Old 4th December 2023, 15:09   #4411

Re: The Hindi Movies Thread

ANIMAL 4/5.

An overall satisfying Cinematic Experience.

My understanding of the movie is that, Ranbir in general is a very simple and law abiding boy. He just wants to have a peaceful life and not get involved in politics and crony capitalism. In fact he is not even regressive towards women as he tells at one point that they were so happy in Us where his wife and he both were working. In one scene, he also tells his sister to also go to office and take care of company. he also supports his mother. He is just a sensitive boy which gets traumatised by his sorroundings and wants to get everything right.

Basically, Ranbir has a split personality. One side of him is very peaceful family man, and the other side is a fierce animal to protect his family.

Basically all of us have an animal instinct but that instinct is suppressed by fear of law. Thats how the absence of police and authorities is very conspicuous in this movie as where there is no law, is like a jungle, where the most fierce of the animal would survive.

The end credit shows probable next part of the movie as animal park, whihc signifies that now there will be more than one animal and all of them will fight.
car-dent is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 18:22   #4412

Animal

Can't help but rate the second half an absolute failure, especially when the first half was so brilliantly done.

Animal had a nice plot and so much to show and tell but the execution after intermission is poor.

The last series that I watched depicting alpha males was 'Peaky Blinders', so I compared Animal with it, as the animal himself asks a doctor in the movie: "I need to have a reference to make things easier to explain"

Note: I won't be putting any spoilers this time as I did for Gadar-2 and then our friendly mods had to take the pain of removing the spoiler bits

Movies/TV series showing Alpha males who can go any to lengths for their family, even if it questions their morality or puts relationships in jeopardy, are tough to write, direct and execute (i.e. act). I could not help draw parallels between Ranbir Singh's character Rannvijay with Cilian Murphy's awesome portrayal of Thomas Shelby in 'Peaky Blinders', as both Rannvijay and Thomas have to do things for their family which one would not even consider as a possibility. This is precisely what the second half was all about and there were so many layers that could have been shown better...

... but when the lady sitting next to you who was awestruck with Rannvijay's heroics in the first hour starts facepalming at every frame he appears in the second half, you know something has gone horribly wrong. Alas, that is all I can say at this point, to dissect it further will mean writing spoilers which I can't, maybe a few months later or after the release of Sandeep Reddy Vanga's next movie starring Ranbir Singh.

I wish he collaborated with Anurag Kashyap to get the complex second part right.

Some bits to know:
- John Wick like maaraamaari is a treat to watch in theatre

- Alpha male stuff going on with guns and cigarettes and swagger with a desi touch. People raised watching Arnold Schwarzenegger movies like Predator will be at ease with the gore. Some will say its senseless, but when was mass killing of people sensible?

- Background music at times is great, at times its B-Praak Completely screwing the experience.

- Great Actors: Even small parts are played well. Shakti Kapoor, Prem Chopra, Suresh Oberoi, they are all there! Being a Maharashtrian myself, it was nice to see veteran actor Upendra Limaye as Freddy. He killed the comic part as he does with every role. Strong acting by everyone relevant makes this movie a good watch.

- Rashmika, Ranbir have done really well, but the standards set by Cilian Murphy (Thomas Shelby) and Natasha O'Keeffe (Lizzie) in Peaky Blinders in such 'husband-wife-relationship-tensions' setup are so high... it won't be wrong to expect more from them, but I am glad we are getting there. Ranbir's eyes do act.

- There are some hints of spirituality in the first half if you watch closely. The concept of Lord Shiva the destroyer, a committed and devoted lover, engaging in worldly pleasures but ready to renounce everything at the drop of a hat, the eternal debate: belief in a superpower above all, or the power of self consciousness and tapas

- Lord Bobby Deol needs a special mention for his talent is simply wasted in this movie. His limited screen time will leave fans and the non-believers dejected. But kudos to the way his role was envisaged and displayed properly, no holds barred, Bobby Deol did make the lady sitting next to me scream with fear, thrice.

- Anil Kapoor is true love for anyone who loves the art of acting. Just watch him play the dad in 'Dil Dhadakne Do', and then in this movie.

I wanted to write a lot more on this movie, there are some parts that I had not seen in Bollywood so far, which is a good departure from the usual 13+ rating movies that we have grown used to. This movie is raw and A rated for the right reasons, at least as a start.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 4th December 2023 at 18:51. Reason: The right name for Arnold Schwarzenegger
NiInJa is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th December 2023, 23:44   #4413

12th Fail (4/5)

Heart touching story of perseverance. Personally, I can't imagine going through a grind in places like Kota, ORN. This story shows that human determination and ambition has no bounds. The drive to change one's life for self and family is the same among all of us however the extent to which one has to fight for it depends on their starting point.
Sad that I didn't see any PR or noise around this.

Animal (2/5)

I must say I had no plans for watching it. I avoid mindless action flicks like the Heropanti series. Thanks to the great PR of this movie both by haters and fans, I wanted to see what was all this noise about.
The first half has some high testosterones scenes and whistle moments. Second half has good cameo from Upendra Limaye. Lord Bobby didn't have a single dialogue that actually brought some intimidation to the character IMO. Some well shot action scenes (the roided Gatling gun was over the top though), good BGM, elevation scenes all ingredients for mindless action movie.
mac187 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th December 2023, 10:40   #4414

Animal

When the trailer hit i was quite excited to watch it which is a rarity for Bollywood movies these days. However when the reviews started pouring I was prepared with lower expectations. However, the movie was a disappointment.

