Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 4th August 2024, 10:46   #1
Team-BHP Support

What are your rules of driving? A list of Dos and Don’ts when you’re driving

The way people use their cars is different for everyone. For some, it’s their everyday commuter and for some, their car is only used for weekend leisure trips. The purpose may be different for everyone, but everyone usually has some set of rules when they are driving a car. It may be small or big, but it just puts one’s mind at ease. Here are some of the rules that I try and make sure are followed by me and the people travelling with me.

Seatbelts for all passengers – This may seem basic, but a lot of people still find reasons to not wear a seatbelt. Especially in the rear seat. While I am a defensive driver myself, Indian roads are quite unpredictable. I make it a point to ask everyone in the car to wear a seatbelt. Most of the time everyone obliges, but sometimes they don’t.
What are your rules of driving? A list of Dos and Don’ts when you’re driving-seat_belt_01-1.jpg

Driver decides the schedule – Road trips are fun and since I am usually the one driving, I prefer that I decide the schedule. I’m usually very flexible with what to do at the destination and am mostly in the ‘go-with-the-flow’ mood. But anything related to the journey is planned by me and I make the decisions if I am driving. If someone else is driving (extremely rare), I don’t mind adhering to their schedule.
What are your rules of driving? A list of Dos and Don’ts when you’re driving-0_36.jpg

A friend of mine who isn’t a morning person at all, left at 4:30 AM from Mumbai for a road trip due to peer pressure and ended up sleeping at the wheel on the highway. Thankfully, it was a minor accident and no one got hurt. The driver knows how attentive he / she can be while driving, so it’s best if he / she decides.