Old 29th April 2013, 14:50   #5116

Re: The English Movies Thread (No Spoilers Please)

Myself, wife and our 2 year old monkey liked IM3. yes, there were lots of "dude, what the hell is going on?!" moments and a complete lack of coherent logic at places (esp the evil dude's superpowers). But that's okay - we went to get entertained and we sure were. Period. Paisa vasool it is - think more Govinda than amol palekar, i.e not for the discerning logic-demanding purists
Old 29th April 2013, 15:24   #5117

Myself, wife and our 2 year old monkey liked IM3. yes, there were lots of "dude, what the hell is going on?!" moments and a complete lack of coherent logic at places (esp the evil dude's superpowers). But that's okay - we went to get entertained and we sure were. Period. Paisa vasool it is - think more Govinda than amol palekar, i.e not for the discerning logic-demanding purists
Well yeah, from a paisa wasool dhishum dhishum point of view,it's a good watch.
But the story line is unfaithful to the extreme.
Old 29th April 2013, 15:29   #5118

+1 to that. But post Avengers, supernatural powers have already into pictures. IM3 was a bit over the top, throughly enjoyable all the same if you stop looking around for logic in every scene.
Old 29th April 2013, 19:52   #5119

Im3

Was a wee bit disappointed with IM3. The plot was weak compared to the 1st and 2nd.Felt there was just no flow in the movie. The visuals were nothing great.

2/5
Old 29th April 2013, 21:29   #5120

Warm Bodies : 4/5

A lovely zombie romantic comedy, this one is. Starts with a simple apocalypse - zombie - reduced human race setup, and then it moves on to a completely refreshing storyline.

Best part of this movie is the protagonist's thoughts/self-discussion. In a span of 18 hours, I have seen this movie twice on a CAM print, and I hope it comes to our screens soon so that I can watch it again
Old 29th April 2013, 23:09   #5121

Watched ARGO a few weeks back

The movie is about the Hostage Crisis in Iran where the US consulate members were taken as hostage by Revolution Army except for 6 people who took shelter in Canadian Ambassador's residence.

The story is how these 6 people are rescued under the pretext of shooting a movie in Iran. The direction is very crisp with lot of information given in a very short time, there is rarely a dull moment.

Hats off to Ben Affleck for brilliant direction & good story telling, not to mention good acting as well.

IMHO A must watch.

4/5
Old 30th April 2013, 07:30   #5122

The Last Stand (2013) - 3 Star - Well, Arnie's getting old but still has some juice left in him. A nice action flick with some gory detailing as is a norm nowadays. Reminded me of Cage's Drive Angry minus the supernatural bits. Worth a watch for Arnie fans or just for a pop corn munching action packed saturday evening...
Old 30th April 2013, 15:04   #5123

Saw "Oblivion" recently. Great visual effects, but no substance. Was very predictable and boring.
Old 30th April 2013, 15:11   #5124

Watched "Iron Man-3" on Sunday.

Been a fan of the prequels and compared to them this edition was definetly over the top. But, I feel the new director did a decent job and kept the franchise alive with its trademark quips, action and a few over the top scenes

I was most impressed with Guy Pearce as he looked devilishly handsome and played his part very well. wonder why they didnt choose a younger, voluptous actress to play the lead female charcter. Gwyneth is now OLD. Period (loved her when she was younger)

Robert Downey Jr. was his usual good self and is a lovely actor and perfect choice for Iron Man franchise.

Loved a few action sequences including the Malibu home destruction which was mindblowing (especially in 3D and IMAX format).

The last action sequence was biggest dampner as it looked as if part of the PS3 Game "Ratchet and Clank : Tools of Destruction"

Overall, its a nice timepass movie and worth a watch if you dont dig deeper and tear apart the storyline.

3.5/5
Old 30th April 2013, 15:22   #5125

Movie: Iron Man 3
Rating: 2.5/5
Watchable?: Yes

The earlier two prequels were quite appealing and as such the expectations were high. For the first time I did not see any trailer in YouTube for a movie before going to a movie hall. Sorry to say but the movie even though couple of hours long did not connect in any sense. The only action sequence worthwhile was the Malibu house destruction. I movie always felt disconnected. There was no after taste (good or bad) after this one. But it is still watchable if as others have pointed out, by leaving logic at your house.
Old 30th April 2013, 15:43   #5126

Sorry for the extremely late review.

I had missed watching the latest Bond movie 'Skyfall' in theaters. So bought the original Blu-Ray and boy, I quite liked it. The action sequences are pretty good, especially the thrilling opening sequence.

I found it much much better than Casino Royale, which is probably the dullest Bond movie IMO.

So Skyfall has too many questions unanswered:
1) Who will be the new bond?
2) How will the new M, new MoneyPenny and new Q be accepted by the crowd? Judi Dench has been the longest serving actor in the whole of Bond history. I am not sure how people will get adjusted to the new M.
3) Who will direct the new Bond movie? Sam Mendes has already announced publicly that he is not interested in directing a Bond movie henceforth.
Old 10th May 2013, 19:20   #5127

Just popped in the Bluray disc for 'Inside Man' directed by Spike Lee & starring Denzel Washington, Jodi Foster, Clive Owens, Williem Dafoe, Christopher Plummer etc and the title track is surprise, surprise "Chaiyaa Chaiyaa" from Bollywood.

I found Skyfall to be the most engrossing Bond movie of all times but felt the end (chapel scene) could have been better scripted.

The special commentary in the disc is engrossing as it lays out the thought process behind the changes introduced in the scheme of things.

Last edited by khoj : 10th May 2013 at 19:23.
Old 11th May 2013, 12:06   #5128

Star Trek Into Darkness : 4/5

If you honestly ask me, 3 out of those 4 stars go to Benedict Cumberbatch. He might have played minor roles in several movies before this, but no one would disagree if the vast majority of movie watchers remember this fella by this movie!

He rules the movie. Completely. The mere fact that he's (one of) the villain of the movie is hardly noticed. Irrespective of whether you are a fan of the Sherlock series or you are noticing him for the first time on the screen, you will be enthralled by him.

As for the movie, it's definitely worth a watch. Excellent 3D action with some un-necessary drame-bazi at the end (that reminds you of the emotional scenes of Nirupa Roy in 90s), the movie clearly ends with a setup for another sequel.
Old 11th May 2013, 12:52   #5129

Saw Iron Man 3 last week but was disappointed. The movie hardly holds a candle to the first and second installments. I would rate this one at 3/5. Ironman -1 was easily the best among the three installments for me.

Also saw Zero Dark Thirty. Excellent direction and screenplay. Would rate the movie at 4.5/5.

Catching up on old times, happened to watch Back to the future at home. My rating 4/5. For a movie set in the 80s, the theme and performance of Michael J Fox is worth applauding.
Old 11th May 2013, 14:38   #5130

Side Effects -

What a stunner of a movie. 5/5.

Please watch it if not watched already. Has a good star cast too - Channing Tatum, Catherine Zeta Jones, Jude Law.