Old 19th January 2024, 11:42   #61

Re: KYC requirements for FASTag

Reading some comments about Fastag being a financial transaction and hence KYC being justified, couldn't help coming to this logic.

I buy Maggi using UPI app. UPI app being offered through a bank. Hence, KYC needed for buying Maggi. The company selling Maggi could launder money if it is not done.
Fuldagap is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 19th January 2024, 12:20   #62

Originally Posted by Aviator_guy View Post
Don't you all think that we are probably spending more time on debating this topic than it deserves. Govt would do what it wants to do. If it takes KYC to give me a better toll experience, so be it. Anyway there is nothing to hide by getting a mere tag KYC'd so why do we need to worry so much.
Totally agree!! I visited this thread to know what is the issue with my Fastag and if anybody else has been having the same problem and has a solution. Instead it is post after post of debate which ranges from state of the road, the Govt. and even Shoppers Stop!!. Finally found some relevance to the issue I'm facing in post #38 below.

Originally Posted by Masalawheelz View Post
Hello All!

My Fastag was issued by Equitas Bank when I bought the car, about 2 years ago. Now, when I tried to log in at https://fastag.ihmcl.com/, it says that my mobile number is not registered with Fastag and that I should register first. However, there is no option, link or button to register on the website.

Would anyone be able to help with this please?

Thank You!
Anyways, I digress. My Fastag is from HDFC bought in 2020 and I remember providing all the documents. I received a text from HDFC stating "Your NETC Fastag for XXXX will close by 31-01-2024 as per NPCI. Latest tag from other will stay active". That is all. No mention of KYC or reactivation of any sort. There is a Customer Care number which does not connect at all. After searching I came across the website link for fastag ihmcl and when trying to register faced the issue as above.

Now when I check through the HDFC Bank Fastag portal, my Fastag Status shows as Full KYC. I am totally confused as to whether I can keep using my existing tag or buy a new one or get a KYC done.

I guess the only other option I have is to visit the Bank physically with all the documents required and hope this mess gets sorted.

Last edited by Mahesh Prasad : 19th January 2024 at 12:45. Reason: Grammar
Old 19th January 2024, 12:42   #63

Originally Posted by vijaykr View Post
I'm having the same issue. The page has only option to login but not to signup or create an account. The FAQs also don't mention anything about account creation or maybe I didn't look well enough.

I'll try on the fastag portals of the 2 banks which issued the tags initially. Hopefully they have a way to do the KYC online itself.
Originally Posted by Mahesh Prasad View Post
Anyways, I digress. My Fastag is from HDFC bought in 2020 and I remember providing all the documents. I received a text from HDFC stating "Your NETC Fastag for XXXX will close by 31-01-2024 as per NPCI. Latest tag from other will stay active". That is all. No mention of KYC or reactivation of any sort. There is a Customer Care number which does not connect at all. After searching I came across the website link for fastag ihmcl and when trying to register faced the issue as above.

Now when I check through the HDFC Bank Fastag portal, my Fastag Status shows as Full KYC. Now I am totally confused as to whether I can keep using my existing tag or buy a new one or get a KYC done.

I guess the only other I option I have is to visit the Bank physically with all the documents required and hope this mess gets sorted.
For my 2 cars, I have a Fastag each from HDFC and Kotak.

On the HDFC Fastag portal, similar to your case, the KYC status shows as "Full KYC". But I have not got any SMS from HDFC/NPCI mentioning that this Fastag is will be deactivated or anything like that. So given the Full KYC on the HDFC portal, for now I will leave things alone and see how it goes after 31-Jan.

For the Kotak Fastag, things seem to be a bit more tricky. Here KYC status shows as "Pending", but there is no option available to upload docs and get this sorted. I called their Support line and I was repeatedly told that as long as I don't need to recharge wallet beyond 10,000, there is no need to update KYC and it is not mandatory etc. After multiple attempts, I managed to successfully convey that I want the process to get my Fastag KYC compliant irrespective of limit etc. Finally, I was told my case has been escalated to their "senior department" and I will hear back in 24 hours

I expect I may have to visit the Kotak Bank to get this particular Fastag updated with full KYC. But I wiil give it a day and see if I get back any response from them first.
vijaykr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th January 2024, 14:03   #64

