Old 8th July 2021, 16:25   #1

Procedure to get a Private Pilot's Licence in India

I've had this dream about 15 years ago but was told that people with spectacles or who have done LASIK can't fly, and I've never questioned that ... until now when I learned it's perfectly ok as long as they the person has full vision now. I figured I might as well try to get a private license to see if I'm lucky enough to enjoy this hobby (tried flight simulators, didn't cut it ).

I'm seeking a weekend learning option to get the license over a longer period than the usual 1 year training.

Any recommendations from BHPians on recommended sources to learn and get the SPL and PPL in Kerala? I found RAGAAT in Trivandrum, but they are not responding to emails or calls. I heard there's a RAGAAT centre in Kannur but I'm not able to find them online.

I also found Capt. Anuj Kulshreshtha who leads JAG Air, but they are not based in Kerala.

Any leads?
di1in is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 8th July 2021, 21:45   #2

re: Procedure to get a Private Pilot's Licence in India

I can’t comment on getting a PPL in India. I got mine in the USA when we lived and worked there.

Not sure what you did not like about flight simulator? Many private pilots, including me, use it extensively! Also, some of your training can be done on a simulator! Cheap, and very efficient

The USA is without a doubt the best place for getting and maintaining your PPL. There are hundreds of thousands GA pilots, endless airfield, excellent fasciliteert and cost is still reasonable.

Cost is of course a factor and that is why some people need to spread out the lessons over a longer period of time. However, training proficiency is all about doing it al lot. Two one hour sessions a month, is not as effective as two one hour sessions every week. You will learn much quicker.

There are still flight schools in the USA that will ensure you get a PPL in 2-3 weeks. Yes, it is likely more expensive than lessons in India, but it is extremely fulfilling.

Take a few lessons and see whether you really like it. There are plenty of aviation forums to join. Have a look and see if it appeals to you.

Flying, although it appeals to many, isn’t as easy and interesting as many would think. You need yo study very hard on the theoretical part. You need to stay proficient. Which means you need to fly considerable more than the legal minimum limits. I would try to fly at least 2-4 hours per week minimum. I would spend at least another 2-4 hours per week, Reading up on all sort of aviation topics. Flight preparation, even for a one hour flight could take easily 30-45 minutes.

Have a look here;

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/comme...ne-planes.html (Pre-flight planning & checks for flying single-engine planes)

We have several professional pilots and some very senior aviation industry executives on the forum. Feel free to ask some more specific question.

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (29) Thanks
Old 8th July 2021, 23:09   #3
RVD

Originally Posted by di1in View Post

I'm seeking a weekend learning option to get the license over a longer period than the usual 1 year training.
PPL does not take one year to complete. Are you sure you are not confusing PPL with CPL ? Also, is this purely for passion or do you intend on pursuing flying as a career going forward? Keep in mind that flying as a hobby is not cheap and in India, not very practical either. The number of operational flying schools are few and they usually have their hands full with their own full time students. Not saying that it cannot be done. Just that you are probably not going to enjoy the process.
RVD is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 8th July 2021, 23:18   #4

I was actually counting on @Jeroen to reply and bang comes the reply.
I myself too am a long term flying aspirant, never know when this will finally come true, but I have high hopes to make it true.
@di1in as captain mentioned here, it’s really good to start whichever way is available and keep building. Let us hope you get good Kerala leads soon.
I’m subscribing to the thread.
arpanjha is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th July 2021, 09:15   #5

Re: Procedure to get a Private Pilot's Licence in India

Learning how to fly is a lot more than the physical control of the aircraft. A fair amount of study of navigation, radio protocol, weather, rules etc needs to be studied and passed. As Jeroen says you'll have to be more intense in your first 100 hours than just once every other week to truly build your skill. The legal minimum is not a reference point. Plus it costs a lot. A good school, of which there are very few in India, would charge you around Rs 12 to 20 lakhs for the minimum needed to get your PPL. If you get a school that says the fees is say Rs 5 or 7 lakhs I would not recommend it. There are far too many corner cutters in India. I am not familiar with schools in the south so sorry I can't point you to any. Take a lot of time doing your research.
V.Narayan is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 9th July 2021, 10:51   #6

Following this thread very closely

A few years back I did a joyflight at a school in Jakkur (Bangalore) and they do private pilot training on a microlight plane. From memory the cost they mentioned was about 7k an hour. Cant remember the name of the school, but you may be able to go to the Jakkur aerodrome and ask around.

