26 - 50% -- I have a few stocks. 558 44.71%
51 - 75% -- I'm an active trader. 205 16.43%
76 - 100% -- Hey, I'm an i-banker!!! 83 6.65%
Voters: 1248. You may not vote on this poll

Search this Thread
Old 13th January 2016, 18:32   #3151
BHPian

Re: Do you play the stock market

What you guys think. Is it right time to take a contrarian call on banks, Specially SBI and ICICI. I know there is fear of NPA's but at current price point both these look interesting for long term say 5-10 years. I am thinking of starting SIP, like picking up 25 shares every time it goes down.

BTW is there a way to find out the % of corporate and retail lending for banks?

-Ijeet
Old 13th January 2016, 20:11   #3152
Distinguished - BHPian

I have been hearing about the market correction to a possible 7300 (Nifty). Anyone else who thinks a good correction is due?
Old 14th January 2016, 12:15   #3153
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by ijeet View Post
What you guys think. Is it right time to take a contrarian call on banks, Specially SBI and ICICI. I know there is fear of NPA's but at current price point both these look interesting for long term say 5-10 years. I am thinking of starting SIP, like picking up 25 shares every time it goes down.

BTW is there a way to find out the % of corporate and retail lending for banks?

-Ijeet
I had the same feeling...based on this simple valuation model:

http://valumonics.com/wp-content/upl...anks-worth.pdf

Comments are appreciated!

SBI Valuation based on this model: (using Sep Qrtr data)

Deposits NPAs Value Number of Shares Value Per Share
15,76,793.24 56,834.28 179684.70 746.57 240.6803193

Last edited by Ferrari1976 : 14th January 2016 at 12:19. Reason: formatting
Old 14th January 2016, 12:36   #3154
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by swiftnfurious View Post
I have been hearing about the market correction to a possible 7300 (Nifty). Anyone else who thinks a good correction is due?