Originally Posted by Hayek View Post
Actually Shopper’s Stop et al need to obtain a license from the RBI is issue Prepaid Instruments (this article summarises - https://corpbiz.io/prepaid-wallet-license)
Irrelevant. Do you have to do KYC to use a Shopper's Stop Card? or a Sodexo Voucher?
If you want to pay by cash, pay 2x toll
Please tell in which other countries, is something like this done? And those are countries where the salary of a toll operator would be 10 times that of one in India.
It is both.
No, it's not.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com...ney-laundering
Money laundering is the process of hiding the source of money obtained from illegal sources and converting it to a clean source, thereby avoiding prosecution, conviction, and confiscation of the criminal funds. It is an illegal exercise that converts black money into white money.
Originally Posted by binand View Post
Yes. But at the stored value levels these operate, an OTP-validated mobile number is sufficient for KYC.
What about the Shopper's Stop Card? Is it tied to a phone number?
Few months back I made some purchases that totalled 50K at Lifestyle.
Why are you bringing in Irrelevant stuff? I am not planning to put 50K into my Fastag.
All toll booths in India also accept cash. A higher toll rate is applicable though.
In how many countries have you seen this?
I think this was challenged in the court and maybe a decision is still pending
Let's hope the courts are sane.

Such an agency will have to build operational expertise, but might want to appoint a second agency to develop and operate the software platform.
What operational expertise? It's less complicated than how Sodexo operates.
If all of this falls in place, it will become the best option - don't you agree?
Depends on whether KYC is required or not.

Neither. KYC is required because, shorn of all frills, it is basically an electronic system of making a funds transfer. And all funds transfer these days require some level of KYC of both payer and payee.
It's designed like that. Which brings us to the question of whether it requires KYC because it's designed like that or whether it's designed like that so that it requires KYC. Does Sodexo require KYC?

Last edited by carboy : 19th January 2024 at 14:04.
carboy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th January 2024, 14:28   #65

Humble request to the moderator :

This thread is turning into rant about KYC rather than sharing useful information for broader audience. Can we create a separate thread for people to vent out their frustration and keep this thread limited to sharing KYC related issues faced and solutions.
Aviator_guy is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 19th January 2024, 14:53   #66

This thread is turning into rant about KYC rather than sharing useful information for broader audience. Can we create a separate thread for people to vent out their frustration and keep this thread limited to sharing KYC related issues faced and solutions.
I already requested this 2 days back - back when this was part of the overall Fastag thread. But all the KYC stuff got moved to this newly created thread. This subthreaded should be added either to some privacy/surveillance thread if one exists, else a new one could be created.
Old 19th January 2024, 18:44   #67
RRM

Login to the fastag portal (mine is ICICI - https://fastaglogin.icicibank.com/CU...ntSummary.aspx) and follow the link to update the details. It requires PAN as well as a id proof which it will verify (ex license number) as well as email-id. Mine is ICICI and have just submitted.

Also check the customer inbox and there may be few messages in it. Below are the 2 distinct messages that I had

-----------
We hope this message finds you well. This is to inform you about an important update regarding the usage of FASTag. We would like to bring to your attention that the most recent FASTag issued on your vehicle will be considered as your active FASTag. In order to streamline and enhance the efficiency of overall FASTag ecosystem all other FASTags if any issued on your vehicle would be discontinued by NPCI. If you have multiple FASTags on a single vehicle we kindly urge you to reach out to your respective Issuer Bank to close any earlier issued FASTags. This will help in avoiding any inconvenience caused and would ensure a smooth experience for all FASTag users. We appreciate your cooperation and understanding in this matter. This update is aimed at improving the overall FASTag experience and smooth functioning of the FASTag ecosystem.

Unsuccessful ICICI Bank FASTag recharge will be refunded in source account in 5 working days. To raise a dispute, go to Helpdesk > Raise Request/Complaint > Select Subtype as "Recharge Failed But Account Debited".
---------------

Last edited by RRM : 19th January 2024 at 18:57.
Old 19th January 2024, 20:07   #68

Originally Posted by carboy View Post
So does the prepaid gift card you buy from Shopper's Stop or Westside need KYC?
Few months back I made some purchases that totalled 50K at Lifestyle... [and could make the payment via gift vouchers only in a KYC-complaint way, so yes.]
Why are you bringing in Irrelevant stuff? I am not planning to put 50K into my Fastag.
My apologies if the context was lost; you brought in Shopper's Stop - asked whether a gift card requires KYC or not. I was only trying to point out that yes - it is needed, though my first-hand experience is limited to their direct competitor, Lifestyle.