From what I understand, RAGAAT has an entrance test that happens once a year. I don't think they take students from outside this test process. And this may be a fulltime course.

I looked into converting my overseas PPL into an Indian one a few years back. I went thru an agent located in Secunderabad for this. Ended up not completing it though, as there was no published set procedure to do this at the time, it was a bit of a gamble. Also I felt a bit discouraged that even if I manage to get it, there aren't any flying clubs (that I could find) that would rent out a plane to a private pilot for personal flights. So that sortof kills the whole purpose of a PPL, not to mention it'd be difficult to keep the license current without regular flying.

Anyways, good luck, this indeed is a fun (albeit expensive) hobby.
hdus001 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th July 2021, 11:29   #7

Just a few more thoughts/comments:

Depending on your local regulation it will take a minimum of 40-45 hours to get a PPL. (Resp USA/EU limits). However, most people will take anywhere between 60-75 hours.

So, if you fly only 1 hours a week it is likely to take well over a year.

Again, I have no experience flying in India. I tried figuring it out when we arrived in India. I wanted to keep my proficiency going. But I found the whole process extremely confusing. Also, my wife had great concerns of me flying in India. So I got myself a vintage Royal Enfield Bullet. As you can imagine, my wife felt only marginally more comfortable with that.

Here is a good website with some useful information on obtaining a PPL in the UK. Although some of the details will be different ini India, it provide ample relevant information.

https://www.caa.co.uk/General-aviati...learn-to-fly-/

There are some noticeable difference between the US and EU PPL. E.g. in the US your PPL includes the use of radio, whereas in the EU, you need to take a separate exam for using the radio.

An US PPL gives you slightly more capabilities. (E.g. night flying) whereas in the EU you might be required to take additional tests/exams. So there are likely to be some difference with the Indian PPL requirements.

There are tonnes of Youtube video’s out there. Many (GA) pilots posting their flights. I really like this channel:

https://www.youtube.com/c/TheRenBaron/videos

What I like is that he talks you through what he is experiencing. He still sees every flight as a learning moment. Which is the only way to go about flying. The minute you think you know it all, seen it all, you are likely to become an unsafe pilot.

So learning to fly is a never ending story. Obtaining a PPL is just one of the many milestones.

There are also quite a few (English) magazines on the market. I prefer Flying Magazine (https://www.flyingmag.com ). When we lived in Delhi I could purchase it at several bookshops. They also do a very nice Facebook page where they share complete old articles.

Good luck, keep us posted on what you decide!

Jeroen
Jeroen is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 9th July 2021, 11:55   #8

Any recommendations from BHPians on recommended sources to learn and get the SPL and PPL in Kerala? I found RAGAAT in Trivandrum, but they are not responding to emails or calls. I heard there's a RAGAAT centre in Kannur but I'm not able to find them online.
Hello di1in,

The requirements for a Pilots license in India are governed by the DGCA, there are a few pre-requisites that one should qualify/look at before, will list down those

- X+2 Minimum qualification with Physics, Chemistry & Maths
- Class 2 Medically Fit, for CPL you need to be Class 1 fit
- For eyesight in particular, vision should be 6/6, there are also minimum height and weight requirements (but mostly advisory for PPL)
- Ground classes covering Air Regulations, Meteorology, Air Navigation, Aircraft Specifics and Aircraft Technical
- Basis the above ground classes, for PPL there is an Exam conducted by the DGCA (composite covering all subjects) these exams used to have negative marking when I was flying, not sure about now
- FRTOL (R) : Flight Radio Telephony Operators License (Restricted), this is a must for all Pilots to be able to use and operate VHF/UHF radios inflight
- Police Clearance
- Completion of Flight hours - 40hrs

Regarding speed, there is no preset number, it is purely dependent upon how fast can you cope with all the studies and then apply it towards Flying, mostly all flying clubs will give preference to those who have cleared their exam(s) for flying.

My suggestion would be to look for Private Institutions or Flying Clubs, who will assist you in getting the above organized.
Ground classes are a full time affair and there are Flight Instructors who take classroom sessions for the same.
But in most major cities there are Retired Pilots who conduct these classes on a tuition basis, you can check for that.

As an initiation I would suggest you to buy this book - From the Ground Up
This is one of the best and will cover all aspects of learning to fly.

2020 and until now has been quite difficult on the aviation industry and am sure Flying Institutes must have been impacted a lot.

