Old 6th May 2023, 19:27   #2206

Re: Home Construction / Makeover / Maintenance Thread

I have a similar question, but for the pillar footing work with RMC. We are trying to get some window in between the current overcast Bangalore weather. Every thing was set today to do the footing concrete and there comes the rain and had to postpone. Is not having a bright & sunny day going to have an ill effect on the footing work?

Last edited by balenoed_ : 6th May 2023 at 19:28.
Old 6th May 2023, 21:11   #2207

Re: Wardrobe , Kitchen hardware and fittings

Originally Posted by ballfry View Post
We'd gotten our house done 2.5 yrs ago so I'll answer based on my experience.
We've used Ebco & Hettich mostly.

1. Hettich is holding up well in the timespan, no issues. There was a single issue with one hardware piece in the Kitchen which they had replaced/partially fixed under warranty.

2. Honestly, extremely satisfied with Ebco, only niche component that Ebco doesn't make/seemed flimsy were the one's in where Hettich was used.

3. Hettich: Claiming warranty was easy as we'd retained digital copies of the bill and warranty papers during installation. Ebco: Didn't need to till date.

4. It's the Superb v E-Class equation. 90% at 50% prices.

5. Check Nimmi, they were the other one recommended at the time we were getting Ebco.
Thank you very much ballfry. I have narrowed it down to Hettich and/or Ebco.
Old 6th May 2023, 21:30   #2208

Originally Posted by Funny View Post
Folks, can rain affect roof RCC slab casting if it rains after 2-3 hours since the casting was completed? Casting done using 5" thick slab using 53 Grade OPC.
If yes, what are the best ways to prevent any damage/loss assuming casting date cannot be pushed? I can think of using tarpaulin to cover the slab areas, anything else?
Please search for difference between ordinary Portland cement and Portland pozzolana cement. PPC sets faster, IIRC. But heat generated during curing is very high. So you have to start wetting the poured concrete early. Consider setting up a sprinkler system to wet the slab after 4-6 hours if using PPC. 53 grade means OPC, and if it rained within 3 hours, it means "ouch", and real baad luck.
Originally Posted by 1LR-GUE View Post
We are planning to redo the wardrobes and kitchen in our home. I have come across brands like Hafele, Hettich, Assa Abloy and Ebco for the hardware. Now my questions are!
Not going to give you a direct answer. I'm in midst of a renovation, and next and (hopefully) last major purchase will be these things. I have decided to use stainless steel frames for kitchen cabinets. Coverings will be likely pre laminated Bison panel.

There are two kinds of pullout drawers for kitchen cabinets - the stainless steel baskets plus telescopic runners. Or "Tandem" boxes" or drawers. These are essentially drawer sides, available in heights of 90, 120, 175 and in some cases, 202 mm. And you can add extra rods aka "gallery" above these drawer sides. Vertical depth is not limited to these sizes. I'm planning to use the 90 mm drawer for a 120 mm tall cutlery pullout, while a 600 mm tall space below that will be done using 202 mm drawer plus extra gallery. Advantage of these tandem boxes is that you make the bottom of the drawer at a width convenient to you and there is flexibility in height of drawers. With the stainless steel baskets, you are limited to widths of these baskets and have to be careful in stacking or placing baskets one below the other to match the width.

The problem I'm facing with many dealers of these components is, they also build interiors, and if you are not in the trade, they give you the cold shoulder at the shop. OTOH, Ebco has a brand display center, where you can find the hardware assembled and used, and the catalogue with price is provided on request, and then you go to the dealer where you get a good discount on MRP. Even at the Haffle displaycenter, after the third question, the response is, "your carpenter will know". But every carpenter I met, however uses only WPC aka multiwood or laminated plywood, or HDF all of which will lose strength in damp condition. (search this thread - we had a discussion in 2019, and a user named "architect" had participated in it).

Will be using ebco, most likely, and it is a European brand, AFAIK. (Search "ebco PMDS2" for the products I have shortlisted.
Blum is a premium brand available in India. There are many nameless Indian brands, and vi find them actually more expensive than ebco - maybe, the dealer has made a bigger than usual discount.

You get ebco tandem drawers in 2-3 colours to suit your decor.

