers of civilian vehicles to make sure you are driving/riding your own vehicle and not a non-local rental! (Is that still happening?)

The reason the taxi mafias are so powerful in such small places is because these tourist places have a relatively lower local population, tourism is the main source of income, and because local elections are won by very low margins. So no local politician can afford to antagonize an organized vote bank like the taxi mafia.

It'll need a brave central or state government to crack down on these things and put an efficient public transport system in place (which will also benefit the locals). But since the victims are usually non-locals who understandably won't take up this cause for the sake of a few short days' vacation, it's just going to get worse. Unless, of course the tourist footfall really decreases in these places, which I also don't really see happening in reality, as much as it might be trending online.

Last edited by am1m : 8th November 2024 at 08:37.
am1m is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 09:05   #49

Yes, the exorbitant prices and lack of hospitality at par with other countries is highlighted in some new reports also:
Horrifying Taxi ride in Goa - Palolem to Mopa-img_2024.jpeg
Horrifying Taxi ride in Goa - Palolem to Mopa-img_2025.jpeg
Horrifying Taxi ride in Goa - Palolem to Mopa-img_2026.jpeg
Horrifying Taxi ride in Goa - Palolem to Mopa-img_2027.jpeg
Horrifying Taxi ride in Goa - Palolem to Mopa-img_2028.jpeg

Source: Instagram

Last edited by MyLife_MyCar : 8th November 2024 at 09:07.
MyLife_MyCar is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 09:16   #50

Originally Posted by MyLife_MyCar View Post
Yes, the exorbitant prices and lack of hospitality at par with other countries is highlighted in some new reports also:
The numbers in the very table that report is using shows a steady increase, a natural drop because of covid, and an increase in numbers again. So, am not sure of the conclusion. Not saying the issues highlighted are not real, but they don't seem to be really affecting the overall numbers.
am1m is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 10:00   #51

I can totally sympathize. Being local we also face the rash driving of these idiots. The buzz is that these taxi drivers want to make their days earning in only one trip. So they will find ways to maximize this one way or other. As for the dwidling in tourist numbers I coudnt be more happier, as now a days rental car drivers are doing what taxis were doing (and are doing). Driving rash, honking incessantly, driving drunk! you name it!. Sometimes I wish I could vaporize all these punks!

If possible please don't visit Goa. Find a better place.
rascalangel is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 11:00   #52

Being born and brought up in Goa, very sorry to hear about the unwanted ordeal the OP had to face. I'm not surprised though. From my youngest days that I remember when my family didn't own a car and had to rely on public transport or these tourist taxis for long distance commutes, fleecing has been a norm! Although the difference that time being the cabbies were more polite and friendly and had a soul. They were all middle aged "uncles" who would take you places in their black and yellow Maruti Omni with no complaints whatsoever.

With the influx of tourists and "Goa is ON" kind of weekenders visiting Goa in the last 10 years, so did the unwanted kind of non local cabbies join the lucrative business of fleecing tourists at large. With fares that can put an airline ticket to shame the tourism bubble for Goa is on a verge to burst into oblivion.

The touristic areas of Goa are under major redevelopment with traffic snarls that go on and on forever hence even driving your own car or rent a cab is become a headache. I would sincerely advise those who wish to enjoy a relaxing holiday with their family to please go elsewhere and avoid the frustration. If you still want to join in the madness, would highly recommend using the app "Goa Miles" to book a cab for your commutation needs. Although not 100% reliable its a cheaper dent on your wallet.
Horrifying Taxi ride in Goa - Palolem to Mopa-presentation1.png
richie4u is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 11:00   #53

Originally Posted by am1m View Post
The numbers in the very table that report is using shows a steady increase, a natural drop because of covid, and an increase in numbers again. So, am not sure of the conclusion. Not saying the issues highlighted are not real, but they don't seem to be really affecting the overall numbers.
I have been travelling to south Goa every year since 2018 for 10-15 days recharge every January. In the south, there aren't usually that many domestic tourists, mostly foreigners, and that too primarily Slavic(?). So much so that signboards, menus, etc are all in Cyrillic script. Starting 2021, there has been a drastic drop in these foreign tourists which I noticed. In 21, the beaches were almost private for me, and later years some russians have started to make a comeback.

