Old 30th June 2004, 09:01   #1

My Personal Car Scene - help me change it!

my first post and an important one for me, i am planning to change for my 7 year old M800 to something bigger, my budget is 5 lacs but dont know what to buy

My choice is the Palio but i dont know if Fiat will survive for 5 more years in India to service the car.

Ikon - will it need average maintaince after 4 years or the spares and labour would be expense.

My dad said Indigo - but i think will the 1.4 tc engine and overall built might disapoint after 2-3 years.

Petra is the same as Palio and future of Fiat......??

Accent is out of my budget.

i will keep the car for 5-7 years and drive and average of 12k in a year.

i am confused, mechanics confused me more....so this is my last and the best place for advice.

the finalist are Ikon, Indigo and Palio. Tell who should win.

Pankaj.
Old 30th June 2004, 11:02   #2
v12

For 5 lakhs the best option will be either the Indigo or the Palio. The Ikon will be good, but for that price u'll only get a 1.3 whicj isnt very powerful.
Old 30th June 2004, 11:48   #3

Well,

1.The Palio is the most refined and well built car among the 3 choices. It's safer and more stable at high speeds.

2.The ikon is the most fun to drive but i'm not so sure about the 1.3 ltr version.

3.The Indigo is just about low maintainance. Build quality, fit/finish, performance etc fail to impress.

If Fiat was in good shape, i'd close my eyes and buy the Palio.

The Ikon 1.3 atleast is not worth the buy.

So my choice would be the Indigo coz we know that the company wont pack up all of a sudden, we know that it's cheaper to maintain and the fact that it's the most fuel efficient off all the 3 cars.

Will you be happy driving an Indigo, you ask? That i'm not so sure about. You'll have to find that out on your own.

Regards..
Shan2nu

Old 30th June 2004, 12:04   #4

i would rate..

palio 1.6 first, good car, solid build but a very flat power band..

1.3 lt ikon is good with new rocam engine, unless ur r a boy racer at heart or do loads of highway run with full load.. second (maintanence is pretty decent, believe me or not, same as that of an esteem till now, my car 1.6l has done 20k, best part service interval 10 k kms)

Indigo last, am a true indian, but i hate the inconsistent quality issue with the car (friends 4 month car is for sale, electrical probs which 4 dealers couldnt fix)

Test drive first 2, choose after u match it against ur req, look at discounts/free accessories and then just go for it.. happy buying mate..
Old 30th June 2004, 13:12   #5

Depending on your requirement, go pick up a Palio or a Petra. You will be very happy with your decision.

Old 30th June 2004, 13:14   #6

If I had to buy a car between the Palio and the Indigo I would buy the Palio. Very well built feels like a car from the upper segment, Great to look at fun to drive.
Buttttt.... seeing Fiat's reputation in the Indian market and for a secure future for the car, I would go for the Indigo.. Its not a great car to drive and the gearbox is horrible but at the same time it has loads of space, a large boot, and is very comfortable. And in diesel form its extremely economical. For the price of 5 lakhs you are getting a saloon which is total value for money. Quality fit and finish have been a Tata problem but they improve with times. Like the paint finish I have seen on the Indigo is one of the best around. And Tatas service is not bad either..

My vote would go for the Indigo

Dippy

Old 30th June 2004, 13:18   #7

This would be order of preference:

1)The Palio 1.2 *- Go for it if you have enough faith in Fiat . It has great build and handling. The sports NV model looks good too !
2)Ford Ikon 1.3 - definitely worth a look .The rear seat is quite comfortable. *May be the maintenance after 3 years is not that bad as it is made out to be
3) How about the Indica V2 diesel ? ,It is spacious and I think the quality has improved now , It looks elegant too.
4) The Petra is a great VFM buy midsize .also it is more powerful than the Palio 1.2 - again you should have enough faith in Fiat to go for it.
5) Indigo Diesel though it sells in large numbers has niggling quality issues

I would suggest that you *test drive all the cars and then decide.

-Beetle
Old 30th June 2004, 15:17   #8

Hey Guys,

Correct me if im wrong -

Wouldnt the Hyundai Getz that is gonna be launched soon fit into this budget?
Also, wouldnt it be the best car among those listed in addition to having a great service network, being a tested product and also very economical with that CRDI engine?

So i guess the question is will you be willing to wait till the car is launched (+waiting time) ?

cya
R
Old 30th June 2004, 15:34   #9

hmmmmm
or else how abt a good 2nd hand accent crdi's??
Old 30th June 2004, 21:20   #10

Hey aadix

What is the average price from second hand Hyundai CRDI in Hyderabad?
Old 30th June 2004, 22:46   #11

from what i have seen, it's ranging from 5lacs(first batch, say done abt 40k kms to 80k kms) to 6.75l to 7.25l(2-4 months old, naidu/ever cars)
Old 1st July 2004, 00:42   #12

well! after all... if u wanna have a saloon.. giving good economy... go for the indigo...ofcourse.. u cant compare its fit and finish with other cars.. but the space, comfort that it gives is definately uncomparable with any other cars... just try sitting in the back seat of the indigo with both the front seats taken totally back!!... no problem of space.!
I own it for 2 months now... seriously very very nice car!!
and abt the quality... dont forget its Indian!!
Old 1st July 2004, 01:14   #13

i think the 1.6 petra or the palio 1.2nv/diesel shud cum in ur budget .or a second hand 1.5 vtec (2002)
Old 1st July 2004, 01:18   #14

there was a post for a 2002 vtec 38000 kms for Rs 5.2 lacs approx..
this will suit yr budget also...why not a second hand????

u can hunt for low mileage cars ..and u will ge one.
and I have heard abt Honda engines , the more u drive the better they get, I dont know how far this is true, but u can definately give a second hand car a thought?
what say guys???

Also a second hand crdi is a steal , but defficult to find one for sale???
Old 1st July 2004, 05:49   #15

thanks guys,
a used low mileage.......sound good but will need to do some hunting for that.
are honda's and accents petrols the best when it comes to used. I know a Vtec is the best ....is the 1.5 and 1.3 also good.
i have driven the palio, ikon and 1.5 city i liked the ikon which had 40k and was pretty good. but does the maintain costs after 60k or 4years go up.

GTO...you had mentioned in one the posts .....on revalue of the palio...that palio also has high ownership costs....what about ownership costs for city and ikon....