Will use 800 x 2400 mm 18 mm full body ceramic tiles in place of granite. Have already purchased "Granalt" from Orient bell.
Originally Posted by adithya.kp View Post
I have a query on labour charge for tile replacement. (floor tiles, bathroom tiles, terrace, parking etc). Can someone tell me the labour charge for a) laying the tiles b) removing the tiles.
the tiles)
You can install new flooring tiles without removing old ones, if the old ones are form with no sagging or loose ones.

Current practice is to use spacers of 2, 3 or 4 mm and fill the gaps with epoxy based grout. You can also fill the gaps with cement based grout, if you get good quality, evenly shaped tiles and lay them close with minimal gaps.

I laid 60 x 120 cm tiles with minimal gap and using transparent "glass bond", a product from Cera. ₹ 2,000 for a 3 packet pack is sufficient for 800-900 sq ft. You can add stainers to this to match tile shade. Therese coloured additives are made by other brands.

For fixing wall tiles, I used Roff adhesive - you need 50 kg per 100 sq ft. It comes in 20 kg bags. A bag is little below ₹ 1000. Stainers or colours can cost any where from ₹ 50 for unbranded white to 500-750 for a small dabba size of kunkum power for gilt gold. Epoxy used for tiles laid with spacers also come in a wide variety of colours and tints and can be matt or gloss. And you can use matching or contrasting colours.
Originally Posted by Sebring View Post
We used Hafele, Hettich, Ebco - long time back. All Ebco units failed and were replaced with Hettich. All Hafele units failed, again replaced with Hettich. Carpenter told us that there is a 50% chance of picking up a fake fitting (Yeah, its that high)
Whoops. Any chance that you got fake products? I can see ebco branded bathroom fittings, but can't find them on ebco site.

Generally - this hardware business has become B2B, and it is difficult to get people to talk, and it is mostly due to ignorance. For example, there are SS hinges. And each one comes in 2-3 variants depending on how the door is positioned when closed and / or open. And you can slide / snap / pluck doors from the hinge for cleaning. The hinges come in a variety of shapes, and most are made of painted sheet metal. Soft close, push to open are the other variants. Even the ordinary door hinge can be soft close.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th May 2023, 22:56   #2209

What would be the approximate cost for installing a modular kitchen in a kitchen of size 100 sq. feet? Does it make sense to pay a premium for leading brands like Godrej Interio or hire a local contractor for the job?

Old 6th May 2023, 23:59   #2210

Originally Posted by kushagra452 View Post
What would be the approximate cost for installing a modular kitchen in a kitchen of size 100 sq. feet? Does it make sense to pay a premium for leading brands like Godrej Interio or hire a local contractor for the job?
This type of question won't take you anywhere. What is 100 sq ft? Floor area? Or a 3 ft tall cabinet, 33.3 ft long?

Look at the components. Normal hinges vs Euro or concealed hinges. Soft close, press to open, slow motion, diyo for drawer runners, MDF vs WPC vs plywood. Plain laminated, hot press laminated with edge banding. Glass front panels. Fancy, profile handles. Lighting. Granite, quartz, marble, tiles for top. Sinks come in various sizes. Those stainless steel baskets come in 4 mm and 5 mm rod. 304 vs 203 grade steel. Shuttering made of normal thickness board. Extra thick board - thicker than 18 mm. Brand X vs Y vs Z. Product range A vs B vs C. Pull up doors for cupboards. Pvc rolling shutters (the kind you see in commercial buildings, only 2-3 ft wide).

WPC board, 18 mm, 0.55 gm / cm³ is around ₹ 4300. Save thing, at 0.75 gm / cm³ is ₹ 7-8 k.

A "minimum" or "mid range" means nothing.

Spend some time to specify what type and size of drawers / pull outs you want and where. Find a tape and measure the length of canon net ta you want. Specify the counter / cabinet top (counter top costs are usually excluded). Decide where you want the shelves. And how the doors should open. And behave. Identify a sink and it's specifications. All these questions become relevant only after that.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 7th May 2023, 01:58   #2211

Originally Posted by kushagra452 View Post

It is a very open ended question. A modular kitchen can cost from 2 lakhs to no limits. I am currently doing my 5th house and I can tell you it solely depends on the spec and material you choose and somewhat related to the firm you engage with.

Since you asked about local vs Godrej, my advise would be, invest on BWP plywood, granite counter top, decent laminate and some useful accessories.

