Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 1st November 2018, 11:49   #3706
Senior - BHPian

re: Which watch do you own?

@ARoy; Ditto for my Omega. However, my Rado does not subscribe to it. Only one position, so to change the date there is only on way, turn the knob. Esp painful in the end of February.
Old 1st November 2018, 12:55   #3707
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by spookey View Post
Orient Surveyor - my daily beater for almost 10 months now.
I have never been fascinated by watches and in fact only recently started to regularly wear my 8 year old Timex Expedition. However, Orient Surveyor caught my fancy. So much so that I am completely smitten by this now and planning to buy one for myself.

Now, I am completely new to this world of automatic watches, never even having heard of it till few months back. Considering that if at all I buy the Surveyor, I will most probably wear it only occasionally, how tough would it be to maintain the watch? Does it even make sense to buy such a watch when the use is not frequent?

While I liked the watch, I don't want to invest too much time, effort and money in maintaining it. I would really love to own this watch but don't want to ruin it due to improper use and maintenance.
Old 1st November 2018, 14:16   #3708
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksameer1234 View Post
While I liked the watch, I don't want to invest too much time, effort and money in maintaining it. I would really love to own this watch but don't want to ruin it due to improper use and maintenance.
If & when you buy The Surveyor, I bet you will not wear your Timex much. Also, you won't need to spend any time/money/effort in maintaining an automatic. I have this automatic watch (Which watch do you own?), and the only thing needed to keep it in working condition so far is to wear it (which I do for a couple of weeks in a month).

Go for it!

Cheers,
Vikram