It started with a promise. Held the attention and storyline for a brief period but then time jumped around without giving context when needed. Then there were intimate and violent scenes thrown without any need or story demanding them. Director wanted the protagonist to be a family man John wick but forgot John wick had codes and principle and his protagonist made no sense doing things he did just uttering one sentence entire film about loving his father as justification for his madness.

Movie should have been atleast 30 minutes shorter. They made it 3 hours and 21 minutes long and gave Bobby hardly 10 minutes which didn't justify his potential as lead Villain. Kudos to Bobby for still doing great with his limited time with the character. Ranbir was brilliant but the direction and screenplay is quite poor at times and it shows. This movie is another case of what could have been a really good film marred with shoddy direction.

Rating -3/5
Extra half point for brilliant acting by Ranbir. I believe after Barfi this is his finest performance.

Last edited by harry10 : 5th December 2023 at 10:49.
harry10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2023, 10:49   #4415

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Extra half point for brilliant acting by Ranbir. I believe after Barfi this is his finest performance.
If not watched, I would highly recommend Jagga Jasoos. He does act, and the whole movie is a comic book essentially. Great Fun!
mayankk is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2023, 10:52   #4416

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
If not watched, I would highly recommend Jagga Jasoos. He does act, and the whole movie is a comic book essentially. Great Fun!
I haven't seen it as it was touted as a musical and I don't like musical movies. Will definitely give it a watch now.
Old 5th December 2023, 11:13   #4417

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
In my opinion, Tamasha is his best work. Ranbir Kapoor is a terrific actor; unfortunately, the perception created about him often precedes his acting prowess.
libranof1987 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th December 2023, 11:30   #4418

The only saving grace of Animal was Ranbir Kapoor's raw acting; doing these twisted roles is really becoming somewhat of a forte for him, it seems. There's nothing noteworthy to write home otherwise about the film. Despite the hype created about Bobby Deol, sadly they have wasted him.

The looong action sequence in between is a bit too much and doesn't seem to come to an end. Instead of blowing your mind, it ends up bloating the anyway-long runtime of the film.

IMHO, the film could have been trimmed atleast by 30 mins, if not more.

P.s. Glad to have spent just 250 bucks for a late night show by watching in a normal theatre instead of PVR and the likes which are priced upwards of 600/- in Mumbai!

Rating: 2/5
IamNikhil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2023, 11:44   #4419

Originally Posted by car-dent View Post
The end credit shows probable next part of the movie as animal park, whihc signifies that now there will be more than one animal and all of them will fight.
This line is enough to make me want to go watch the movie! Neat review!

But will resist and go watch Sam Bahadur instead.
am1m is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2023, 12:17   #4420

Originally Posted by libranof1987 View Post
In my opinion, Tamasha is his best work. Ranbir Kapoor is a terrific actor; unfortunately, the perception created about him often precedes his acting prowess.
True. The movie didn't quite get its due credit. I too didn't watch the same in the theatre (which I regret); but eventually watched on the OTT due to the recommendation from a friend.
Old 5th December 2023, 14:05   #4421

I haven't seen this too. So now I have jagga jasoos and tamasha to watch. Good.

Originally Posted by IamNikhil View Post

P.s. Glad to have spent just 250 bucks for a late night show by watching in a normal theatre instead of PVR and the likes which are priced upwards of 600/- in Mumbai!

Rating: 2/5
I managed to get Recliners for a very good multiplex in my city. 2 seats costed me 750. Worth it because of that long runtime we didn't get tired at all. A known guy paid 1300 for 1 ticket.

Last edited by harry10 : 5th December 2023 at 14:06.
harry10 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th December 2023, 14:43   #4422

I think Barfi was his peak point. In addition I loved his acting in Rocket Singh, Yeh Jawani Hai Diwani, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil.

The movie Animal was the topic of discussion in the office today with 2 clear groups - one who swore by the movie and others who completely hated it. The common point of their stand was the excessive & mindless violence. Finally everyone agreed that this movie should not be watched with family (even with the better half too). So I am going to wait for this to hit the OTT for a savings of good 1000 bucks which will be used to give a good car wash for my vehicle.
ghodlur is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th December 2023, 15:16   #4423

Ranbir has been outstanding in all his movies according to me. He has out done all in
Berfi, Rockstar, Sanju and now Animal.. His filmography has been such that , one will never be able to forget his role.

I am sure most will agree that after watching Pathaan, Tiger , Jawan etc all only discussed how bad/ good the movies but no one even bothered to mention our so called super heroes like Shahrukh or Salman. This guy makes sure that he leaves signature in most of his movies.
Old 5th December 2023, 15:27   #4424

Mission Raniganj

Watched this on Netflix. First up, I don't understand why CGI in Indian movies is this bad. I mean there's no dearth of money with these producers but still the graphics look so bad. Instead of hiring big actors and paying them a bomb, they can hire good actors & spend the money on CGI. The impact would be much better IMO. Some actors too were bad for example Ravi Kishan overacted way too much, could have had better impact without the useless shouting.

Overall just about a OK watch. Watch it if you have nothing else to do. I did as I was stuck at home on standby due to some cutover on a Sunday

Rating : 2/5

Last edited by SoumenD : 5th December 2023 at 15:41.
SoumenD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th December 2023, 07:38   #4425

Animal

Rating: ?/5

Please leave behind your brain, to watch this senseless one man army soft porn movie.

I wanted to come away within the first hour, but suffered as had gone with wife and her friends .

Was wondering which country was this? No law and order, police or army.

Last edited by Vinod_nair : 6th December 2023 at 07:41.
Vinod_nair is offline   (2) Thanks