Old 2nd September 2023, 13:29   #7561

Re: Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians

Originally Posted by avingodb View Post
Do we have a thread where BHPians who publish anything or blog/vlog can share their work. I am an academic and I write on International Affairs, and publish every now and then,

For example, my article appeared in The Hindu today, so made me curious to see if we have some common thread.
Paid wall or something. Can barely get two lines read before an ad pops up. I'm not published but wanted to get a read in of what you wrote.

Last edited by Samurai : 2nd September 2023 at 14:00. Reason: url removed
mayankk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2023, 14:03   #7562

Originally Posted by avingodb View Post
Do we have a thread where BHPians who publish anything or blog/vlog can share their work. I am an academic and I write on International Affairs, and publish every now and then
No, we don't allow it. That would result in members using the forum to generate traffic for their content elsewhere, even to their personal blogs.

If you want to share your ideas, post it here directly.
Samurai is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th September 2023, 16:07   #7563

Kindly fix this bug.
Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-screenshot_20230904160448.png  

Aditya_Bhp is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 8th September 2023, 14:55   #7564

Originally Posted by SixPistons View Post
Another odd behaviour I saw has to do with number of posts on the right of a user profile link. Many times, a person’s total posts is shown as 0 while I am reading a response by the same person on a thread.
+
Originally Posted by vjvinamara View Post
I've too faced this issue where the number of posts counter does not increase with subsequent posts. Can moderators shed some light on how does it work?
3 Reasons:
1) Not all sections are counted towards post counts (as already mentioned above)
2) "Posts" in some "hidden" sections also count (eg. as mentioned - reported posts)
3) Post counting isn't 100% real-time, it runs on interval

Originally Posted by JMaruru View Post
I could see this behaviour consistently for the last few days. But right now, I logged in to TBHP little early than usual and it looks good. The new threads are there from my last login, as it should be.

Does any maintenance routines in the wee hours of IST, manipulate this data?
Daily backup is 4AM IST, but that shouldn't affect this.

I'm guessing this would be something to do with cookies on your local system... so need to think about what might be affecting that? (eg. clearing your browsing data, etc)

Originally Posted by 115 View Post
Is there an option to export all posts of a given thread in a PDF format for offline reading?
I think the best thing to do would be to get a browser extension (or use an existing browser feature) to handle this offline reading.

If you use Mobile Chrome, you might have missed the download icon in the fly-out menu, right next to refresh. Just tap that. Then the page is visible for Offline viewing in your Downloads list. Simple.

Originally Posted by ron178 View Post
Is there a way to link text to a YouTube URL without embedding the video?
Just change the y to a capital Y:

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=dQw4w9WgXcQ

Originally Posted by Aditya_Bhp View Post
Kindly fix this bug.
Arrgh... something has changed on Google's side of things a few weeks ago that's causing this.

We've noticed the errant ads usually link to the play store.

I've been unable to replicate this in order to analyze it.

Have put in a quick-fix 2 days ago that will hide the "overflow".

Last edited by Rehaan : 8th September 2023 at 14:57.
Rehaan is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 8th September 2023, 15:25   #7565

Can we reduce to opacity of the Team-bhp logo that is automatically added to the pictures posted please?

I manually increase the canvas size at the bottom so that the logo does not hide anything.

Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-3.jpg
mukeshgoel is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 9th September 2023, 17:48   #7566

Originally Posted by mukeshgoel View Post
Can we reduce to opacity of the Team-bhp logo that is automatically added to the pictures posted please?
Attachment 2500813
+1

This is a real bother in some cases.
Samfromindia is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th September 2023, 19:09   #7567

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Just change the y to a capital Y:

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=dQw4w9WgXcQ
Was not expecting that sometimes I forget the mods' lighter side.

Thanks for the tip
ron178 is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 10th September 2023, 21:48   #7568

I manually increase the canvas size at the bottom so that the logo does not hide anything.
I leave a little blank space that the bottom of the content in the image so that the watermark does not hide anything.
condor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 12th September 2023, 17:13   #7569

Found couple of broken links at the bottom of classifieds page. Probably similar issue exists in other footers as well.

About us and Car Reviews are leading to 404 ("Looks like you’ve reached a dead end.")

Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-404links.png
dileepcm is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th September 2023, 13:18   #7570

Unfortunately there's some complications with this... Will see if there are any other workarounds (other than the current manual one, required on some spreadsheet/text screenshots etc).

Originally Posted by dileepcm View Post
Found couple of broken links at the bottom of classifieds page.
Thanks! Fixed.
Rehaan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 18th September 2023, 17:41   #7571

Re: TVS iQube S | Initial Ownership Review

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
Exceptional, unbiased & detailed ownership reviews of bikes have started going to our homepage reviews box. It's the ultimate stamp of trust from Team-BHP (as a platform) because lakhs of visitors every month check out reviews from there & make purchase decisions.

Your review has also been included here. Thank you so much for sharing .

Attachment 2499104
I noticed the home page has a bug. When i drop down all motorbike reviews, the below link of all car reviews does not change,

Suggestions for Team-BHP from Team-BHPians-screenshot-20230918-173720.png
groom is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th September 2023, 19:03   #7572

More of a question, what’s the stand on use of non-forum (more contemporary) smileys? I see a lot of posts with non-forum smileys, but don’t report if the count is 2 or less. However, saw a post this morning which was edited to remove such smileys.

Rule 8 needs an update to include which smiley is allowed, in addition to how many are allowed, if the non-forum smileys are being edited out.
Dry Ice is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th September 2023, 22:04   #7573

We have such a poor selection of smileys, I'm not surprised people use ones from outside.

We don't even have a namaste. And I have been crying out for an I'm-stupid for years!
Thad E Ginathom is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th September 2023, 22:33   #7574

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
And I have been crying out for an I'm-stupid for years!
You mean this one

It’s still there. Just that it isn’t in the list. I do agree the older smileys from the vBulletin based ones were much pleasant.
Gannu_1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2023, 04:17   #7575

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
You mean this one

It’s still there. Just that it isn’t in the list. I do agree the older smileys from the vBulletin based ones were much pleasant.
Wow. Is there a listing of the available-not-shown smilies?