Old 30th September 2008, 09:56   #16

Originally Posted by ballkey View Post
I think this thread needs to be knocked off. Or atleast hidden till there's something declared.
After declaring ? what will you go and withdraw, even i heard ICICI is going in a bad situation. could be a bankrupcy as few of my friends where in the banking industry were mentioning about ICICI.
Old 30th September 2008, 09:59   #17

Originally Posted by suvi View Post
If the total amount of money you have with ICICI bank (SB + FD) is < 1 lakh, do not bother to withdraw. It is insured by a department of RBI.
I personally don't think any Indian bank will become bankrupt owing to American crisis.
Learn something new everyday.
Team-BHP rocks.

btw I did withdraw money from the icici ATM on Banjara Hills Rd #1.
No crowds or any problems with the atm.
Time was about 5 PM.
Old 30th September 2008, 10:01   #18

Its rumor.
I think, ICICI bank is tasting its own meal. They had bankrupted some credit card holders and now they are facing same problem them self though it is rumor.
Old 30th September 2008, 10:16   #19

AFAIK, Its nothing but a rumor. Its the biggest private sector bank in India & IIRC, the second largest banking institution in India, after SBI. If this bank goes down, one can very well imagine the way our economy is headed. American economy crisis or no crisis.

I do have large amounts of money in ICICI Bank S/B accounts & I don't see any reason for panicking.

P.S. I don't have any other association with ICICI other than being a regular customer.

How ever its possible that they may have done some things to avoid cash withdrawals from their systems as Its the half yearly ending for all banks today & they do want to present the markets some good balance sheets & enough liquid funds in hand to acquit themselves from the rumors floating around daily.
Old 30th September 2008, 10:26   #20

This is the second time I heard this. This is purely a rumour. Earlier also the strategy of the bank was to make sure people could withdraw cash, etc.
Old 30th September 2008, 10:32   #21

Guys, why should we be instrumental in spreading rumors, after all nothing is concrete. Just hearsay, should not be given importance IMHO.

Mods don't you think that this thread need to be locked until and unless someone has concrete proof?
Old 30th September 2008, 10:37   #22
evo

Bah. I`m quite sure these are unfounded. Infact it may be time to buy ICICI Stock!
Old 30th September 2008, 10:53   #23

Yes suvi is right, If any bank is closing down and if money is more than 1 lacs. then one need to think about withdrawing, Untill 1 lac. money is safe in every Bank since its insured.

ICICI Bank Bankruptcy is nothing new. That Bank is known for that multiple times. Community (group) who floated that bank came from Manipal finance (thats what people telling few years back and when I checked with many trusted circle, they said yes) which has shut down after collecting huge cash from all type of people, I know few daily wages workers invested and lost money, but rich people who invested crores got their money back, This is India!!

Finance Ministry says Indian Banks are safe does that mean only PSU Banks or private bank ? Very confusing statements for sure.

Ravi.

PS My gut feeling is it would not go Bankrupt but panic/rumor will create investors withdraw money and Bank will save on paying huge interest and end up with paying less so its loss will come down. Next day when people realize its rumor they again withdraw in more quantity hence Bank will receive more investments.

Last edited by ravibhat : 30th September 2008 at 11:02.
Old 30th September 2008, 10:54   #24

I have heard from an unreliable source that Rakhi Sawant might also be going bankrupt because of the Brothers Lehmann. She had close relations with them.
Old 30th September 2008, 10:58   #25

I for one dont mind taking part in this self fulfilling prophesy. I wouldnt mind seeing these unethical ****'s ruined.
I'm planning to move all my balance to dad's nationalized bank account ( better safe than sorry )
EDIT: from what i've read about sub prime lending , pretty much sounds like what ICICI does, so event if it might not be imminent, I'm not sure about the long term

Last edited by greenhorn : 30th September 2008 at 11:01.
Old 30th September 2008, 11:01   #26

I don't think we should worry, as I was talking to some in ICICI Insurance they said, yes Bank lost 600+ crores of Rs because of Lehman, but this is one quater earning for ICICI. Even if they lost it no worry.
Old 30th September 2008, 11:02   #27

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
I'm planning to move all my balance to dad's nationalized bank account ( better safe than sorry )
If that doesn't work out, let me know- I'll PM you my account number.
Old 30th September 2008, 11:04   #28

This is absolulty rubbish. I was a part of ICICI Bank the last few times that this has happened and nothing absolutly nothing was wrong. I dont know why people insist on creating such rumors. Just because they have an exposure to subprime, which by the way is less than 0.1% of its balance sheet people start such rumors. Please dont believe such things.

Disclaimer: I am not a part of ICICI Bank or any of its subsidarys for the last two years. I have no interest in the company.
Old 30th September 2008, 11:06   #29

Originally Posted by car_crazy1400 View Post
the second largest banking institution in India, after SBI. If this bank goes down, one can very well imagine the way our economy is headed.
It doesnt reflect on Indian Economy, but on the way ICICI has conducted its business. Giving indiscriminate loans without any hope of recovering them will drive any bank to its knees.

I do have large amounts of money in ICICI Bank S/B accounts & I don't see any reason for panicking.
Other people are not as level-headed as you. When the majority of people try to withdraw their savings from the bank, the bank goes down, as was mentioned earlier, in a Self-fulfilling prophecy.

How ever its possible that they may have done some things to avoid cash withdrawals from their systems as Its the half yearly ending for all banks today & they do want to present the markets some good balance sheets & enough liquid funds in hand to acquit themselves from the rumors floating around daily.
That is quite possible. However, in Kerala, there was a news item saying that ICICI cheques had been bouncing. It was in a local paper and I think it was 2 days ago. Since I dont have an account with, I didnt bother to see what type of cheques were bouncing and that too from which branch. ( I think it was in Ernakulam )

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
I have heard from an unreliable source that Rakhi Sawant might also be going bankrupt because of the Brothers Lehmann. She had close relations with them.
She needn't worry. She already knows how to dress herself in minimal clothing.

Originally Posted by mav2000 View Post
This is absolulty rubbish. I was a part of ICICI Bank the last few times that this has happened and nothing absolutly nothing was wrong.
ICICI was handed a bailout by a public sector bank a few years ago. It was not made public and I have no corroborating details. But high level bank employees of the PSU bank knows.

ps: ICICI can just come out with a public announcement that they are all right. That will calm people down much quickly than if this thread is locked.

Last edited by srijit : 30th September 2008 at 11:09.
Old 30th September 2008, 11:13   #30

ICICI has burnt its fingers badly in the recent subprime crisis, there isn't a doubt that their financial standing has been dented. Their local credit is of equal concern what with their policy of giving loans to just about anyone.

Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
Call me Mr. Conservative but that's exactly what I have been practicing for the last couple of years. Substantial deposits = Only in nationalised banks. And even that is spread out across a couple of different institutions. I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com