Other (describe in a post) 5 1.10%
IRVM decorations distract me when driving 95 20.83%
IRVM decorations do not distract me at all 26 5.70%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 456. You may not vote on this poll

Old 23rd March 2021, 22:45   #61

Re: Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it

Voted for "IRVM decorations distract me when driving". Don't have a picture handy though.

With the dangling object swinging left to right, my mission computer (yeah, the one between my ears) will go crazy having to scan it repeatedly as a potential obstacle crossing my path

If you feel sorry for me, then I am not the only one to blame here. Also to blame, are the dogs cats, cows, pigs etc. and not to mention the occassional morons that decide to run across the road at the most inopportune moment.

Last edited by Romeo_Mike : 23rd March 2021 at 22:48.
Romeo_Mike is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th March 2021, 04:05   #62

Going against the general trend here, i hang a religious symbol pendant on my IRVM due to a storage compartment being in the place i generally place an idol in. It was advertised as a car pendant for the same use. I do find things on my IRVM distracting but, somehow due to the design, this pendant is not distracting at all.Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-b92fc777322845e5a1a35eacef2ecb57.jpeg
Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-3e1643ec37694be49fb8d9ef4ced0d20.jpeg
Schneller is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th March 2021, 08:18   #63

Voted for religious Symbol, my wife likes to keep a rosary in the car
Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-20210323_171404.jpg  

Abhi99 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th March 2021, 12:18   #64

I have a vivid childhood memory of a long-distance taxi ride in India with my parents. It was from Delhi to Haridwar. The taxi driver had wrapped a massive floral garland around the rear view mirror. The garland was so big that it blocked a third of the windshield, and critically for me, it blocked the center. I was in the middle back seat and desperately wanted to be able to see out, but my view was blocked. I loathed that driver and his garland for hours.

The kind of paraphernalia you hang—if at all—on the rear view mirror is very much "to each their own" sort of thing. If the car in question is a people carrier, I suppose people can think of the car's interior space as an extension of a typical personal space, like a room in their house or their office. They are then wont to decorating and personalizing it along similar lines. That's reasonably common and has been done for as long as there have been people carriers with horsepower (both literal and figurative horses).

However, if the car in question is a driving machine and your use case is extracting driving pleasure from it, I can't think of a justification for hanging stuff off the mirror. Of course, a justification can always be forced using the "if it's yours, you can do whatever you want with it" logic.

As for pictures, here are some examples where I wouldn't want to, or even be able to hang things in my cars.

This ↓ is an iconic and unusual rear view mirror. In even the prettiest of cars, rear view mirrors are usually plain and boring. This mirror is beautiful and organic. It would be sacrilegious to use it as a hanger.

Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-fc.jpg

This ↓ would be an impractical and fragile hanger. Depending on what you hang, the rattle of it hitting the aluminum could be maddening.

Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-bt.jpg

This ↓ is the simplest scenario of all. As there is zero rear visibility, the designer expunged the unnecessary weight of a mirror! No mirror, no hanging.

Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-pe.jpg
meta is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 24th March 2021, 17:31   #65

Going against the popular Vote here. I have always had this flying Hanumanji in all our cars from day one (the flower on the flying hanumanji was only for pooja and was removed from it). I have never found it to be distracting. Rather got attached to it so much that I cannot drive without it.
Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-20210114_090700.jpg  

jasonbourne is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th March 2021, 19:21   #66

Nothing at all. Clean view for driving and clean view of car.
rbabar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th March 2021, 22:14   #67

May be against the trend, but I have one small Ganesha idol on all of our car's dashboard. I don't find it distracting or blocking my view, may be because it is tiny. Also, I tend to keep a small flower whenever I travel (habit picked up from dad). It adds uniqueness to the dashboard.

Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-img_20210104_111128.jpeg
prajwalmr62 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th March 2021, 12:35   #68

Voted :
  • Perfume &
  • IRVM decorations do not distract me at all

The hanging perfume is the only decoration on my IRVM, simply because there is no better place than that to hang it. And that doesn't distract me at all, that's why it's there obviously! Car without perfume is a big no-no for me.

The emoji perfume seen below is a dead one (very old!). I just don't feel like throwing it off because it just smiles at me whenever I'm trying to cut him off from the IRVM. And hence a total of 2 on the IRVM these days.

Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-img_20210324_17143201.jpeg
kamilharis is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th March 2021, 14:40   #69

A BIG No to anything hanging in my car. Its a huge distraction to me.
Pkumarblore is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th March 2021, 16:08   #70

I'm actually surprised to see that a great majority has "Nothing" on the IRVM or dashboard. I always thought I am an odd person with absolutely nothing added. May be this sample is unique to Team-BHP and not reflective of the car universe at large - cause generally when we look around most cars have something or other (may be I will start observing more keenly)

If I think of things in the car front area - Hand sanitizer, a small bin that came with the car which I use for mint & coins, a mini micro fiber duster to wipe fine dust. That's it.

There is NO idol, figurines, perfumes, hanging objects or other decor. My mom used to insist on keeping a vinayagar (ganesha) when we bought the car. But somehow managed to keep it this way

On the windshield I have few essential stickers - fast tag, apartment etc. But none in the prominent space.
vigneshnr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 26th March 2021, 09:31   #71

I think hanging objects from the rear view mirror can be harmful, as by keeping them there, besides creating a potential blind spot you are effectively conditioning your brain to ignore motion in the peripheral vision. And we only notice objects in the peripheral vision when those objects move or change position relative to us, hence that ability is really important. Besides this, I personally prefer a clean look and don't hang anything from the rear view mirror.
jitin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th March 2021, 12:36   #72

Voted for religious symbol because I have an Acrylic Shiva idol hanging from IRVM apart from a Lord Ganesha idol on the dashboard.

I am always in a big dilemma thinking whether to remove it or not. But without any religious symbols and idols , the dashboard feels incomplete to me.
Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-img_20210326_122606.jpg  

vijith is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th March 2021, 18:13   #73

Originally Posted by a4anurag View Post

No items on the dashboard or hanging off the IRVM. My earlier cars - Ritz and Swift had an idol on the dashboard but didn't repeat the same during the Creta time.

Hate anything hanging or on the dashboard that comes in my FOV (field of view). Already irritated by the glare of the dashboard on the windshield, adding items will make it worse.
Polarised glasses should fix your problem by 98%
Old 2nd April 2021, 10:48   #74

Divine God blessing in car at IRVM. Yes being religious is good. Also I like gadgets around IRVM, easily access and camouflage.
Show us your IRVM and what you hang on it-2fdadeb656f3435099d3675e825c42fd.jpeg
Old 4th April 2021, 12:39   #75

Used to have a little Buddhist bell (ghanta) which tinkled/rang when passing over bad bumps/potholes on my ex-Civic.
Current ride has a small (less than an Inch) metal Hanuman ji pendant hanging from the IRVM. It is so small that I do not notice it most of the times (while driving), but do notice it when I am parked or stopped at a red light.
Upcoming purchase will likely not have anything on it.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com