Old 16th February 2009, 15:36   #2626

Hary, why didn't you stop midway ? lol
Old 16th February 2009, 15:44   #2627

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Salman - Overact as usual (how can he be compared to Shahrukh and Aamir, they are 1000% better than him in everthing as now they have six packs also like him)
How can Shahrukh be compared to Aamir?
Also, though I am not a Salmaan fan, I prefer him to Shahrukh anyday.
Old 16th February 2009, 15:46   #2628

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Well as they say different strokes for different Folks I seem to have had an overdose of Priyan's comedy & hence none of his recent flicks could make me laugh :(

But yes MMW certainly had more funny scenes than BB
Hera Pheri I is till king as far as Priyan is concerned. Even Hungama was quite likeable
Old 16th February 2009, 16:00   #2629

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
Hera Pheri I is till king as far as Priyan is concerned. Even Hungama was quite likeable
Exactly, that is the reason those movies are shown repeatedly on tv. Another one, added last year to this continous re-run torture is "No Entry" which i found funny in every frame ( which is second only to Hera Pheri 1) and I found Anil Kapoor at his funniest best in this movie.

I still ROFL when he says " Be Positive Yaar" and when in the end an exasperated Fardeen asks him " Bhai Saab, you keep saying be positive, what exactly is this be positive" and a cheeky grin reply from Anil Kapoor " It's my blood group yaar". Hilarious stuff.

Originally Posted by carboy View Post
Same here. I like Salman more than SRK, his comic timing is superb. However, SRK's quivering voice seemed to have taken our nation and the globe by storm.
Old 16th February 2009, 16:05   #2630

Why not. yes Shahrukh is more commercial but he is highly talented and movies like Swades and Chak de are a proof if he can do intense stuff as easily as he does the other ones.
Infact i would love to see someone getting Shahrukh and Aamir in one frame and add Mr. Bacchan as well into the movie and wow we got a powerhouse of talent.

Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Hary, why didn't you stop midway ? lol
Eddy i had some time to kill on hand and was kinda curious how much more pathetic it can get
Old 16th February 2009, 16:11   #2631

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Exactly, that is the reason those movies are shown repeatedly on tv. Another one, added last year to this continous re-run torture is "No Entry" which i found funny in every frame ( which is second only to Hera Pheri 1) and I found Anil Kapoor at his funniest best in this movie.

I still ROFL when he says " Be Positive Yaar" and when in the end an exasperated Fardeen asks him " Bhai Saab, you keep saying be positive, what exactly is this be positive" and a cheeky grin reply from Anil Kapoor " It's my blood group yaar". Hilarious stuff.
Yep I too loved the intial ones like Hera Pheri, Hungama Hulchul etc but the last ones like Malamaal Weekly, the Govinda & Akshaye kumar starer flick & Billu just couldn't make me laugh beyond a scene or two :|

Yeah No entry was a good one
Old 16th February 2009, 16:54   #2632

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Why not. yes Shahrukh is more commercial but he is highly talented and movies like Swades and Chak de are a proof if he can do intense stuff as easily as he does the other ones.
Who cares about what he can do? I am more worried what he actually
does. And in my opinion, he does mostly unadulterated, repetitive rubbish. I
can't stand him. I haven't watched a Shahrukh Khan movie on the screen
for more than 5 years now. And in the last 10 years, I probably would have
watched maybe one or maximum two of his movies on screen. I wouldn't do
so now even I got a free ticket. I don't even watch his stuff on TV. Just
watching the trailers & songs make me cringe. I used to like him till DDLJ -
he went downhill after that.

Including video/TV, I think I must have watched maybe 3 or 4 of his films
in the last 10 years.

And FWIW, I almost only watch commercial cinema - very rarely do I watch
arty movies. My favourite movies are hardcore commercial movies - DDLJ is
one of my favourite movies.
Old 16th February 2009, 17:12   #2633

Donkey Punch - Erotic thriller ,need i say more.
On a more serious note the movie starts well ,but in the end it becomes very predictable.
The music/soundtrack is nice though.

2/5

Rock n Rolla - Wasted 2 hrs of my life watching this movie.
Seriously Overrated.
Old 16th February 2009, 18:32   #2634

Who cares about what he can do? I am more worried what he actually
does. And in my opinion, he does mostly unadulterated, repetitive rubbish. I
can't stand him. I haven't watched a Shahrukh Khan movie on the screen
watched maybe one or maximum two of his movies on screen. I wouldn't do

in the last 10 years.

