Old 28th March 2022, 20:11   #1

Tamil Nadu youth pays for his bike in 1-rupee coins

Quoting ANI - A youth in Salem paid Rs 2.6 lakh to buy a bike with Re 1 coins he collected in three years.

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/15083...GDCyYwMGvShazA

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/stor...281-2022-03-28

Not sure if he was mocking the showroom staff or if it was a genuine effort. Beats me why he periodically did not change the coin to currency. What surprises me even more is how the showroom folks accepted it... But you got to appreciate this guy's perseverance to get the ride he loved!

Last edited by SR-71 : 28th March 2022 at 20:12.
SR-71 is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 28th March 2022, 22:10   #2

re: Tamil Nadu youth pays for his bike in 1-rupee coins

Originally Posted by SR-71 View Post
Quoting ANI - A youth in Salem paid Rs 2.6 lakh to buy a bike with Re 1 coins he collected in three years.

https://twitter.com/ANI/status/15083...GDCyYwMGvShazA

https://www.indiatoday.in/india/stor...281-2022-03-28

My guess is the showroom guys might have mocked him while enquiring for the bike and this guy got back to them. Else no reason for him to save money and change it to 1 rs coins every now and then.
prabhu7944 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th March 2022, 22:31   #3

How did he manage to collect so many coins? This guy must be the reason I am always given change in the form of center fresh or cadbury shots. Looks to me like a publicity stunt. Wouldn't the dealership be within their rights to not sell him a motorcycle? I feel sorry for the staff who had to sit and count those coins.
windrider is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 28th March 2022, 22:37   #4
BRV

Looks like this is publicity stunt. There are some more videos similar to it

All cash transactions more than 2 lacs are not allowed right ? Am I missing something here.
BRV is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 28th March 2022, 23:03   #5

Yes this looks like publicity stunts that have achieved some level of success. Beneficiaries are the buyer and the showroom in news.

Last edited by Axe77 : 29th March 2022 at 03:08. Reason: Minor typo.
Old 29th March 2022, 08:30   #6

He has done this for his youtube channel probably to gain more views and subscribers. Here is the screen grab of this person's youtube video. He is requesting his viewers to make it viral.

Tamil Nadu youth pays for his bike in 1-rupee coins-capture.png
arun_josie is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 29th March 2022, 09:49   #7

Nonsense if you ask me. The levels to which people can go these days just for some mileage and viral videos.
Imagine the man(woman) hours wasted just to count these coins. The other video on buying a 12 lakh car with coins is just another level of buffoonery
hrman is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 29th March 2022, 10:50   #8

I wonder what is stopping the dealership from declining this kind of payment?! They can ask for a cheque,NEFT or cash payment in higher denominations. Just because the customer is a monkey, the dealership is not a circus to allow the monkey to show its antics!
sagarpadaki is online now   (10) Thanks
Old 29th March 2022, 11:43   #9

Dealership should go one step furthur. They should take the guy to bank alongwith dealership person and then deposit those coins in bank.

This will rob the guy of any fun ( If he intended to have ).
Youtubers do crazy things to generate views, unless dealership has ample time at hand such things should never be entertained.
silverado is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2022, 12:04   #10

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
I wonder what is stopping the dealership from declining this kind of payment?!
Originally Posted by silverado View Post
Youtubers do crazy things to generate views, unless dealership has ample time at hand such things should never be entertained.
The dealership is obviously also going along with this for the local publicity that they will also benefit from. Won't be surprised if the final payment is done by cheque/transfer, or even if there really wasn't an actual purchase. Anything is possible in such cases where publicity/likes/shares/views is the only aim.

Best would be to ignore these sort of things completely instead of discussing it and giving both parties what they want - publicity.

Last edited by am1m : 29th March 2022 at 12:07.
am1m is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 29th March 2022, 12:49   #11

Still not a patch on this guy

https://www.businesstoday.in/latest/...20of%20law.%22

The husband said, "I had been paying alimony to my wife previously also. But today, since I did not have currency notes, I brought the money in whichever form I could. I borrowed the coins from a religious institution where I performed seva."

"She is to be paid Rs 25,000 and I brought it in whichever form I could," he further added. Apart from the coins, the husband paid the remaining Rs 400 in Rs 100 notes.

The husband also justified his move by saying that it is not written anywhere that he has to pay in denomination of Rs 100 or Rs 500 or Rs 2,000 notes. He also got two of his juniors to count the money.
comfortablynumb is online now   (9) Thanks
Old 31st March 2022, 10:19   #12

Re: Tamil Nadu youth pays for his bike in 1-rupee coins

Originally Posted by BRV View Post
Looks like this is publicity stunt.
Imagine the man(woman) hours wasted just to count these coins.
Definitely looks like a publicity stunt. Since cash transactions above 2 lakh are not legal, I think the dealership would have insisted on payment by other means even though they allowed a video to be made showing payment by coins.

I do not think it wouldn't be too much of a waste of effort counting coins. I have seen many shops buying coins at a slight premium so that they get enough coins to give to their customers.
Old 31st March 2022, 10:36   #13

Originally Posted by am1m View Post

Best would be to ignore these sort of things completely instead of discussing it and giving both parties what they want - publicity.
Absolutely, what surprises me more is that this on the TBhp homepage !
Dear Mods , shouldn’t we refrain from making stupid people famous ?
howler is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 31st March 2022, 10:38   #14

Well, Buying Cars with lakhs of coins might be a overkill for some, but this guy went above and beyond by paying his speeding tickets with buckets full of coins

A True Car Guy Indeed !!

RohaNN_kWh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st March 2022, 11:20   #15

IMHO this is a publicity stunt. There is no way one would accumulate 1 rupee coin of more than 2.5 lakhs in such a short period as part of normal life.
Usually I see 2 rupee coins more prevalent these days.
The guy surely saved up in his account and got it converted to 1rs coin from a bank.
Any way it is a win-win for both the seller and buyer in terms of publicity gained without spending even a 1 rupee coin
PRS7 is offline   (2) Thanks