Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 26th July 2023, 14:12   #1

Where do you "park" your smartphone while driving?

Hi All, a newbie here!

I recently 'upgraded' from a 3rd Gen 2010 Honda City iVTEC to a facelifted 2023 Hyundai Venue SX(O) DCT. One of the things I was over annoyed with my Honda City (among others) was the placement of the cup holders, which was so close to the center console, that it was impossible to keep even a 1 litre bottle there. On the flip side, the placement of the cup holders ensured that the usual place for cup holders, between the gear knob and the hand brake was free, and I bought a seat gap filler that allowed me the space to keep my mobile phone down while driving.

Fast forward to the Venue. I retained the seat gap filler while selling my City and have been using it in my Venue. However, the placement of the cup holders in my Venue ensures that whenever I put the gap filler, it occupies a large chunk of space above the cup holders, thus again making it impossible to keep a water bottle there.

So, my simple question here is, what is your most preferred position to keep your phone while driving? I do assume that a lot of folks use a mobile mount, but with the advent of Android Auto and Apple Car Play, and most recent cars featuring that, I suppose the use for a phone mount is going down (and I for sure don't want to clog either my windscreen or dashboard with one), but what about the rest? And, where do you keep your phone when you are connected to your entertainment system with a wire for AA or CarPlay?
sidsden is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 26th July 2023, 16:59   #2
GTO
Team-BHP Support

Re: Where do you "park" your smartphone while driving?