And FWIW, I almost only watch commercial cinema - very rarely do I watch
arty movies. My favourite movies are hardcore commercial movies - DDLJ is
one of my favourite movies.
To an extent i agree with you. I dont like a major part of his work too, however when he does good work i will appreciate and that goes for any actor. Even for Mr. Bacchan, most of his recent work was all but crap (specialy that Aag movie)
The only dependable actor i like seeing is Aamir khan(though Ghajjini was not as good as i expected he acted brilliantly IMO)
Sadly he is not acting for a whole one year so we have to make do with the rest!
Old 16th February 2009, 19:08   #2635

Loved Marley and Me. Great Movie. Especially for Dog lovers.
Old 17th February 2009, 00:31   #2636

I haven't watched a Shahrukh Khan movie on the screen
watched maybe one or maximum two of his movies on screen.

I wouldn't do

in the last 10 years.
Dude ... These are too harsh words ... Shahrukh has done very good work in Chak De and Swadesh. Even I did not like his recent movie Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi but Shahrukh as Suri did a decent job. I remember in an interview Mr Senior Bachhan said if he had to do a role as a new age hero then he would prefer to do Swadesh. I am not a Shahrukh Khan fan but still you can definitely watch his movies with a free ticket. Trust me. . May be you missed Chak De in theaters.

As far as Salman Vs Shahrukh goes, dont remember Salman did any outstanding roles in any movies in last 5 years which will remain in memory. He was good in Tere Naam though. I prefer not to compare 2 actors but to me Salman has not lived upto his reputation in last 5 years.
Old 17th February 2009, 09:40   #2637

There is no point in blaming Priyadarshan. If any non-Malayalis wants to see good humour just grab the original Malayalam DVDs(with subtitles) of all the films made by Priyadarshan till date.

And also watch carefully the subtitles since Malayalam films are always dialogue intensive and not slapstick comedy oriented.
Old 17th February 2009, 09:57   #2638

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Yep I too loved the intial ones like Hera Pheri, Hungama Hulchul etc but the last ones like Malamaal Weekly, the Govinda & Akshaye kumar starer flick & Billu just couldn't make me laugh beyond a scene or two :|

Yeah No entry was a good one

Who can forget Andaaz Apna Apna? What a movie !!! I dont understand how it flopped at the box office but it is by far one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. I still laugh my guts out everytime the movie is re run on TV. I watch it every time. The characters in the movie are crazy and you can never forget them. Teja, Raabert, Bhalla, Amar Prem and of course Crime Master Gogo. Not one dull moment in AAA.
Old 17th February 2009, 10:02   #2639

When A Man Loves a Woman:
Starring Andy Garcia and Meg Ryan.

But looking at the title and the cast, don't jump to the conclusion that it is one of those romantic mushy mushy feel good all the way type of a movie. Meg Ryan plays an alcoholic wife of airline pilot, played by Andy Garcia. The movie is about how alcoholism affects a family. And it does not end with Meg deciding to go clean. In fact thats where the movie really starts.

There have been tons of movies with the familiar line of addiction: how it starts, the lowest low and ends with some moving moment where the hero decides to give up addiction. There have also been a few movies showing clinical effects of withdrawal.

But this movie shows that giving up is not that easy on the whole family. Another thing about the movie is that there is no hero or villain in the film. The two main characters have their flaws which makes them more human than fiction.

I havent seen Meg Ryan act so well in any other movie. The speech that she gives near the end of the movie will make your eyes wet. She is that good.

Watch it if you want a dose of reality about the other side of an addiction.
Old 17th February 2009, 12:04   #2640

Originally Posted by Dippy
Who can forget Andaaz Apna Apna? What a movie !!!
You bet it was the best & cleanest Comedy ever even Hera Pheri had some slap stick comedy but not AAA.

Long time back I saw Aamir Khan's interview where he said that he doesnt consider it a flop as almost everyone has seen the movie its just that they didnt see it in the movie hall

Btw I now have 3 copies of AAA(One set of copied CD, one original set & one on HDD & all three from different sources)

Amitoj- Its one of my favorite movies brilliant story & excellent performances by Andy Garcia & Meg Ryan. I simply loved that movie. Trying to get a copy since some time but unable to :(

Last edited by Technocrat : 17th February 2009 at 12:06.