Old 7th June 2020, 14:33   #1

Rumour: Amitabh Bachchan to lend his voice to Google Maps

According to a media report, actor Amitabh Bachchan is said to have been approached by Google to lend his voice for its navigation software.

Rumour: Amitabh Bachchan to lend his voice to Google Maps-870604amitabhbachchan092519.jpg

The report states that the actor has been in talks with Google but is yet to sign the contract. It is rumoured that the actor has been offered a substantial amount for this project. If he does accept the offer, Mr. Bachchan is likely to record his voice from home.

At present, the voice you hear when using Google Maps is of New York-based entertainer Karen Jacobsen.

Link to Team-BHP News

Last edited by TusharK : 7th June 2020 at 14:35.
TusharK is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 14:45   #2

Re: Rumour: Amitabh Bachchan to lend his voice to Google Maps

There was this recent trailer in which Ajay Devgan is driving an SUV with Jackie Shroff’s voice as his virtual navigator, with this typical BHEEDU style.

So it wouldn’t be a stretch to imagine Mr. Bachchan do a ‘DEKHIYE BHAISAAB GAADI AAHISTA CHALAIYE’ or ‘DEVIYON OR SAJJANO AAGE SE BAAIN MUDIYE.’

But jokes apart, being a huge fan, I’d love him virtually being in my car and giving directions. He is a unanimously loved star in this country, so it’ll help the product to gain more popularity.

One of my distant cousins is a Senior V.P. at MapMyIndia. I wonder when are they gonna come up with such ideas.
dr.aviansh is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 14:54   #3

Just imagine if google adds his famous dialogues along with location search. Google drive me to nearest liquor shop & response from Mr. Bachchan/Google before starting the trip "Daaru peene se liver kharab ho jaata hai - Satte Pe Satta"
karan0009 is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 15:28   #4

Oh man!

I hope google maps seriously considers asking Amitabh Bachhan to lend his voice. Commuting with google maps is gonna be fun

Just imagine, you are driving your vehicle in the middle of traffic and out of nowhere, you hear, "Jo kal hua, dobara nahi hoga"
TheTransporter is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 16:18   #5
KMT

Ha Ha.
That is true, poor old guy, its tough being a superstar I guess.

He has a deep and familiar voice and he will pronounce Indian street names correctly so I guess its a win for everyone.
KMT is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 17:06   #6

Now with Mr.Bachchan's booming and commanding voice, one would tend to follow non existing and less travelled roads suggested by the Google maps which is a routine affair off late, even if better sense nudge them to turn back.

Last edited by Bibendum90949 : 7th June 2020 at 17:10.
Bibendum90949 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 17:32   #7

There are 4 options to reach Bangalore airport from Electronic city
option A - via NICE road
option B - via outer ring road
option C - through city
option D - take heli taxi

Please lock your option to proceed! Your countdown starts now.

Would love to hear google map directions in his voice!

Last edited by Latheesh : 7th June 2020 at 17:34.
Latheesh is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 18:18   #8

Hope you can still choose whose voice you want. There is already too much of him everywhere. Wouldn't want him guiding me too. I respect his hard work and as an actor, but not for this. What language would he be using ?
srishiva is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th June 2020, 18:22   #9

I think Google should add voices of:

1. Amitabh Bachchan (being discussed)
2. Arun Govil (Ramayan sytle)
3. Hema Malini (Sholay Style)
4. Johnny Lever (or any other comedian)

And let the user select the audio he/she wants.
mukeshgoel is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th June 2020, 08:44   #10

Imagine Russel Peters occasionally telling you to, "Take a sharp left, or else, somebodys gonna get a hurt real bad."

I think it'd be great if Google could allow individual people to record the whole set of instructions for voice assist, and choose them just like "stickers" / "emoticons". There would be SO MANY people who'd want voices of their favourite personalities.

I would want the voices of comedians like say Danish Sait, or Kanan Gill. Not just because of their vocation but because I'm familiar with their personal style & phonetics, having studied at the same school.

The options could be endless. But definitely NO Amitabh Bachchan voice for me. Nor most of the usual Bollywood actors.
GrammarNazi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 8th June 2020, 09:31   #11

I always thought his voice is really good for documentaries, just like that of David Attenborough's. Add to that the emotion!

Lending voice to google maps will be good I think.
Old 8th June 2020, 09:45   #12

Oh that's a good idea to use an Indian voice actor who can pronounce street names correctly. In fact it would be awesome to have local voice actors record local street names. That's essentially the most distracting thing about Google voice directions now, the directions are clear but the pronunciation of street names is completely garbled.

But please not the Big B or any famous actor! Great entertainer, but there's too much of him already all over the media! In fact I think it will be cheaper for Google to use unknown local voice actors in each city rather than a superstar. And the local street names will be recorded accurately too, I doubt a lot of Bollywood actors will be able to correctly pronounce many South Indian street or area names.

Edit: Just had a thought, how about Usha Uthup's voice?! She sings in several Indian languages and that rich, vibrant voice will be amazing. [Of course will most of us Indian men be happy taking directions from a woman? (Just kidding, please don't turn this thread into a feminist/non-feminist PoV argument!)]

Last edited by am1m : 8th June 2020 at 09:56.
am1m is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th June 2020, 11:12   #13

Originally Posted by mukeshgoel View Post
I think Google should add voices of:

1. Amitabh Bachchan (being discussed)
2. Arun Govil (Ramayan sytle)
3. Hema Malini (Sholay Style)
4. Johnny Lever (or any other comedian)

And let the user select the audio he/she wants.
I can propose few more to this list as below
5. Gulshan Grover (Bad man style, can ask to lock your home's properly before leaving, or else he will . . .)
6. Manoj Bajpayee (Gangs of Wasseypur style, you know what I mean, with a lost key reminder)
7. AlokNath (Sanskari Style)

But jokes apart, I am completely also with the local actor voicing idea since I am quite sure there are few tricky local street names that will be difficult none the less in every part of the country. Of course knowing Google and it's Deep Learning algorithms I would say nothing is impossible for them but that was just my thought.

Last edited by haisaikat : 8th June 2020 at 11:14.
haisaikat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th June 2020, 13:46   #14

Can't wait to hear "Flyover lena chahiye, ya nahi lena chahiye - kya lagta hai aapko? Would you like to phone a friend?". (Should you take the flyover or not? What do you think?).

Jokes apart, would love to hear his voice be the guide. The command he has on the languages, the diction, his voice - he would definitely be a good addition to already very capable Google maps.
Engine_Roars is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th June 2020, 14:57   #15

Its a proven scientific fact that generally men listen more attentively to female voices of certain age. There was some study that said so or it was quoted here in some thread.

I am not sure if Google maps has voice over in Hindi. The primary reason for voice switch over may be for correct pronunciation. Who better than Big B. On that front, it would be welcome change to Superstar's voice in Tamil. Sample this : " Kanna , Vun Vazhi thani vazhi , Ehahahaha".

P.S : Personally, i am not going to change over from Mary's voice to anyone else. No matter in Hindi or Kannada or Tamil.

Last edited by srini1785 : 8th June 2020 at 14:58.
srini1785 is offline   (4) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com