Irrelevant. Do you have to do KYC to use a Shopper's Stop Card? or a Sodexo Voucher?
Yes. You need KYC for Sodexo also.

https://www.sodexo.in/rbi-guidelines/

Which brings us to the question of whether it requires KYC because it's designed like that or whether it's designed like that so that it requires KYC.
At this point I'm not even sure what the question here is. But I'll try once again - in India, KYC is required to enter the financial system - be it through a bank, an NBFC, a fund house, stock market, credit card, pre-paid card, Fastag... It does not matter who is at the other end of the relationship.

In other words, it is not possible in 2024 India to design and market any product that facilitates funds transfer but does not require KYC.
binand is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 19th January 2024, 23:47   #69

Re: FASTag: All you need to know about procuring & using it!

Lastly, how does it matter whether it is an RFID tag or a dash-mounted device?
With a removable dash-mounted device, you can move them from vehicle to vehicle. If I own multiple cars, I can just have one account (Fastag) and use them on whatever vehicle I use for that day.

I understand the KYC part for the account where you store money. But why can't we delink the Fastag to vehicle link?

Even if we have Fastag1 linked to Vehicle1, I assume the tollbooth will accept payment from Fastag1 if it was used in Vehicle2. Dont know why are they hellbent on enforcing this.

Also, don't know what they achieve by limiting 1 Fastag per vehicle.
NoLurkerForLong is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2024, 05:36   #70

My apologies if the context was lost; you brought in Shopper's Stop - asked whether a gift card requires KYC or not. I was only trying to point out that yes - it is needed, though my first-hand experience is limited to their direct competitor, Lifestyle.
But for 50,000. Not like the 250-300 Rs I keep in my Fastag

Yes. You need KYC for Sodexo also.

https://www.sodexo.in/rbi-guidelines/
This is for Pluxee cards. The Sodexo vouchers do not.
At this point I'm not even sure what the question here is. But I'll try once again - in India, KYC is required to enter the financial system - be it through a bank, an NBFC, a fund house, stock market, credit card, pre-paid card, Fastag... It does not matter who is at the other end of the relationship.
No, it does not unless the amount is huge. As shown with Gift card & Sodexo
In other words, it is not possible in 2024 India to design and market any product that facilitates funds transfer but does not require KYC.
And if they make in the future in that way, that's not an excuse considering they made it that way to ensure tracking & surveillance. This isn't the way it's done in other countries.
Originally Posted by NoLurkerForLong View Post
With a removable dash-mounted device, you can move them from vehicle to vehicle. If I own multiple cars, I can just have one account (Fastag) and use them on whatever vehicle I use for that day.

I understand the KYC part for the account where you store money. But why can't we delink the Fastag to vehicle link?
Someone said it's because different vehicles based on size may have diff tolls. Many countries managed that by sensors which check how many tyres etc. Another thing which can be done is have different size lane based on Axle Lengths. A car won't be able to get through a toll booth which accommodates only a bike. A truck won't be able to get through one which accommodates axle length of a car.

And of course, paying extra toll if you want to pay by cash (RBI issued legal tender) is beyond absurd & unheard of in most countries.

Last edited by carboy : 20th January 2024 at 05:49.
Old 20th January 2024, 07:09   #71

Can we create a separate thread for people to vent out their frustration and keep this thread limited to sharing KYC related issues faced and solutions.
Agree, let us accept that KYC is required under current Indian laws and regulations and move on with a sensible discussion.

This thread is turning existential, and of zero value to TBHP readers who visit it as the topic is very germane as of now.

Last edited by itwasntme : 20th January 2024 at 07:10.
itwasntme is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 20th January 2024, 08:00   #72

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
This thread is turning existential, and of zero value to TBHP readers who visit it as the topic is very germane as of now.
My apologies; this will the last post from me on the topic.

But for 50,000. Not like the 250-300 Rs I keep in my Fastag
I see you have not looked at how KYC is defined and madated. Please read through the RBI doc: https://m.rbi.org.in/Scripts/BS_View....aspx?id=11566 - somewhere inside it, you will see:

No transaction or account-based relationship is undertaken without following the CDD procedure.
(CDD is Customer Due Diligence, which is basically another name for KYC. What this means is that you can't do even a one rupee transaction in India without KYC).

