Old 9th February 2024, 08:47   #1

The misuse of Army, Press and other labels on vehicles

Before we go any further on this topic, I have to stress that I hold our armed forces in high esteem. I don't have a problem if a decorated veteran displays their Army, Air Force or Navy tag or insignia on their vehicle.

But when it's misused by people who've not earned the right to that respect - because they have never been in the armed forces themselves, and are merely misusing the credentials of a relative - and then expect to be excused on that account, I feel anger and dismay.

Here's an article on this I came across today: rediff.com

The less said about Press and other such 'privileged classes', the better. The Press is supposed to hold themselves to a higher standard, but I've seen (and heard the brag) too many times that someone got off scot-free by using the "I am Press, don't mess!" line.

Sharing these thoughts here in case this is not a discussion we've had yet.
ChevyTeddy is offline   (28) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 09:00   #2

re: The misuse of Army, Press and other labels on vehicles

You have have brought up a valid point and this practice is not allowed as per the Army headquarters notification and should be curtailed. The rules of the land have to be followed.
The misuse of Army, Press and other labels on vehicles-img_20240209_090218.jpg  

The misuse of Army, Press and other labels on vehicles-img_20240209_090154.jpg  

Last edited by nirmaljusdoit : 9th February 2024 at 09:02.
nirmaljusdoit is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 09:17   #3

This entire practice runs on a perception game, that don’t mess with me, I can cause trouble. It’s no different that the Gujjar/Jaat and other caste identity based stickers that have been outlawed.

My take is that all these stickers need a complete ban. Military vehicles have a separate registration system, they are easy to differentiate. Press vans look different with their dish antennas etc, there is no need for any stickers. Official vehicles have to be used for official purposes. If someone is using a private vehicle for the same, that’s on them.

When an armed forces officer retires, he becomes a civilian. As such, he is liable to the same set of rules and regulations as the rest of us.
Shreyans_Jain is offline   (44) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 09:52   #4

Well if you are from Bangalore you would have seen another class of car owners with green reflector sticker on top of the number plate. I wonder how these folks became a special “class”.

You will also see other stickera declaring their position - Corporator, Board member etc..

Worst of the lot is what I see in my home state TamilNadu. “EB” (Electricity Board), Lawyer…

Unless there is a rule to put no sticker on windshields.. this practice will continue to grow like our caste system.
sheelapratosh is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 10:10   #5

I wonder how having these insignia / stickers displayed on the vehicles makes them any different. The Motor vehicle / road rules still apply.

Unless its on official duty and subject to rule exemptions - I dont feel there is any need to display.

With the social media craze, we might even have - "Influencer", "Whatsapp Admin", "Ex-School Monitor" very soon.
denzdm is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 10:32   #6

Originally Posted by Shreyans_Jain View Post

This entire practice runs on a perception game, that don’t mess with me, I can cause trouble. It’s no different that the Gujjar/Jaat and other caste identity based stickers that have been outlawed.
You said it absolutely right - don't mess with me - is the real message these chaps are trying to give by these stickers on private/non-official vehicles about their govt. department employer, political party, municipality etc.

I don't think there's anything wrong with displaying one's surname, caste, village/town, or even religion stickers - pretty similar to putting up AAI or TBHP stickers - basically conveying that the driver/owner is part of a group.

To be honest, I'll okay with the Army/Navy/Airforce guys, have too much respect for them, so don't really mind them displaying their force's stickers.

Really, our roads are too far unsafe from lots of bigger problems to even worry about stickers - driving is really a russian roulette now with one's life. Absolutely no policing and enforcement of rules by the cops, don't know where we are headed.

lazy
lazy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 9th February 2024, 10:39   #7

In Pune, you see lot of vehicles bearing 'POLICE' insignia besides caste and others mentioned above. Some are still flaunting the covid stickers 'essential services'.

Hardly seen anyone taking action. Unless there is common awareness, these stickers (and also uniforms) are misused to show power and give don't mess with me message.

Coming to common rules, how many of you have seen police/army guys in helmets? Pune cantonment being a prominent army center and me having to pass through everyday, I see army guys without helmets and not even following traffic signals.

Last edited by Sheel : 9th February 2024 at 10:57. Reason: u = you, please do not use SMS language. Thanks.
ToThePoint is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th February 2024, 04:49   #8

Infractions: 0/3 (13)
Re: The misuse of Army, Press and other labels on vehicles

I thought it apt to post this picture of this car with this sticker here. A friend sent it to me. Its been doing the social media rounds.
The misuse of Army, Press and other labels on vehicles-8dc3c00ecd2245f59ad097ef4bfef5b6.jpeg  

shankar.balan is offline   (95) Thanks
Old 10th February 2024, 07:50   #9

"Press" stickers are something that's taken for granted. I have seen vloggers proudly place "Press" stickers on their cars. I understand some are ex automobile journalists who are members of the press club but there are many who arent. Guess they think vlogging automatically gives the "Press" status.