That has also reflected in the availability and prices of properties in the south, they're way cheaper for the past 3 years. I haven't seen any gradual increase in these prices. But again, this is the south I am talking about. I did spend a couple of days in the north too, for a couple of days another time in 23, and frankly, that was much too noisy, expensive, and just in-your-face for me. And mostly domestic travellers whose agenda seemed to be get as high as soon as possible.

Originally Posted by rascalangel View Post
I can totally sympathize. Being local we also face the rash driving of these idiots. The buzz is that these taxi drivers want to make their days earning in only one trip. So they will find ways to maximize this one way or other. As for the dwidling in tourist numbers I coudnt be more happier, as now a days rental car drivers are doing what taxis were doing (and are doing). Driving rash, honking incessantly, driving drunk! you name it!. Sometimes I wish I could vaporize all these punks!

If possible please don't visit Goa. Find a better place.
I sympathize with you. Heck, we get livid when someone drives over the speed limit in our housing society roads, so I can understand to some extent when someone makes your scenic roads dangerous. I really don't see the draw of driving fast on Goa roads. There's so much to see around you that youre just speeding by.

However, these are people who don't live in Goa. A couple of well placed policeman, a few challans/overnights are more than enough to put the fear of god in these guys. "Tu Jaanta nahi mera baap kaun hai" will not work there. But I see hardly any traffic police in goa, mostly just directing traffic. For instance, in Kolkata, all streets heading of Park street(?) have breathalysers and testing by cops in the night. Why can't they do this in Goa?

More than 30% of the population is dependent on tourism, so it's not as if it can be stopped without internal resistance or affecting the quality of overall life in the state.
mayankk is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 11:14   #54

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
A couple of well placed policeman, a few challans/overnights are more than enough to put the fear of god in these guys.
This is the question for all tourist sites, not just Goa. There are already several good laws in place, why not just enforce them and correct the behaviors that are undesirable. Why let it get to this stage where both locals and well-behaved tourists are troubled.

For example, not drinking on the beach (not talking about the shacks, but directly on the beach). It's clearly displayed on every beach that it's illegal. It's scary for women and families to encounter groups of drunk men, it's a health hazard with broken bottles in the water. Yet I have never once seen cops round up people (both tourists and/or locals) for doing this.

Like with taxi mafias, one generation of enforcement should see behavior changes. Who will bell the cat? It has to be the state government at every tourist site, with the support of locals who want a better place to live. Yet, instead it will always be played up as an 'outsider vs local' thing.
Old 8th November 2024, 11:30   #55
RGK

Originally Posted by rascalangel View Post
The buzz is that these taxi drivers want to make their days earning in only one trip. So they will find ways to maximize this one way or other
This is what happened in Chennai (before Ola & Uber) - all thanks to the auto drivers. They make about 600-700 bucks in just 4 hours starting from 6 am, and then they're done for the day.

This is the latest one I saw -

https://www.msn.com/en-in/travel/new...074cb063&ei=19

Visited Goa in 1989 and 1997 in our own vehicle and found the place to be truly wonderful. We stayed in Panaji, just a few kilometers from Hotel Kamat, and explored both North and South Goa. This taxi mafia isn't helping anyone and will just make tourists not want to visit. What happened to our “Atithi Devo Bhava” .

Is it safe to travel in own vehicle now?.
Old 8th November 2024, 11:32   #56

Originally Posted by RGK View Post
Is it safe to travel in own vehicle now?.
Completely. The past few times we've either driven down in our car and used that to go around Goa. Or taken the train, used the very good electric bus service between Panaji and Margao and hired a bike at the beach. Avoiding both the taxis and self-drive rentals, and the hassle. Also used the electric bus service when we had to fly in/out of Mopa.
am1m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 13:31   #57

Goa is a place where driver taxis are ridiculously expensive, but self drive car rentals are relatively reasonably priced.

