Old 14th November 2024, 10:05   #16

Re: The 2024 Anti-Virus software thread | Which anti-virus for Windows 11?

I have been using Kaspersky for the past 12 years and it really protects you from vulnerabilities.
Rajjay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 10:07   #17

I have been using Quickheal Total Security for the last three years.
The 2024 Anti-Virus software thread | Which anti-virus for Windows 11?-qh.jpg

Before that, I used to have Norton 360
skanchan95 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 10:13   #18

I agree with others here that MS Defender takes care of most of the vulnerabilities and I have personally not used any other antivirus software for the past 5+ years. But, if you really want one, go with Bitdefender and you will be good.

You can also use a privacy and security focused DNS like Quad9 to take care of the known malware on the web.
asifnkhan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 10:18   #19

You don't really need one; Microsoft Defender is more than enough. Just remember to run updates regularly, and you should be good to go.
MotoBlip is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 10:39   #20

Windows defender is good enough. You do not need any other paid software. Also turn on ransomware protection.
vaibhavyagnik is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 10:42   #21

I've been using BitDefender Total Security for around 5 years now. I agree that one doesn't really need a paid antivirus these days with the presence of the built-in Windows Security app, assuming your online visits are within the boundaries of safe websites. However, if you do a lot of surfing beyond these parameters, it helps to have a good antivirus. In my case, it makes sense because I have 10 BitDefender licenses that I can use across my Windows and Android devices. It comes with a lot of protections for your system, email, against cryto-mining, ransomware, antispam, etc. There's also built-in VPN, password manager, and other utilities. But my main satisfaction comes with installing it for my parents - they are in their eighties and end up clicking whatever their fingers come across . I have trained them to back away whenever they get the BitDefender warning instead of forcing their way through, an as a result, they have not had any issues with their phones in a long time. That for me, is the biggest win. Yes, I know it is not sticking to the question of Windows devices, but it is a great all-round multi-solution device, including for Windows And their support is great too!
Bombastic is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 10:53   #22

Which is the best anti-virus in 2024 for Windows 11? Any recommendations?
The built-in Windows defender is more than enough. In my company we haven't bought anti-virus software in more than a decade now. All these third-party anti-virus and anti-malware protection just makes the system too slow.

If you want to protect whole bunch of machines in the office, use hardware firewall like Sonicwall, which provides all kind of anti-virus and anti-malware protection at the firewall level right after the router.
Samurai is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 11:29   #23

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support: The use of*AI / ChatGPT is strictly prohibited on Team-BHP. Do NOT use AI / ChatGPT to compose your posts, or even enhance the language of your written material.

On Team-BHP, we take pride in our original thoughts, opinions & content. Kindly type out only your own ideas, comments & language.*Do not use AI software to even rewrite your post or tweak its language.

We strongly advise you to visit our forum rules section again.

Last edited by GTO : 15th November 2024 at 13:21.
ohaak is offline   Received Infraction
Old 14th November 2024, 11:38   #24

Don't complicate it, especially as it's a single-user SOHO scenario. Windows Defender is just fine.
bhairavp is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 15:16   #25

Am in the minority, but I love Microsoft Windows 11! Have customised it a bit (e.g. expanded right-click menu) and find it to be just as user-friendly as Windows 10. With many nicer features to boot.

Which is the best anti-virus in 2024 for Windows 11? Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance!
Use the default Defender or Windows Security along with the Windows Firewall. It is good enough. Coupled with proper security manners, you won't need a paid security software. Most of them slow down the PC further.
peddagunda is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 16:29   #26

I have a preference for Norton 360 and have been using their services for more than a decade now.

I will go against the flow here and suggest having a good antivirus software in the computer considering the rapid rates at which cyber threats are advancing. In fact, I use norton in my phones as well and have not faced any significant slowing down issues so far.

The full suite of the software has several useful features including backup and software updation suggestions for out of date softwares.

Do give it a try.
pareekvirendra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 16:44   #27

I have been using Norton 360 for a few years now, and I have a license for 10 devices. I have it installed on all the laptops and android phones in the family. It also comes with VPN which starts up automatically if I connect to unprotected WiFi networks. It is also possible to monitor kids' activities, but I don't use this functionality anymore.
StarrySky is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th November 2024, 17:04   #28

Windows Defender is great for general use. Other antiviruses just slow your pc down and make use of your data without adding extra functionality.

I would suggest using Malwarebytes for difficult situations - infected pen drives/ if there's something which cannot be cleaned by windows Defender.
Old 14th November 2024, 18:10   #29

I have used several anti-virus softwares including Bitdefender, Norton, Avast, Kaspersky and ended up sticking to the built-in anti-virus. All the other anti-virus softwares slow down your computer which only gets worse over time. The built-in anti-virus gets the job done perfectly without any issues.
Old 14th November 2024, 21:38   #30

I've been a Kaspersky Internet Security user since the last 15 years, and it hasn't let me down once, cause when I was a teenager I tried every other anti viruses out there and got stuck to either Kaspersky or BitDefender, whereas the later consumes a lot of resources and would slow down your system, so I make sure to buy a licensed copy of KIS every three years.

I've a company MACBook and they advise to have Malwarebytes installed, just in case. But, apart from that if one doesn't get too deep in the web, Windows Defender should do the job.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com