Another sticker I used to see was the "Engineer" sticker. If the 80's/90's kids were to stick this, 90% of the cars will have this sticker .
naveen.raju is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 10th February 2024, 09:28   #10

My father is a retired Army officer, and we used to have stickers on our private cars, not for the reasons mentioned above. Since it's a transferable job, our cars moved from state to state every 2-3 years, making it impractical to re-register each time. Cops often stopped us for having out-of-state plates, despite our paperwork being in order. Putting up the sticker eased this inconvenience, so we kept it, although my father initially opposed it. We removed the stickers as soon as he retired. Just wanted to state that convenience was the motivation here not the "Don't mess with me" attitude.
MotoBlip is offline   (39) Thanks
Old 10th February 2024, 09:36   #11

My take is that all these stickers need a complete ban
I wish everyday of my life in Kolkata that the stickers are banned. They are obnoxious.

This was one of the cultural differences I felt while driving in Kolkata, from driving in Delhi.

In Delhi, owing to a systematic media campaign and a certain rising consciousness amongst people in terms of equality, "laal batti" culture was being discouraged. What that meant was that wearing the VIP status was being shamed so that it no longer makes you look good as a position/privilege holder. And your vehicle will not have special pass-throughs in heavy traffic. Of course, Delhi wears the "Jaat boy" "Gujjar boy" stickers, which was more as a show of belonging to a community.

In Kolkata, the VIP culture reeks of an identity crisis. "Government of India" "Government of West Bengal", "Judge", "Doctor", "Ex-Army", "Police", "High Court", and various departments of Governments.
DogNDamsel12 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th February 2024, 09:58   #12

Originally Posted by sheelapratosh View Post
Well if you are from Bangalore you would have seen another class of car owners with green reflector sticker on top of the number plate. I wonder how these folks became a special “class”.
I have not noticed this. Are you referring to the EVs which come with green reflective plates from the RTO?
Kevinrevvz is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th February 2024, 10:00   #13

I did a trip to Lucknow / Allahabad on 26 Jan weekend - almost all cars have some or the other "Govt" sticker mentioned - to name a few "High Court" "Advocate" "Uttar Pradesh Shasan" "UP Secretariat" "Uttar Pradesh Sarkar" and many more.

As couple of BHPians truly said - its no different than "Gujjar" mentioned in Delhi NCR cars - message is simple - "Dont mess with me" "Toll Free" "Tu Janta nahi mera Baap kaun hai" "Dont honk /overtake me"

I strongly follow - Keep a mile distance with these stickers. God Bless India
Ashdel is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 12th February 2024, 10:11   #14

When an armed forces officer retires, he becomes a civilian. As such, he is liable to the same set of rules and regulations as the rest of us.
And the reality is far from this. I stay in a AWHO, mostly retired folks here.

All their cars have ARMY stickers, serving or non-serving. What I have observed it is the family members, especially their second generation, abuse the connection with an army personnel. The entitlement and the attitude towards non-army families/tenants here is very shocking!

The army officers themselves are very polite and I love interacting with them, but their families, oh boy, they treat you like a second grade citizen!
sinharishi is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 12th February 2024, 10:29   #15

The trend of labels varies from one state to another. In Kerala, I've never seen a cast related label in any vehicle. Most ones are either related to family name or automotive brands. Even these are on the downfall due to hyperactive MVD.

In Mumbai, I've observed cast/clan/ religion related labels even in high-end vehicles. In North India (UP specifically) , I've seen new vehicle owners rush to a sticker shop for getting (ARMY/POLICE/GOVT/ XYZ cast) labels even before receiving number plates.

For two-wheelers in rural area, many ones doesn't even have a number plate but has their cast labels permanently pasted in place of number plate.

Car owners (dumb ones) are more creative like placing / displaying a fake police cap on dashboard. These people usually indulge in abusive behavior in most toll plazas.

Another favorite label is of "PRESS" and fake press ID cards ( genuine ID cards of low class YT news channels ) are available in FB marketplace for less than 500rs. Something I saw last month goes like this.The car was fully tinted and had a fake press label with ID card dangling in IRVM. The guy had placed a kids toy microphone (karaoke mic, picture below) for proudly displaying.

The misuse of Army, Press and other labels on vehicles-61txermspgl.jpg

I guess what these peanut brain sized population are passing on to their next generation for betterment.
maheshm619 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com