Old 25th March 2023, 14:13   #4216

Re: The Hindi Movies Thread

Chor Nikal ke Bhaaga

Streaming: Netflix

I expected the movie to be very close to Inside Man (if anyone hasnt seen this movie, pls go and see it ASAP) and knew no Hindi movie could be made with such originality but still was hoping and it did disappoint me big time. The who dun it type plot was without any twists or turns and a plain simple "I knew it" type ending. Cast wise Sunny Kaushal (cant believe he is the brother of Vicky Kaushal who can do fantastic acting) comes wooden, some emotional scenes are so hammed. The film is watchable because of Yami Gautam who carries it all along looking adorable as usual. All in all one time watch is nothing else good to watch.

Rating: 2.5/5
Old 25th March 2023, 15:17   #4217

What an excellent watch! Thanks for the recommendation. Saw it last night & loved the performances of Mishra, Gupta and even the idiotic son & local goon. We all know about the daily struggles of those burdened by debt, but this movie presents them in such a realistic manner. And parents with bad kids...gosh, God take care of them!

Agreed with your rating. 4 / 5 stars and a must-watch

https://www.Youtube.com/watch?v=C5ppQpI09hw
Another eminently watchable Rajat Kapoor, Sanjay Mishra movie is "Aankhon Dekhi"
UD2021 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th March 2023, 16:16   #4218

Stated watching 'Pathan' on prime. after sometime started fast forwarding, and it continued to fast forward till the end credits.
Surprised, how can someone make a thrash movie like this !
Amused, how can this pathetic movie can earn so much money !
edunata is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 26th March 2023, 07:13   #4219

Watched Pathan on Prime. My impression is that its a very ordinary dishoom- dishoom movie. Its like eating a dumbed down Indian meal in an American restaurant. There is blandness all around. And frankly, both these spies are now at retirement age for their kind of duty.

Last edited by fhdowntheline : 26th March 2023 at 07:15.
fhdowntheline is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 26th March 2023, 11:00   #4220

Watched Pathan - I don't know why, may be this is what such cheap internet does to you. I feel embarrassed as an Indian when movies like this earn so much money. Watched the first Jurrassic Park post Pathan and that movie had better VFX then Pathan. The first Jurrasic Park movie was released in 1993, i.e. 30 years ago.

I don't understand who writes the dialogues for these movies, first Brahmastra, then Pathan. How do so many people sit together and listen to these dialogues and pass them to be used in such a huge budget movie? Bollywood needs help, seriously!!
Engine_Roars is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 26th March 2023, 11:21   #4221

Watched Drishyum2 yesterday night, what a sleek well scripted and directed movie, well done Abhishek Pathak.

Performance by all was great, loved watching the little girl all grown up.
Old 26th March 2023, 14:12   #4222

Watched Jersey (2019) original Telugu version- with subtitles as I don’t understand Telugu. Beautiful movie. It has been remade in Hindi which I haven’t seen but I’m so glad that I saw this one. Good acting by the entire cast but the highlight of the movie is not actually cricket or the loves story but the emotional bond between the father who is unable to make ends meet and his 7 year old son who wanted an Indian cricket team’s jersey as his birthday gift.

Must watch. 4/5.

Last edited by saket77 : 26th March 2023 at 14:16.
Old 28th March 2023, 09:40   #4223

Re: The TV / Streaming shows thread (no spoilers please)

Chor Nikalke Bhagha.
OTT- Netflix.

It is the story of a diamond insurance company businessman, Sunny Kaushal, and an airhostess, Yami Gautam. The lead pair meet on a flight, fall in love, face life struggles, and decide to steal diamonds to solve their problems.

It starts of as a love story and transitions into a crime saga of smuggling, betrayal, and cat-and-mouse games. There are several twists to the story that makes the ongoings interesting.

Sharad Kelkar's role is not adequately explored. But, the nature of crime at the end lends such freshness to story telling that it's quite amazing.

Yami and Sunny do well. Movie has a TV series feel to it with no songs or music. But it keeps your interest overall.

A finely made movie with some intelligent storyline and decent performances from all.

