Old 1st June 2022, 00:36   #1

Legendary singer KK passes away

I generally don't create such threads, but I am compelled to today. I think the tragic news of the man's passing would have already reached all of you, but I wanted to compile a list of some songs of his which really resonated with me. You guys also please go ahead and add to it. Let's make sure none of his songs go unnoticed.

I will leave the rest of it to you guys. I am sure there's tonnes more to add here! I grew up listening to KKs songs. I still have fond memories of his songs playing on my Dad's Opel Corsa and Ford Ikon cassette players. The man had a Midas touch. Even an otherwise mediocre movie would gain fame thanks to his voice in the songs.

And I think its also a well known fact that if K.K, Pritam and Emraan Hashmi collaborated, it was history in the making. There was no way the album would go unnoticed.

Rest in peace K.K. You will always be missed. You have left a void that cannot be filled.

As a tribute to K.K, please add your favorite songs and a memory associated with them.

Last edited by vishy76 : 1st June 2022 at 00:40.
vishy76 is online now   (80) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 00:50   #2

re: Legendary singer KK passes away

Back in 2008, when I was 7 years old, Jannat had just released and the song "Zara Sa" was played on every major radio station, be it Radio Mirchi, red FM,etc. Being the bollywood fan(read fanatic)that I am, I wanted to propose to my future girlfriend by singing Zara Sa, although I have fond memories attached to every song of his but can't remember them on the top of my head.

Rest In Peace KK. You will be greatly missed
KK2001 is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 01:18   #3

We have lost a gem of the modern times. Such a brilliant and versatile singer who enamoured us with so many memorable songs. He arrived on the scene through his debut album PAL which is by far the best debut album by a solo artist in my view in the modern era. Songs like Pal, Yaaron will remain with us forever.

In the movies, he has given so many brilliant songs and most of them are with Pritam. The songs of most of the Emran Hashmi movies, Life in a Metro and so many, some of which has been listed above already. But my personal favourites are some of these :

Tu Aashiqui Hai from Jhankar Beats

Tadap Tadap ke from Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam

Hai Junoon from New York

Maine Dil Se Kaha from Rog

Rest in Peace KK, you have left a deep void.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 01:24   #4

Oh my god! This is shocking!

The music industry has lost one of its stalwarts.

For anyone who attended college in the early 2000s, KK is synonymous with “Yaaron”.

May god give strength to the family to cope with this loss.
Dry Ice is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 02:05   #5

I'm still in disbelief over whatever has happened. Just few days ago I was contemplating going to one of his concerts in a convenient place and mind you, I'm not the kind who'd generally attend such things but this man's songs just make everything seem worth it. Go over his list of songs and you'll only find good music. Wow, still trying to sink this in. I'm not sure if any other such recent occasion moved me personally.
RIP legend.

Mentioning two (other) songs that I really like-

Tu Hi Meri Shab Hai-

Sach Keh Raha Hai-

Last edited by @og_adi : 1st June 2022 at 02:12.
@og_adi is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 03:17   #6

As put through melodiously by the legend himself:

"Aane waali subah jaane rang kya laaye deewanee,
Meri chaahat ko rakh lena jaise koi nishani,
Hum rahen ya na rahen yaad aayenge ye pal..."

You were the first ever artist I experienced live on stage, the one to get me seriously into guitar and music, the one to help me tide through those difficult lonely times, the one to help me discover it all, all over again.

Your voice was love, personified! Gone too soon... only to live on forever!
Herschey is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 07:58   #7

Re: Legendary singer KK passes away

R.I.P. KK. What a talent, a life lost too young.

BHPians in their 40s & 50s, please be sure to read this thread (Middle-aged gents & heart attacks | Bird Automotive boss passes away at just 48).
GTO is offline   (19) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 08:20   #8

RIP KK. What a sensational talent. Couldn’t even digest the news last night.

Some of my KK favourites that always are in my queues would be

AB10 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 08:47   #9

Heartbreaking news.
KK was sheer talent.

I am not sure if people know that he did not take any training in music !
Some people are just blessed musically. He was one of them.
download2live is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 09:17   #10

Yet another talent lost to a cardiac arrest! People with all the means and resources available at their disposal for a more than healthy lifestyle!

A senior director in my organization, suffered a stroke while driving on the Noida expressway and is now battling for life at a nearby hospital. He was fit as a fiddle, highly energetic and a role model at site. These incidents are reality checks: on the fragility of human life, and the medical community's admission that we really understand too little of Gods' most complex creation.

On the other hand, there has been discussions, that the Covid 19 and the shots, are indeed having side effects in least expected ways, such as these!! I do not know how true this is, but it is worth a debate!
lapis_lazuli is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 09:45   #11

My wife had attended his live performance during her college days. She had one major non-negotiable wish, that whenever KK is performing in our city, both of us together would attend it at any cost. And she was eagerly waiting for that day to come. Yesterday, she realised her dream would never ever come true.

May the departed soul rest in peace.
ashis89 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 10:05   #12

Originally Posted by lapis_lazuli View Post
Yet another talent lost to a cardiac arrest! These incidents are reality checks: on the fragility of human life, and the medical community's admission that we really understand too little of God's most complex creation.

On the other hand, there have been discussions, that the Covid 19 and the shots are indeed having side effects in the least expected ways, such as these!! I do not know how true this is, but it is worth a debate!
A very great loss to the music industry, but it is not an uncertain end for any living being. A friend of mine a well-known child psychologist always says that in medical terms it is very difficult to have a natural death for a human being. As you have mentioned we are god's most complex creation.
deehunk is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 10:13   #13

Sad news. Here is one in Kannada:
msdivy is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 11:12   #14

While I do love listening to Lindsay Buckingham (Fleetwod Mac), Gordon Sumner (The Police), Klaus Meine (Scorpions), Mark Knopfler (Dire Straits) & company, I have a very special corner for our own KK. He was full of energy, both on & off stage. The man's energy was electrifying and contagious!

I recall 2 occasions, which have been etched as fond memories forever:-

1). It was 2008 and I had purchased tickets for a Pune concert (Bollywood leading singer back then). However due to a a last minute cancellation from that singer, the organizing committee (MBA school) reached out to KK to perform and he graciously accepted. KK was known to be close to student community in general (his songs reflect that emotion) and on occasions like these, he helped them out

2). Exactly a decade later, KK had come down to Pune again and performed LIVE. I was lucky to get tickets in time, and witnessed yet another scintillating performance.

Couple of pics from that concert:

Legendary singer KK passes away-kk2.jpg

Legendary singer KK passes away-kk1.jpg

RIP KK. #VoiceOfLove.
JoshMachine is offline   (14) Thanks
Old 1st June 2022, 11:32   #15

This has been devastating for me, personally. KK performed live in one of my friend's start up in Bangalore last month, and I missed it by a whisker and now comes this news. His voice is something that I'd call the voice of emotions.
Let the almighty give his family the strength to cope up with the demise.

Its hard to pick a specific track of his, but this track with Harris Jayaraj's brilliant programming, remastered by the ace sound engineer Sreejesh Nair is one of my favourite.

jeeva is offline   (6) Thanks