View Poll Results: Who is your preferred FASTag provider?
Airtel Payments Bank 26 7.26%
Axis Bank 10 2.79%
Equitas Small Finance Bank 10 2.79%
HDFC Bank 71 19.83%
ICICI Bank 163 45.53%
IDBI Bank 8 2.23%
IDFC Bank 46 12.85%
Induslnd bank 4 1.12%
Kotak Mahindra Bank 14 3.91%
State Bank of India 12 3.35%
Yes Bank 1 0.28%
Others (please specify in your post) 17 4.75%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 358. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11th March 2024, 18:18   #436

Re: Who is your preferred FASTag provider?

For those who can find a few minutes from their busy schedules to visit a branch physically, I recommend ICICI.

I recently had 2 Paytm fastag accounts closed and selected for ICICI tags as replacement.

Just walked in to the ICICI main branch in the 3rd tier city where I live in and the fastag team issued the new fastags for my cars very efficiently.

Fastags were issued with issuance fee and security deposit waivers and the whole process took less than 15 minutes.

Everything is very simple - whatever amount you recharge is whatever your usable tag balance will be.

Tags can be recharged through any payment app without any hassle and have been using them without any issues thus far.
dk45 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th March 2024, 19:07   #437

Originally Posted by narayanang76 View Post
I explored Park+ Fastag option when I was moving out from PayTM Fastag recently. I already had Park+ tag in my car for my apartment entry, and I thought of exploring their Park+ Fastag.
I installed Park+ app to check out the features. But their unsolicited and unrelated notifications irritated me so much that I uninstalled the app after 2 days of observation.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 12th March 2024 at 09:01. Reason: Trimming quoted post; kindly quote only relevant sections of the post.
Selective is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2024, 17:30   #438

Does anyone know where to get IHMCL branded Fastag?
Old 12th March 2024, 17:35   #439

Had 2 PayTMs tag. Now I need 2 replacement tags for my 2 cars and I want a common wallet to 'feed' both these tags as per requirement. I don't need any auto top up etc options. Is Airtel tag a suitable replacement for PayTM tag?

Someone using such an arrangement, please clarify :

1. Will the common Airtel wallet serve both these tags as and when required just like the PayTM wallet?

2. Can I make payments at shops using the same wallet?

3. I don't have airtel wallet or airtel payments bank account as of now. Can I get airtel wallet without keeping a bank account with them?

4. What if I want to use a mobile number (Airtel) which is not linked to any bank account?

Also, PAYTM is offering HDFC replacement tag. Which option should be better?

Last edited by saket77 : 12th March 2024 at 17:51.
saket77 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th March 2024, 17:50   #440

Originally Posted by AutoNoob View Post
I wonder why they have made the process so cumbersome. Right from issue of second/ subsequent tag, balance limit based auto-recharge etc. There aren't any technical reasons that I could foresee. Yet, this half-hearted approach.
Originally Posted by dk45 View Post
whatever amount you recharge is whatever your usable tag balance will be.

Tags can be recharged through any payment app without any hassle and have been using them without any issues thus far.
Another issue found with recharge to ICICI FASTag. CUG wallet is forcing for minimum Rs. 1000 recharge. This is unnecessary condition. Why is it required to keep this much amount ? Though I don't have any issues sparing such amount, but don't like customers being forced

Who is your preferred FASTag provider?-screenshot-20240312-172927-agency-recharge-account-copy.png
Old 12th March 2024, 18:27   #441

Originally Posted by Athani View Post
Does anyone know where to get IHMCL branded Fastag?
Originally Posted by saket77 View Post
Had 2 PayTMs tag. Now I need 2 replacement tags for my 2 cars and I want a common wallet to 'feed' both these tags as per requirement. I don't need any auto top up etc options. Is Airtel tag a suitable replacement for PayTM tag?

Someone using such an arrangement, please clarify :

1. Will the common Airtel wallet serve both these tags as and when required just like the PayTM wallet?

Yes. Your tolls get deducted from the common Wallet (Airtel Payments Bank acount balance) directly.

2. Can I make payments at shops using the same wallet?

Yes, you can make UPI payments from this balance

3. I don't have airtel wallet or airtel payments bank account as of now. Can I get airtel wallet without keeping a bank account with them?

I'm not sure on this as I created an account with Airtel Payments Bank

4. What if I want to use a mobile number (Airtel) which is not linked to any bank account?

As long as your your Airtel Payments Bank phone number & Fastag are same, you should be fine.