Especially if going for multiple days and stepping out everyday, it is impossible to call for chauffeur driven taxis.

I always get a self drive rental car in Goa.
This TV discussion couldn’t have come at a better time.

A close friend who lives is Goa is happy with this decline. Overcrowding, strain on infrastructure, not to mention environmental degradation. Influx of migrants also leading to loss of local culture.

I was in Srinagar this summer break and just the general condition of infrastructure left a bad taste and don’t think I would like to visit it again anytime soon.

There are ways to implement sustainable tourism if all parties have one common goal.
Sensitisation of tourists is a must as every small step counts.
Old_Salt is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 13:37   #58

I love South Goa. I don’t drink alcohol but the calmness, the AirBNBs the food and mostly clean beaches are nice. What specifically adds to the trip are the beautiful Konkan roads as we almost always drive down. One of the major route is the midst of being concrete-fied but I take few other routes and the road trips add a major portion to the feel0good factor. It is not like other Indian beaches do not have these.
With all of this, there has been numerous Goa “experience” that comes with it.
  1. The 5k, super-rash taxi drives are very common. We often ask for an elderly driver and it goes well if we take a flight or a train from Pune/Mumbai.
  2. The locals trying to bully looking at the cars number plates. We often drive down from Pune. Few times had a MH09 vehicle, registered in Kolhapur and the locals didn’t bother much. However, some restaurants did look at the number and were only comfortable with us when they realized that we were not some rowdy-looking guys and had come with our families. When enquired about the indifference for MH09 vehicles, my cousins said that many locals from Maharashtra side have been involved in multiple altercations. The local thing in India is painful.
  3. The best option that I find, is to ask the AirBNB owners, if they have a vehicle of their own which they can rent out. Few do have cars only for the guests, mostly affordable non-fancy work-horses. The advantage is, these are not all that expensive and have white plates with a Goa registration. I mean, a local even chased us as he felt we cut him off, but after blocking our car and seeing GA03, just left.
  4. But the car/bike rentals scare me. My friends rented a Baleno and the rental guy changed them Rs.20,000 for replacement of one tail-light, that to after haggling for about 3 hours. He started at Rs. 35k for a tail-light.

Last edited by ampere : 4th March 2025 at 08:28.
AmarFlying is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th November 2024, 13:45   #59

It has also to do with the sudden growth in tourism for which government or the local bodies are not prepared.
Call it social media boon or new found outlook of holidays, domestic tourism has increased manifoldly in the last few years. Locals / non-locals have joined to cash on in this opportunity without the right training or skill set.
Old 8th November 2024, 15:40   #60

Originally Posted by Miyata View Post
What I've started doing is pay some small amount to the driver for tea / coffee before we start. To tune of INR 200 - 300 seems to suffice most times.

When handing them the money, I also request them to drive safe and without rushing. They become attentive.

The first instance was in Varanasi - A rough & bully looking Innova driver. Just as I handed him the chai / panni money, I could see the softening of his eye and change in his demeanor. It was a revelation to me and a good education too for me for life!

Money can't buy happiness - That's a blatant lie!
This is an important post. India is still a mostly poor country with lots of people with a bad work ethic. If you have to shell out some extra money to make the blue collar worker happy, so be it. Ideally they would work solely on the salary they get. But we don’t live in an ideal world.

I recently learnt a similar lesson the hard way. A roadside tree fell partly in my compound and partly on the road. I called the BBMP (Bangalore municipal organisation) to clear the debris . They are supposed to clear it for free. The guys who came to clear it demanded 2000, I only gave them 1000, they got upset and started cursing at me and promised to never come back to carry the debris back with them in their truck (they only cut the dangling huge branches, kept it aside and left). Now I’m stuck with the debris. I feel like I should have given them the money and got rid of it. I’ve been calling them but they won’t come.

Last edited by nikhilck : 8th November 2024 at 15:41.
nikhilck is offline   (5) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com