If you can find a local reliable guy, he would do a better job provided you supply materials. But it would take a lot of research and effort from your end. From your question I feel, you haven't done much research yet.
sj_koova is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th May 2023, 22:53   #2212

Can we trust IKEA? The other day I was playing around their website designing my own Bathroom, cupboards etc. I was wondering whether their furniture is good quality and is it worth getting home furnishings from them.
Old 7th May 2023, 23:44   #2213

Originally Posted by Piyush Kanthak View Post
Can we trust IKEA? The other day I was playing around their website designing my own Bathroom, cupboards etc. I was wondering whether their furniture is good quality and is it worth getting home furnishings from them.
From what I have heard and read, IKEA furniture are made of Particle Board and MDF. Both are not recommended to be used in the kitchen or bathroom as they can swell and get damaged from contact with water.
Old 8th May 2023, 07:40   #2214

Originally Posted by Piyush Kanthak View Post
The other day I was playing around their website designing my own Bathroom, cupboards etc.
This does not seem to be the best method to buy furniture and hardware. Go to the place, check out the products directly. Make sure there is a label / sticker on displayed items mentioning the model number. Then check the models on the website and compare their description with what you experienced at the store. Multiple visits to the store might be needed.

Visit store, check display, Check the catalogue, read description, go back and figure out what the description means, etc. Online buying without visiting the store should be tried only after this. For hardware and furniture.

It took about 5 hours for me to figure out the concept of concealed "Euro" hinges, but once I got the hang of it, can now distinguish how the different types will function in a given scenario. Now, I can look at the catalogue and send the list to the shop. For a different brand, however, I'll have to repeat the process of store visit - catalogue - site visit, etc.

HTH

Last edited by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR : 8th May 2023 at 07:49.
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th May 2023, 19:28   #2215

Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
What you need for kitchens is boiling water proof (BWP) ply or alternatively this composite called HDHMR. Basic marine ply won't work.
Any long term users of this HDHMR? Planning to use this for cabinet doors and front panel of kitchen pull outs. Some shops have this pre laminated. So edge banding is all I'll need to do.

Might use this for bottom and back panel of tandem drawers.

Other alternatives under consideration are BWP plywood with lamination and laminated cement board aka Bison panel. Bison panel is heavier than other options, hence look ing for alternatives.

The load bearing carcass will be steel frame.
Old 16th May 2023, 17:18   #2216

What's a good site to check for accurate reviews on Interior Designers ? Google reviews are sketchy
Old 16th May 2023, 17:26   #2217
NPV

Originally Posted by airguitar View Post
What's a good site to check for accurate reviews on Interior Designers ? Google reviews are sketchy
None, if I may say so

I would suggest going with recommendations from folks in your circle after you see first hand, the work done by the specific designer and understand what the customer's experience was, in good detail.
NPV is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th May 2023, 18:18   #2218

Just a small query - Is Aquant a good sanitaryware brand in terms of quality, durability and after-sales support?

Does anybody (especially people living in Mumbai) have any long-term experience with this brand?

I am reasking this question here because, I couldn't get any answer from the sanitaryware thread.

Thanks in advance!
(Mods kindly delete this post if not relevant here.)
Old 17th May 2023, 23:09   #2219

Hi Guys, Two queries
1. Half the portion on my 2nd floor is empty. ( The remaining has solar heater, water tank etc). I am looking to make a terrace roof and have zeroed on Mangalore tiles ( with 2 layers) based roof. Can someone tell me the cost ( say on a per sq/ft basis)?. Also, if not Mangalore tiles based design, what are the other alternatives which are considered modern?
2. Could you recommend a good place in Bangalore to buy the gates? ( If possible, which type of gate is considered good these days? )

Would appreciate any help.
adithya.kp is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th May 2023, 00:40   #2220

Originally Posted by airguitar View Post
I am an Interior designer myself. Just not in India LOL!. Here in the States & Canada, people usually put up their profile on Houzz.com

https://www.houzz.in/professionals/b...0-bo~r_1277333

My advice will be to segregate Decorators from Designers. Interior Designers are professionally qualified with studies, exams & certifications, who prioritize codes, standards & health & safety. Always check for references & talk with previous clients about their work ethics & overall work experience. Good luck!
zeemmee is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com