Old 28th September 2012, 05:49   #226

re: Health insurance queries? Ask me!

Originally Posted by Gansan View Post
^^AFAIK Star Health is the only company issuing new policies for people above 55 years of age.
Apollo Munich have recently started health insurance for senior citizens, and there is no age bar. Max Bupa also has it for senior citizens.

Originally Posted by drsingh View Post
Look at the family plan of max bupa.
Max Bupa is the most expensive of all the providers.
Old 28th September 2012, 12:44   #227

^^^^ there are 3 tiers in max bupa
Silver gold and platinum. If you look at the family plans and the kind of cover they offer, it will make sense.have someone explain it in detail to you. As of a year ago there was nothing comparable in the market. 3 generations can be covered in one family floater plan, if the grandfather is made the principal.
Old 6th October 2012, 12:43   #228

Question: Does the annual insurance premium keep going up for these medical insurance policies (assume I don't claim)? Till what period will it be fixed? Are there any rules or guidelines? What happens when I claim some money due to illness? Will my premium shoot up?

Pl. clarify.
Old 12th October 2012, 20:03   #229

My father had medical insurance of Rs. 1 lakh + 30k of accumulated bonus.
In June, I incurred hospitalization expenses of 1.65 lakh and submitted all the documents including indoor papers. The claim was submitted by my agent and I had signed on the form before he filled in the details.

Problem 1: Agent quoted the total claim amount as 1.53 by mistake, instead of 1.65 Lakhs. TPA has considered 1.53 even though all bills were attached.

Problem 2: Out of 1.53L, the claim has been settled only for 66K. Rest has been denied. Some of the denials were expected due to room rate cap, etc. But some of them were unfair since Pathology tests carried out by the hospital were said to be unrelated to the diagnosis. They also provided me a breakup of only 99k and not 1.53L

Problem 3: 3 months after hospitalization, I have still not got the cheque in hand.

What are my options here? Even if I refuse to accept the cheque and go for a dispute, it may not be resolved for many more months.

I lost my father in July and that's the reason I could not closely follow up on this matter. Should I just accept 66K and forget the whole thing? I've been depressed for the past many weeks and now I am feeling completely cheated. I had included even the refund slips in my claims which I could have easily left out and inflated the claim. The whole thing just proves that honesty does not pay in today's times.
Old 29th October 2012, 17:16   #230

Guys is star health insurance good ? .I need to get a health insurance for my mother in Bangalore .
Old 22nd December 2012, 20:50   #231
SBR

Originally Posted by SBR View Post
My recent experience with Star Health.

I have a Family Health Optima policy from Star Health for SA of INR 4 lacs which covers me. wifey and my 3 year old daughter. I pay a Annual premium of Rs. 5,300/- approximately.

I had taken this policy in Jan 2010 and its been close to 2.5 years now since the policy started.

Recently, unfortunately to say, my 3 year old had to be hospitalized in emergency for oral infection. We rushed her to a close by neighborhood hospital. Post hospitalization, I realized that the hospital was part of listed hospitals in Star Health. I submitted the Health card of my kid with a copy of my insurance document.

On day four, when my kid was discharged, all I had to pay was 10% of the total bill and the rest was approved by Star Health. Overall, a good experience with Star Health in a crisis situation.

Reviving my old post. In Jan 2012, I had paid a premium of Rs. 5,300/- (4765 premium + Tax). My policy is due for renewal in Jan 2013 and I have received a renewal notice from Star Health. Since I made a claim in 2012 as mentioned in my last post, the premium to be paid now in Jan 2013 is Rs. 7427/- (6610 Premium + Tax). Guess the premium goes up if claims are made.
Old 24th December 2012, 09:05   #232

Re: Senior Citizen Health Insurance?

My father aged 76 years has his health insurance from apollo munich, coz of my sisters group insurance at her MNC employer. We used to pay around 20K for 3 lac coverage. Now, she has resigned from the company and we are looking for health insurance in the market. Apollo Munich, would not renew it as a individual policy. Star health has refused insurance on grounds of pre-existing condition of diabetes. LnT provides insurance for senior citizens with a caveat of no claims for first 3 years.

Please suggest on any other senior citizen health insurance providers/policies?

Old 27th December 2012, 20:41   #233

Me too looking for a policy for family

Insurer - 38 yrs
Wife - 34 yrs
Father - 72 yrs
Mother - 65 yrs

Can anyone please suggest an insurance policy/provider?
Old 27th December 2012, 22:37   #234

^^ You can check out Oriental happy family floater also.
Old 5th June 2013, 21:37   #235

I want to get health insurance for myself. Parents already have from New India. I am looking for a SI of 4-5 lakhs.
Was considering Bajaj Allianz,ICICI Lombard,Max Bupa & National Insurance.

Have heard bad reviews about Max Bupa with respect to claim settlements otherwise i really liked it.

ICICI Lombard also has a good plan but has Premium Loading upto 200% on subsequent renewals, so not sure if i should still go for it.

Bajaj Allianz - One of my friends recommended it and also heard good reviews from other people. The brand does not instill confidence. Actually i don't know how good is its presence in Health Insurance. Secondly can it be trusted for Health Insurance which would continue for lifetime.

National Insurance - Just heard that the company is very good with claim settlements plus the govt. label and trust. Policy is not good though, has sub limits and low limits especially for ICU.

Which provider do you recommend ? With respect to quality of services and presence in Delhi/NCR ? I am really confused.
Premium is almost same for all the providers.
Old 15th June 2013, 09:53   #236

Originally Posted by k2max6 View Post
I want to get health insurance for myself. Parents already have from New India. I am looking for a SI of 4-5 lakhs.

Have heard bad reviews about Max Bupa with respect to claim settlements otherwise i really liked it.

ICICI Lombard also has a good plan but has Premium Loading upto 200% on subsequent renewals, so not sure if i should still go for it.

Bajaj Allianz - One of my friends recommended it and also heard good reviews from other people. The brand does not instill confidence. Actually i don't know how good is its presence in Health Insurance. Secondly can it be trusted for Health Insurance which would continue for lifetime.

National Insurance - Just heard that the company is very good with claim settlements plus the govt. label and trust. Policy is not good though, has sub limits and low limits especially for ICU.

Which provider do you recommend ? With respect to quality of services and presence in Delhi/NCR ? I am really confused.
Go for http://www.hdfcbank.com/personal/pro...alth-suraksha/
Old 15th June 2013, 12:00   #237

I want to get health insurance for myself. I am looking for a SI of 4-5 lakhs.
Which provider do you recommend ? With respect to quality of services and presence in Delhi/NCR ?
Have you tried Apollo Munich, they have a good choice of options. Try this link and check if something suits you.
http://www.apollomunichinsurance.com...ance-plan.aspx
Old 15th June 2013, 22:53   #238

I was in the same situation a few weeks ago. Went ahead with Apollo Munich Optima Restore plan. IRDA website shows they've got a decent claim settlement ratio. Also no loading on claims guaranteed, restore benefit and the best bonus provisions (even in case of claims, bonus only goes down to the level of one year prior while most others penalise you much more severely).

Had been with Bajaj for 5 years prior to this and the experience was good. Didn't renew coz they still don't do away with sub limits for charges like Room rent. So used the portability option and carried over the NCB to the new policy.
Old 16th June 2013, 06:13   #239

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Any idea on the claim settlement ratio of Royal Sundaram and Aegon Religare?

I have been with Royal Sundaram since the last 11 -12 years and I have been with Aegon Religare since its inception in India. Never a claim in this time on either of the two.
Old 27th July 2013, 10:32   #240

Nice article about Insurance claims settlement….

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com