Also, PAYTM is offering HDFC replacement tag. Which option should be better?
The closest we have to the Paytm Fastag common wallet is the Fastag from Airtel. However, there are a number of downsides when compared to Paytm.
  1. Auto Reload : Airtel has UPI based auto load. However, it is not instant as it was with Paytm. If going on a long trip, check the balance in your Airtel bank account. In my case, the auto-reload is taking 48 hours. So, don't depend on it.
  2. Interface is clunky! Can't see transaction from only sigle tag or from a specific time frame etc.
  3. Paytm allowed you to generate a nice toll receipt listing all toll deductions on a particular tag & for a specific number of days etc. It was convenienet to submit expense reports while on business trips. Airtel has no such facility
Desi Dybuk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th March 2024, 18:39   #442

Another issue found with recharge to ICICI FASTag. CUG wallet is forcing for minimum Rs. 1000 recharge. This is unnecessary condition. Why is it required to keep this much amount ? Though I don't have any issues sparing such amount, but don't like customers being forced

Attachment 2582232
I have done CUG wallet recharge of 1/ and it works.
Even tag recharge is minimum 500/ but via UPI you can recharge a minimum of 1/
Procedure is via UPI and happens instantly.
Both credit card UPI or debit card UPI works fine.
send money to netc.IB<customerID>@icici
Who is your preferred FASTag provider?-screenshot_20240312_184308_firefox.jpg  

Last edited by DetectiveMiles : 12th March 2024 at 18:44.
DetectiveMiles is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th March 2024, 19:44   #443

Originally Posted by Desi Dybuk View Post
[list=1][*]Auto Reload : Airtel has UPI based auto load. However, it is not instant as it was with Paytm. If going on a long trip, check the balance in your Airtel bank account. In my case, the auto-reload is taking 48 hours. So, don't depend on it.
Many thanks for your point to point reply.
Please clarify on the quoted part: I don’t use auto reload. Is it going to be an issue with my usage? Is the wallet top up instant if done manually or even that takes some time?
I generally recharge just before starting the journey - is it going to work that way?

Old 12th March 2024, 19:48   #444

ICICI provides two UPI IDs for top-up. One for CUG and other for tag.
Who is your preferred FASTag provider?-screenshot-3687.png  

Old 12th March 2024, 21:20   #445

Another issue found with recharge to ICICI FASTag. CUG wallet is forcing for minimum Rs. 1000 recharge.
You're right about the above. However, please note the minimum allowed recharge of 1000 is applicable only if you try to load the wallet. Some 3rd party apps allow direct recharge albeit with a minimum acceptable amount of 500.

I have used iMobile app to recharge the Fastag directly and can confirm even a small amount of 100 is possible. Fastag balance gets updated with whatever amount you recharge with and the wallet balance remaining 0!

Last edited by libranof1987 : 13th March 2024 at 09:44. Reason: Fixing broken quote tags
Old 12th March 2024, 21:27   #446

I don’t use auto reload. Is it going to be an issue with my usage? Is the wallet top up instant if done manually or even that takes some time?
I generally recharge just before starting the journey - is it going to work that way?

I am using the Airtel tag for both of my cars, and no, if you don't opt for auto-reload, there is no problem with it. Wallet top-up is instant; in fact, I am adding funds using my Rupay credit card with no additional charge, and it reflects immediately.

Absolutely.
raptor_diwan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th March 2024, 22:25   #447

Originally Posted by DetectiveMiles View Post
Procedure is via UPI and happens instantly.
Both credit card UPI or debit card UPI works fine.
send money to netc.IB<customerID>@icici
Originally Posted by mukeshgoel View Post
ICICI provides two UPI IDs for top-up. One for CUG and other for tag.
Worked like charm. Balance added to CUG wallet instantaneously. Thanks a ton. Solved my biggest concern with fastags.

Again I wonder, why this method is not mentioned on the recharge page of online portal/ app.
Old 12th March 2024, 22:40   #448

I'm trying to get an IDFC Fastag and they are for some reason adding a program called Fastag Max with RSA, Insurance etc. along with it and asking for 300 Rs. per year subscription. How can one get a IDFC Fastag without this Max program?
Old 12th March 2024, 23:04   #449

Many thanks for your point to point reply.
Please clarify on the quoted part: I don’t use auto reload. Is it going to be an issue with my usage? Is the wallet top up instant if done manually or even that takes some time?

If you are okay with manually loading the wallet before a trip using UPI, then it would be instantaneous. All you have to do is use any UPI app to load your Airtel Fastag & it would be instaneous.

I was using Auto-Load with Paytm where whenever the balance dropped below a set limit (say, ₹ 1000), it would be topped up from my other bank account automatically. This meant that I never had to check the balance before any of the trips.
Desi Dybuk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th March 2024, 14:22   #450

I have been searching for a similar solution to replace my paytm fastags. Multiple cars need a common wallet and this should be obvious.

I just installed payzapp and parkplus. Even checked out amazon pay. I am typically anti ICICI bank as I have had multiple bad experiences with that bank. Therefore, staying away from that entity.

It seems Airtel fastag is the one to go.

I am wondering why couldn't any of these banks not step up and create a duplicate Paytm experience?
fazalmirza is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com