My suggestion would be to look for a Flying Club outside major cities or in a rural area - you will have more flying hours quickly rather than Runway wait times of a major city. Also a Club with their own dedicated CFI (Chief Flight Instructor) helps as all endorsements, SPL Viva are conducted by a CFI.

Link for From the Ground Up

https://www.amazon.in/From-the-Ground-Up/dp/0969005490/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=from+the+ground+up&qi d=1625811831&sr=8-3

All the best, I will check with my friends who are still flying for some suggestions which may prove helpful for you or anybody else.

Last edited by Trojan : 9th July 2021 at 12:00.
Trojan is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 10th July 2021, 00:24   #9

Came across an ad for the site www.winglet.in which looks like an online training resource for pilots. Sheer coincidence or maybe targeted ad for reading this thread or checking out some flight simulator-related posts on Insta, I don't know. Thought it could be of use to people here. Check out their blog Becoming a Pilot in India

Gul Panag has been sharing her sim setup on insta since the past couple of days https://www.instagram.com/p/CRGkk76p..._web_copy_link
As most of you know, I’m a licensed pilot, who flies as a hobby . Which means, unlike a commercial pilots, who fly 3-6 days a week, I fly twice a month, in a good month. So my skills are not in regular use. Which is why the simulator.

If one hasn’t flown for over 21 days, one cannot fly again ‘solo’ unless released by an instructor to do. Basically the instructor ( a pilot trained to and cleared to instruct ) must asses whether the pilot under observation is a safe to fly alone. Sometimes one is released to fly solo immediately, while at other times, flying a few hours under supervision is recommended. Now as a Hobby Pilot, one pays to fly , per hour . So it makes sense to be up to speed with motor skills so that one spends the least time trying to get cleared for solo. That’s why I use the sim, to practice , practice and practise .

Last edited by Jaguar : 10th July 2021 at 00:33.
Jaguar is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 10th July 2021, 08:53   #10

Originally Posted by Jeroen View Post
Flying, although it appeals to many, isn’t as easy and interesting as many would think. You need yo study very hard on the theoretical part.
Plus one to that. One fine day, after watching Top Gun movie, it got into my head to want to become a pilot so I started taking flight lessons in US way back in year 2002. But as Jeroen says, it was fun only till the solo flight. After that I quickly got bored and quit once I had to study thing like how to differentiate cumulus vs cumulonimbus clouds
CosmicWizard is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 11th July 2021, 09:54   #11

On the same topic, if someone could please guide me on my Daughter's dream: She has always had an ambition of being a Commercial Pilot. She is 17 now but is only 5 ft. 0 inch in height.
Is there any SPECIFIC and unmitigable requirement on Pilot Height, from regulatory authorities or from airlines? In other words, can she get a CPL with her 5 ft height, and onward, will her short stature hinder her employment prospects as a Commercial Pilot.
I checked severally but have not been able to get an unambiguous reply. Would much appreciate your advise and clarity.
KANNURAN is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2021, 10:05   #12

I've had this dream about 15 years ago but was told that people with spectacles or who have done LASIK can't fly, and I've never questioned that ... until now when I learned it's perfectly ok as long as they the person has full vision now. I figured I might as well try to get a private license to see if I'm lucky enough to enjoy this hobby (tried flight simulators, didn't cut it ).

I'd stop you right here mate. Lasik is allowed by DGCA only on "a case to case basis". Even if allowed (a big if) you will need to do all your medicals at IAM (airforce main) medical center. Also this case to case basis is for already qualified pilots. They are silent on aspiring pilots. I believe the initial Class1/Class2 medicals still prohibit Lasik.
Please check online on the DGCA website before you spend your hard earned money.
AirbusCapt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2021, 13:09   #13

I've had this dream about 15 years ago but was told that people with spectacles or who have done LASIK can't fly, and I've never questioned that ... until now when I learned it's perfectly ok as long as they the person has full vision now.
Any leads?
As you have mentioned, it is fine. You will need a Class 2 medical certificate, which is not as stringent as a Class 1 medical review. However if you want an instrument rating then you will need a Class 1 medical done.

A friend of mine had LASIK done, and was required to conduct 3 successive subsequent medical examinations at an “IAF Boarding Centre”, the list of which is at the DGCA website. IAF centres are strict, which is why they are also mandatory for all initial Class 1 medicals.

My suggestion will be to go for your Class 2 medicals even before you start flying just to be sure. It doesn’t cost much and is likely to be the biggest hinderance. Also many people have some level of colour blindness without knowing of it, which is unacceptable.

Flying schools will usually start you off with an SPL, which requires a Class 2 medical as a prerequisite in any case so this is advisable.

