Old 1st March 2025, 21:12   #1

No fuel for 15-year old motor vehicles in Delhi

The ban on 10/15 year old motor vehicles in Delhi and the NCR has been effective since December 2016. Now the newly appointed Environment Minister Manjinder Singh Sirsa of Delhi, today announced that vehicles older than 15 years will not be provided fuel at petrol pumps from March 31. To ensure clean air (the AQI touches 400-500 during winter months) restrictions on older vehicles, mandatory anti-smog measures, and the transition to electric public transport were among the issues discussed. The CNG buses will all be replaced with electric buses by December 2025 he said

Apart from fuel supply restrictions, all high-rise buildings, hotels, and commercial complexes in Delhi will be required to install anti-smog guns to curb air pollution levels according to the Minister.

"We are installing gadgets at petrol pumps which will identify vehicles older than 15 years, and no fuel will be provided to them," Sirsa said, adding that the Union Ministry of Petroleum will also be informed about the decision.
Back to the topic, we have heard of "no petrol to be given to bikers without helmets" proposal in many states in 2019-2020 where the petrol pump owners protested and the decision was withdrawn. They said its not their job to penalise riders with no petrol, but the job of the law enforcers.

No helmet no petrol thread:-
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/ride-...-8-2020-a.html (Not wearing a helmet? You won't get petrol in Kolkata from December 8, 2020)

It will be interesting to observe how this no fuel for 15 year olds will work soon after its implemented, come 31.03.25.

Link for details:-
'No fuel to 15-year-old vehicles': Delhi government announces anti-pollution measures
http://dhunt.in/Zdu6q?s=a&uu=0x4a09defdfbda8a93&ss=pd
Source : "Hindustan Times" via Dailyhunt

Last edited by anjan_c2007 : 1st March 2025 at 21:14.
anjan_c2007 is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 1st March 2025, 23:17   #2

re: No fuel for 15-year old motor vehicles in Delhi

How do you identify a vehicle age in India? Is the registration plate a give away? Just asking as that is not always the case. E.g. In Belgium you have a personal registration plate, so the number moves with you from car to car.

In the Netherlands the registration plates are handed out based on the first date of registration in the Netherlands. Which means that my imported classic cars have registration from say 1997 as I imported my Alfa Spider in 1997. But it left the factory in 1986 and spend its first eleven years in the USA. So its much older as the registration p, ate would like you to believe.

How does this work in India? Is there a central database for vehicles from which they can pull this sort of data?

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2025, 00:32   #3

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
How do you identify a vehicle age in India? Is the registration plate a give away? Just asking as that is not always the case. E.g. In Belgium you have a personal registration plate, so the number moves with you from car to car.

In the Netherlands the registration plates are handed out based on the first date of registration in the Netherlands. Which means that my imported classic cars have registration from say 1997 as I imported my Alfa Spider in 1997. But it left the factory in 1986 and spend its first eleven years in the USA. So its much older as the registration p, ate would like you to believe.

How does this work in India? Is there a central database for vehicles from which they can pull this sort of data?

Jeroen
Well earlier, it would have been quite difficult.

The RC mentions the month and year of manufacturing the vehicle and anyone wanting to know the details would have to check the physical RC card.

However, today the parivahan app and many other apps provide the details by just dialling in the registration number.

Last edited by suhaas307 : 3rd March 2025 at 12:18. Reason: Spacing and formatting
robby0707 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2025, 00:42   #4

Folks I had a question,
Would converting my 16 year old petrol car to CNG by adding an aftermarket kit make it street legal in Delhi NCR?
Old 2nd March 2025, 02:17   #5

Originally Posted by PetrolHead2272 View Post
Folks I had a question,
Would converting my 16 year old petrol car to CNG by adding an aftermarket kit make it street legal in Delhi NCR?
I wish that was the case, but no.
bansal.sushant is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2025, 08:05   #6

These knee jerk announcement don't work especially in north India, to give you an example Kanpur DM announced no helmet no petrol for 2 wheeler, I saw one elderly person came without helmet, the salesman knew him, asked the guy with the helmet to lend him, he obliged and the old man got his gas

Who will implement this order? The minister? There will be some tamasha in the beginning, that's it.
Vinod_nair is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2025, 08:26   #7

Suffering from cancer and applying iodex on that swollen tumour.

