Originally Posted by driverace If I am buying a flat costing ~15L & paying a price of 50L (real life example) - Delta = 35L (230%)
I do not want to be loosing money - if the bubble bursts & housing prices stabilize for forthcoming 10 years of so.. at 40L i.e. Delta of 25L (160%) |
You lose money when you buy and SELL.
This happens if you take house as an investment.
If you take house as a consumption (=staying), then even if you bought the flat at 50L, and tomorrow it goes down to 10L - it doesn't make any difference to you. (Unless you love boasting to others about how your house price has appreciated)
IF the bubbles busts, you are mistaken in believing that the market price will touch the construction cost. It can go even deeper below. Price is based on demand and supply.
Originally Posted by Saanil I find it very hard to believe that there are many people, aged 27 years, who earn >40 lakhs. |
My question reworded is: Do you think that people buy houses only when they achieve an age of 27? Why are you concentrating on this number '27'?
Don't you think someone would be buying house as soon as he is eligible for a home loan. Similarly one may buy when he has good savings at an age of 50 years.
So you need to first of all look at ALL the potential buyers of houses.
The best way is to take a Sunday off to a builder's office and check the profile of people showing interest. I am sure a very small percent will be 27 years old.
Also regarding the salary aspect. 30/40+ in large tier-1 metros is a reality if you are MBA from Top schools
and have had significant experience in your field. (I am not talking about immediate pass-outs)
Also you haven't answered about how many houses are up for sale at a given instance. Say today right now.
Originally Posted by tsk1979 no it does not.
Imagine you have house you want to sell for 1.1 crore. You are offered 1 crore. If you do not sell it for 3 years, the prices may not rise due to oversupply. But if you sell it for less and put it in investment, you can easily get 12%. With black money, that 12% bit is tough. |
Or perhaps it isn't?
Isn't it better for a black money guy to liquidate the cash and lend it to the hawala economy for a much higher rate. Check any jeweler, what lending interest rate he offers.
If you believe that such lending is forte of rich and mighty with old money, then think again. My mother-in-law who perhaps has pittance for money, lends the cash - thousands to tens of thousands - (secretly, much to our horror) to "needy" and "aspirational" and has been doing so for decades. Interest rate? Much higher than credit card's monthly rate.
If what you say is true, then it makes all the more sense to let go of devalued property at the earliest, if someone invests black money.
Originally Posted by tsk1979 My only point is that inspite of oversupply, with 80-90% of flats unoccupied in newly constructed buildings, prices are not coming down. In Economics, for most commodities, all over the world, when demand falters, prices come down. Sentimental reasons are okay for 1-2 guys, but are 4 lakh owners sentimental now?
The basic theory of demand and supply and its impact on pricing is failing right before our eyes, why? |
There is no failure of supply / demand here.
To illustrate: let me simply ask you:
1. what are the uses of gold
2. what causes the demand of gold
3. what causes the supply of gold
3. why do people value gold
Perhaps you are mixing two purpose/demands of house: investment vs consumption?