What it also says is that based on several considerations banks/entities can classify customers as low/medium/high risk and apply different procedures in each category. For pre-paid instruments RBI itself sets a threshold of 10K below and above which KYC requirements are different. The whole gift voucher example was to point out that to make a 50K payment, I had to do 5 separate 10K vouchers because of this difference. If I had wanted a single 50K voucher the KYC requirement would have been onerous.

Plus, you might maintain Rs. 300 in your Fastag, I do Rs. 5000. I spend about 12-15K a year on tolls; I'm sure there are people here on the forum who do more than that. And outside of the forum there must be people (truck/bus owners) whose Fastag usage must be running into lakhs a year.

This is for Pluxee cards. The Sodexo vouchers do not.

No, it does not unless the amount is huge. As shown with Gift card & Sodexo
OK, I'm a bit out of touch here. The last time I opted for Sodexo, halfway through a year they withdrew the tearable voucher booklets and introduced prepaid cards saying it is now mandatory. Are they still issuing voucher booklets? Also, all this while I was thinking Pluxee is just Sodexo rebranded.

And if they make in the future in that way, that's not an excuse considering they made it that way to ensure tracking & surveillance.
This is where we started from. And I will readily admit I was also of the opinion Fastags are meant for surveillance (and delayed buying Fastags for my own cars). But a bit of thinking will prove this to not stand to reason. The investment in system does not seem to be commensurate with the number of people it helps to track. It can be beaten by the simple expedient of hiring a taxi as opposed to driving one's own car. It can also be beaten by taking untolled roads. And so on. Plus, to establish anyone's presence in two different locations there are a number of other indicators (much more reliable financial transaction records like credit/debit card usage, ATMs, UPI; CCTV cameras...).

There are so many initiatives in India that are to enable a surveillance state but I doubt Fastag has any standalone raison d'etre in that infrastructure. Especially since we are a nation of only about 3-4 crore Fastag-eligible vehicles (all vehicles less two-wheelers), of which nearly 2 crore are buses.

This isn't the way it's done in other countries.

And of course, paying extra toll if you want to pay by cash (RBI issued legal tender) is beyond absurd & unheard of in most countries.
Can't comment about other countries - what their motives or drivers are, how they perceive their threats etc. But in India this is not unheard of - I think there is a general tendency to move towards cashless transactions here; especially for government services.
Old 20th January 2024, 08:21   #73

1. https://fastag.ihmcl.com/ website does not allow us to sign up as our mobile number is not already registered. How to check KYC status?

2. I have a PayTM fastag. For those like me with a Fastag not associated with bank, what should be the next step? Should I do a PayTM KYC and that's it? Then will my PayTM fastag be KYC ready as per IHMCL?

Please help us. Anything other than how to complete the Fastag KYC process, please do so after January 31st or moderator please separate the threads into 'rants/technical discussion on Fastag KYC' and 'need help to do Fastag KYC' threads.

Last edited by Arwin07 : 20th January 2024 at 08:24.
Arwin07 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th January 2024, 09:09   #74

Originally Posted by Arwin07 View Post
1. https://fastag.ihmcl.com/ website does not allow us to sign up as our mobile number is not already registered. How to check KYC status?

2. I have a PayTM fastag. For those like me with a Fastag not associated with bank, what should be the next step? Should I do a PayTM KYC and that's it? Then will my PayTM fastag be KYC ready as per IHMCL?.
If you've not already gone thru this link, I'd suggest trying the steps mentioned to access your Paytm Fastag account.

https://fastag-dashboard.paytm.com/login

https://paytm.com/blog/fastag/how-to...astag-account/

My Fastags are from banks and had to check KYC status on their own portals only. The IHMCL site is of no use in my case as well since it doesn't allow new registration.

Last edited by vijaykr : 20th January 2024 at 09:10. Reason: Typo
vijaykr is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th January 2024, 15:53   #75

Originally Posted by Arwin07 View Post

2. I have a PayTM fastag. For those like me with a Fastag not associated with bank, what should be the next step? Should I do a PayTM KYC and that's it? Then will my PayTM fastag be KYC ready as per IHMCL?
eads.
It is the payments bank of paytm which issues the fastag, so that's also a bank. Same with aitrel fastags, it's the airtel payments bank. I cannot confirm but if you have done kyc with paytm you should be good. Go to your profile on the paytm app to check your kyc status.
hothatchaway is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com