The newly elected Delhi Govt needs to show action. So the least contributor to pollution - cars - make an easy target. Crop burning, construction, old trucks, dug up roads, dug up pavements that are never covered up and tiled over, are all ignored.

Pass me the iodex* please.

On the flip side if cars over 15 years are not permitted then refusing fuel is not out of step.

* no offense to the makers of iodex!!
V.Narayan is offline   (49) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2025, 09:44   #8

Re: No fuel for 15 year plus old motor vehicles in Delhi

How do you identify a vehicle age in India? Is the registration plate a give away?

If the HSRP was strictly implemented 10 years ago then the HSRP third registration plate (sticker on the front windshield) would have helped to identify the Car registration date and type of fuel (by the colour of the sticker). Two wheelers don't have this third registration plate.
Old 2nd March 2025, 10:06   #9

Re: No fuel for 15-year old motor vehicles in Delhi

Someone needs to give them a reality check, if the ban on 10/15 year old cars implemented 9 years back has done nothing in terms of improving AQI how will this help
VIN No is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2025, 10:35   #10

As Jeroen mentioned, it is practically impossible to ascertain the age of a vehicle just at a glance. Thus training pump handlers to follow this rule will be expensive, time consuming and not practical in the slightest as it will mean severely compromising on the time it takes to serve fuel to each vehicle. I feel these are just scare tactics to show political stance on this matter is not going to change. We really need to figure out a way to put pressure on these babus to make them conduct their corrupt activities in less obvious ways. Let car companies lobby all they want but come on who are you fooling be attributing severe pollution to 21st century cars? It is clearly unregulated construction practices, industrial waste and domestic cooking (daal tadka anyone?) that are to blame.
Old 2nd March 2025, 12:22   #11

Exactly it is not possible to identify a vehicle's age just by looking at it and let's not forget about bodyshell conversions going on these days which makes it even more difficult to ascertain true age of that vehicle.
One such example of a conversion :
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/modif...-legender.html (1st-gen Toyota Fortuner converted to a 2nd-gen Legender)
Old 2nd March 2025, 13:33   #12
PGA

I had never really grasped what was meant by ' Back to the Future' until now. The absence of common sense in the polity is plumbing to unimaginable depths, we are in Tughlaqian times, very akin to what was taught in school history and I foolishly believed that we had moved on from there long ago. This order comes at the heels of another proclamation by our erudite minister who has absolved us Punjabi farmers from causing air pollution in Delhi by stubble burning. So I am thoroughly lost, to celebrate and burn stubble or scratch the barrel to muster dough to buy another car as mine approaches 14 th year.

Anyways after 31 Mar, I am also going to be at the mercy of petrol pump attendent and like everything else I will need to shell out maybe another hundred to thank him for his benefaction that he may overlook his authority for a minute or two while I refuel my car.
PGA is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 2nd March 2025, 14:39   #13

Get a 10L jar of Bisleri or something alike. Go to the petrol pump. Fill it up. Problem solved. If there is a will there is a way.
Old 2nd March 2025, 15:56   #14

Jeroen
Yes, there is a central database from where one can pull this data.
but many policemen are not equipped with the necessary tablet to do so.

And its impractical to do so for every vehicle, at every petrol pump, in Delhi 24/7.

There is no other method to ascertain the age of the vehicle.
Old 2nd March 2025, 18:17   #15

If they really wanted pollution to be reduced, why don't they ban sale of all non electric two, three and four wheelers in Delhi? Instead of tormenting all existing car owners, this would be a better solution I guess. Over a period of 2 to 3 years, it would make much difference to the environment than what we have seen in the last 9 years of mindless restrictions.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com