Team-BHP > Shifting gears
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 16th February 2022, 20:02   #1
BHPian

My experience with a mini-stroke | Transient Ischemic Attack

Hello to all,

I have been a member of this forum for 6+ years now. I feel privileged to be part of this forum where a variety of non-automotive topics are discussed. I never imagined that I will be starting one such thread; moderators please do feel free to merge this in any other related / suitable thread.

This post will be about my suspected TIA (transient ischemic attack) episode that I suffered over the weekend and from whose after effects I am yet to recover fully.

I am 38 years old male, non smoker, non alcoholic, gaining weight but not yet overweight. The only ailment I suffer from is asthma. I did get infected by COVID-19 in December 2020, and possibly the Omicron in January 2022 (didn't bother to get tested).

I am a doctor (MBBS) by qualification but I left the field long back and pursued an MBA in finance after which I joined the company in which I have been working since 2013. To describe it; a run of the mill "research and advisory" firm whose claims are far away from the reality. I know I shouldn't bad mouth my source of income but I wanted to just vent my feeling anyways.

Coming to my illness, let me gradually build my story. I will try to be as brief as possible. Most of us employees have been working remotely since early 2020. Work has been very stressful, to put it politely. Long working hours, demanding clients, even more demanding bosses, slacking juniors (some not all) and the whole lot (I think most of you in service / consultancy will be aware of what I am trying to get at). Our company has been severely impacted by attrition (which is now being kept tightly under wraps) and the impact has been on the remaining team members (especially the sincere ones) who have to make up for the absence of others.