Requirements for PPL are at this link.

Medical requirements are at this link.

Please note that these are all subject to change, so check for changes again before you start, though most flying schools will have the latest information.

I will suggest dedicating a few days to a week every month instead of weekends. Learning is initially slow but the required hours being only 40, you can finish them in a matter of 3-4 months at the most. I know of people who have finished their entire CPL like this (200 hours) in 2-3 years.

The ground subjects are fairly simple, but time consuming. I suggest the entire Oxford series of books (get PDFs online because the actual books are hugely expensive), and use other available books to practise the questions. These should be enough, and a lot of fora online have the names of books and maybe even links. Check for Indian fora for relevant books.

Likely to be the most difficult to clear is the Radio Telephony license (RTR), because of the practical exam followed by viva. If you fail the practical you don’t get to the viva, and if you fail the viva you will have to start from scratch in the next attempt. There is a lot of rote learning involved, specifics of which are also Googleable.

I do not know your age, but flying becomes more difficult to learn the older one gets. Give any 5 year old a mobile phone and they will likely beat you at any FPS or driving/flight simulator game that you both start to learn together. There is a certain lack of inhibition that youngsters have that helps in the learning process, but age does generally bring maturity which is vital to safe flying. Expect to make mistakes, don’t get frustrated, understand the basics and learn the “feel” of flying.

Originally Posted by Trojan View Post

- X+2 Minimum qualification with Physics, Chemistry & Maths
- Class 2 Medically Fit, for CPL you need to be Class 1 fit
- For eyesight in particular, vision should be 6/6, there are also minimum height and weight requirements (but mostly advisory for PPL)
- Ground classes covering Air Regulations, Meteorology, Air Navigation, Aircraft Specifics and Aircraft Technical
- Basis the above ground classes, for PPL there is an Exam conducted by the DGCA (composite covering all subjects) these exams used to have negative marking when I was flying, not sure about now
- FRTOL (R) : Flight Radio Telephony Operators License (Restricted), this is a must for all Pilots to be able to use and operate VHF/HF radios inflight
- Police Clearance
- Completion of Flight hours - 40hrs
Chemistry is not a requirement for any Civil Aviation license in India, but Physics and Maths are. For PPL these are required in 10th, and CPL in 12th.

Eyesight needs to be corrected to 6/6 with the help of eye wear if required. Lots of pilots wear powered spectacles or even powered sun glasses. A minimum of two are required in flight, one pair as a backup.

FRTOL is issued by authorised flying schools themselves, and is usually a mere formality. That’s not usually a concern.

Good point about the police clearance, which is required for an Airport Entry Pass (AEP) - needed if you have to enter the apron area of any airport. These are not required if your flying school is an independent one, with no civil aviation operations. Better get a police clearance done anyway as you may have to operate to a different airport for “cross country” flying. The police verification is something like the one required to apply for or renew a passport.

Originally Posted by KANNURAN View Post
She has always had an ambition of being a Commercial Pilot. She is 17 now but is only 5 ft. 0 inch in height.
Is there any SPECIFIC and unmitigable requirement on Pilot Height, from regulatory authorities or from airlines?
As long as your daughter is medically fit, a CPL should not be a problem. However all airlines in India require a minimum height of 162 or 164 cm - AFAIK. I do know personally of a female pilot who wasn’t selected by Air Asia only due height.

However I’m not sure if this requirement applies to general aviation. There are companies that fly only chartered aircraft, and others that fly private corporate aircraft (like Reliance). Usually once a pilot has an ATPL in hand, airlines do relax most of these rules. It is a longer way of getting into an airline, but is worth checking out.

Please note that jobs in aviation are very unpredictable, and of late are driven mostly by demand due to oversupply. Even getting a corporate pilots job may take months or even years.

Another option in the interim is to become an instructor in a flying school. This helps build hours and experience, the salary isn’t terrible, and airlines treat such pilots as experienced after 1500-2000 hours, so they start at a much higher salary and the airline could even pay for further certification (type rating), which is a significant saving.
VeluM is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 11th July 2021, 14:05   #14

Thank you so much everybody for all the replies. Got a lot of information and also saw leads to read about a whole lot more. Will consume everything and come back with any specific questions after hearing back from RAGAAT.
Old 12th July 2021, 11:23   #15

What about the case of CVD (color vision deficiency)? Am not talking about complete color blindness, but on more common saturation issues. I reckon it's too common like 1/10 people have some kind of CVD.