Originally Posted by Aviator_guy I have been contemplating this insurance for me and family. If you don't mind sharing, could you please share more details about policy /company etc. |
After I realised that I needed to buy a separate health insurance policy with a larger sum assured around the beginning of 2021, I read a few blogs, reviews, and e-books online to understand the details of health insurance and available options.
The next question was how much sum assured do we need for a family of 3? There was no straight answer as it depends on individual lifestyle and affordability. In most cases, the probability of claiming the insurance increases in one’s 40s and 50s. Since I was early 30s, the probability of I am claiming the insurance would be around 10 years from today.
For example, if I buy a policy with a sum assured of 10 lakhs today, due to inflation, that 10 lakhs will be worth approximately 3.85 lakhs in 10 years (with 10% inflation rate). Would 3.85 lakhs be sufficient for a family of three? I felt it may not be sufficient. At the same time, I could not afford a policy with a sum assured of 25 to 50 lakhs as it would be too expensive.
Also, one might argue that we can increase the sum assured later when we need it. But the problem is that after few years if one of the insured members in the policy develops health issues, it will be difficult to increase the sum assured. Because the decision to increase the sum assured lies with the insurance company and is subject to the health condition of all members insured in the policy. If in case if there is any health issue, they might reject the request to increase the sum assured. Due to inflation, it is important to buy a large sum assured when we are young and gradually increase it to decent sum assured. It will help us as we age.
This is when I came across the super top-up policy. This will help us to reduce the premium while still allowing us to buy policy with larger sum assured. We can find lot of information about super top-up policies online. So please refer the same to understand more about it.
I decided to buy a 1 crore sum assured with a 10 lakhs base and a 90 lakhs super top-up policy. I started searching to shortlist the insurance policy by considering the below points:
- No room rent limit
- No co-pay
- No geo limit
- Good claim ratio
- Good networking hospitals
- Lesser waiting period for pre-existing diseases
- Reasonable premium
I shortlisted the following 3 insurance policies:
- Star health:
- Base: Comprehensive Health Policy
- Super top-up: Super Surplus Insurance Policy
- HDFC Ergo:
- Base: Optima Secure
- Super top-up: my:health Medisure
- MaxBupa:
- Base: ReAssure
- Super top-up: Health Recharge
I rejected Star Health because it had a single private AC room rent limit and the premium was expensive. HDFC Ergo did not offer a 90 lakh super top-up plan.
Also, in 2011, IRDIA had issued guidelines on portability of health insurance policies that we can port our policy to any insurer. The new insurer would provide the benefit relating to waiting period for pre-existing conditions that we have gained with the old insurer and also provide the sum assured of old policy.
Please find the complete rules at
https://irdai.gov.in/web/guest/docum...umentId=368747
The goal was to buy a large sum assured with a lower premium that provides all the important features as we can always port to another insurer later due to the portability rule. So, we decided to go with MaxBupa health insurance because it offered no room limit, no co-pay, a lower premium, and a decent claim ratio.
Base policy: NaviBupa ReAssure 2.0 (MaxBupa was changed to NaviBupa recently)
https://www.nivabupa.com/family-heal...insurance.html
Super Top-Up: NaviBupa Health Recharge
https://www.nivabupa.com/family-heal...y-floater.html
As of today, I paid following premiums:
When I was renewing my policy this year, they gave me the option to upgrade from Reassure 1.0 to Reassure 2.0 with an additional 5 lakh increase in the base policy sum insured. Since I was blessed with a 2nd daughter this year, I upgraded the policy and this upgrade increased the premium amount. Also, since I crossed 35 years age, the premium amount increased further. The new Reassure 2.0 provides the following additional features:
- ReAssure "Forever": First claim paid triggers ReAssure, forever. It is unlimited.
- Each claim under ReAssure "Forever" will be up to Base Sum Insured.
- Lock the Clock: Pay premiums as per your entry age, till a claim is paid.
If you read reviews online about health insurance policies, all of them have positive and negative reviews. I do not have personal experience with claiming super top-up policy, nor have I heard anything from my friends or close circle. We will know only when we try to claim. After buying a policy with larger sum assured, we will have the following 3 options:

- Pray that we do not face a situation where we need to claim the policy.
- Hope that the insurance company will approve the claim when we really need it.
- Get rich enough not to worry about claiming the insurance.
I hope this helps you.
Originally Posted by dearchichi 5. I've never understood the reasoning for emergency funds. Having MFs that allow for quick redemption, a month's expenses in the SB account and credit cards with a high aggregate limit should suffice for any eventuality. |
Consider this situation: If the market crashes like during the COVID time and we get an emergency, would we be comfortable selling our mutual fund units at a loss? Or if we lose our job due to a layoff and don't find another job for 6 months to a year, would we be comfortable selling our MF units?
We cannot predict when or what kind of emergency we might face. It is always better to set aside 6 months to 1 years of expenses in non-equity assets.