4/5
mobike008 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd April 2023, 18:04   #4224

Bholaa - 3.5/5

An action packed story which didn't disappoint. Excellent acting by Ajay Devgan, Tabu, Deepak Dobriyal, Gajraj Rao and lastly, Sanjay Mishra. The comic timing by newbie Amir Khan was also good. I had looked at the trailer earlier and thought the action sequences and CGI might be over the top but then having watched the original (Kaithi), this one was equally good.

All the characters have created enough suspense about the protagonist Bholaa so it remains to be seen how Ajay plans to make the sequence.
ashis89 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 10:59   #4225

Gaslight

The Hindi Movies Thread-mzk2mdg4._v1_.jpg

This had all the elements for a really good movie but was spoiled. The main was Sara's acting which had zero emotions (Vikrant and the step-mom acted well). The lighting was also very dark most of the time. Couple of good jump scares but was kind of expected.

A better lead role and a good camera would have turned good for this film.

Rating - 2/5 (Available on Hotstar)

Chor Nikalke Bhagha - This also could have a been movie but was let down due to weak acting.
naveen.raju is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th April 2023, 10:54   #4226

Originally Posted by naveen.raju View Post
Gaslight

This had all the elements for a really good movie but was spoiled. The main was Sara's acting which had zero emotions (Vikrant and the step-mom acted well). The lighting was also very dark most of the time. Couple of good jump scares but was kind of expected.

A better lead role and a good camera would have turned good for this film.

Rating - 2/5 (Available on Hotstar)
Totally agree with the review. Sara thought this was a once in a lifetime serious role but couldnt do justice to it. Chitragandha singh acted well and looked damn good too. Vikrant Massey is given good roles can do some real good acting. The climax was unexpected but stretched a bit.
ghodlur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2023, 12:01   #4227

SHEHZAADA on Netflix.

I was pleasantly surprised when I watched the original. Although I am not a fan of Telugu dramas, I actually enjoyed Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo, after strong pushes from my Telugu friends. The action was a little over the top, but I enjoyed those too. Every actor felt in place, especially Allu Arjun and Murali Sharma who were remarkable in their roles. The music was awesome and the songs were played on loop long enough for a non-Telugu speaking guy like me to remember the lyrics. I felt it was the perfect masala drama movie, except for the objectification part of Pooja Hegde that added nothing to the story and was pushing the movie towards cringe.

Fast forward to the announcement of the remake, and my first thought was "Why?" But I had some hope in Karthik Aryan and T-Series to pull it off, especially after seeing him in his recent movies like Dhamaka and Freddy. But Shehzaada fails to recreate the magic. Minor tweaks have been made to the original story. But everything falls flat including the performances. The songs and BGM are a disaster too and there is not a single song that one would like to hear a second time. I feel Trivikram's direction and treatment of an average story made the difference, along with the swag with which Allu Arjun played Bantu.

If you're a fan of the original, I would recommend giving Shehzaada a miss. While I had hoped for the movie to be successful, it fails to capture the charm and magic of the original. In my opinion, the original movie, Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo, is the superior choice, and I would recommend it to anyone who hasn't seen it yet.

Last edited by AnnaRocks : 16th April 2023 at 12:02.
AnnaRocks is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th April 2023, 04:09   #4228

Mrs Undercover

A good movie.
4/5 from me.
Samba is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2023, 13:17   #4229

Kisi Ka Bhai Kisi ki Jaan

Watched the movie with my whole family. It's a good movie but not extraordinary. Good for some weekend fun and 3 hrs timepass. It's a mix of comedy and action.

In the starting, it was bad but it gradually progresses till the end. After intermission, it is a whole South movie as the actress pooja hegde was a South Indian in the film. The action looks like a typical South Indian movie which doesn't make any sense or relation to physics. But overall movie felt good. My rating is 3.5 out of 5 stars. I will recommend going and watching the movie.
vattyboy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2023, 15:02   #4230

Selfie

Streaming: Hotstar

A remake of a Malayalam movie, this one had a lot of potential had there been 2 power house performers. Akshay Kumar and Emraan Hashmi are total misfits in their roles. The acting of both goes down with a whimper instead. The story had a lot of potential to be a super hit but ends up as a disaster adding another failure in Akshay Kumar's cap. Less said about Emran Hashmi the better. The female cast is there to fill the gaps rather than have an impact. Can be skipped if there are better options.

Ratings: 2/5
ghodlur is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com