Old 31st March 2023, 18:26   #1

Pre-loved 3rd-gen Honda City | Yay or nay?

A friend has this Honda City 2013, which he purchased used in 2017, when it had ~40k kms on it. Subsequently he has used it for about 6+ years. The odo now reads slightly 82k odd kms.

He made me an offer which seems quite attractive. This will be my first car, if I go ahead. I know for a fact that the car does not have any major issues, and was used with extreme care. I live in a somewhat rural area (as does the erstwhile car owner), local mechanics are good, not geniuses, but they can keep cars running. Honda ASS is about 50-60 kms away. Its not difficult to get to said ASS, but not too convenient either.

As for the car, there are no apparently visible dents, rust marks, scratches, visible on the outside. I have not yet inspected the car with the help of a local mechanic. I am frankly in the initial stages of thinking about buying this one.

Nevertheless, is this a good buy for 2.6 lacs?

Why it looks good to me:
  • I dont have to pay in one go. (26 easy installments of 10k each)
  • I don't think there will be any other sedan available in under 3 lacs.
  • Car is well taken care of, no immediately visible blemishes / marks.
Why I have concerns:
  • 82k kms.
  • Honda parts / consumables are costlier than some other brands.
  • Is this a good 1st car? Coz the condition is good, so its not a beater, neither is the price that of a beater car.
PS: The original Honda City 1.5 Exi was my dream car, and I loved the acceleration of that one. Not many contemporary cars could match it in performance. This is a factor which pulls me towards Honda cars.
anay3000 is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 1st April 2023, 12:37   #2

Re: Pre-loved 3rd-gen Honda City | Yay or nay?

It's cheap, you're getting an instalment plan and the car is otherwise good, I would say go for it. This generation of the Honda City is regarded very highly by enthusiasts and is generally bullet-proof. You know the car's history and you know the owner.

Bring her home. As long as you realise that a 10-year old car will require some upkeep from time to time. That being said, a 10-year old Honda is 10X more dependable than a 10-year old Skoda.

I recently used a 2009 3rd-gen Honda City AT with 91,000 km on the odo. It was well-maintained & ran like a champion. I enjoyed driving it around for a week in North India.

Last edited by GTO : 3rd April 2023 at 08:14.
GTO is offline   (44) Thanks
Old 1st April 2023, 15:21   #3

Originally Posted by anay3000 View Post
I dont have to pay in one go. (26 easy installments of 10k each)
is this a good buy for 2.6 lacs?
Since you are getting an interest free installment, you save nearly 20k on the interest portion. For approx 2.4L, it's a good deal for a City with known history.

[/list]Why I have concerns:
  • Honda parts / consumables are costlier than some other brands.
  • Is this a good 1st car? Coz the condition is good, so its not a beater, neither is the price that of a beater car.
Honda parts are costlier when compared with mainstream brands like Maruti or Hyundai, but they are built to last unless it is abused.

If you are comfortable with the size & blind spots, you can't go wrong with City as a 1st car.
Mr.Boss is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 1st April 2023, 18:22   #4

It is a steal deal. Honda City of that lineage is considered better built than the later versions.

Don't think too much about the odo, it is not even 50% of what it is capable of achieving without troubling the owner.
MT_Hyderabad is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st April 2023, 19:44   #5

This will be a dreamy first car. I honed my skills in a Honda City too. It’s the perfect formula. Exciting engine but not too fast, dimensions are easy to get used to and the dynamics are forgiving. Add bulletproof reliability and the sharp looks of the 3rd Gen to the equation and it’s a no brainer.

Congratulations, you’ve hit the holy grail. Happy motoring!
revsperminute is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 1st April 2023, 20:45   #6

Looks like a sweet deal, I'd advice you to go ahead with this plan. Third-gen City is a car that comes with an almost trouble-free nature. You'll just need to do the routine maintenance checks to keep it in shape. Spare parts costs are not much expensive if you compare with a Vento/Rapid of similar age. For example, a set of front brake pads costs ₹ 1,500 while a fuel filter will set you back by ₹ 1,300. All consumable spares are easily available via Honda authorised service centres.
Shreyfiesta is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 08:50   #7

The third generation is my personal favourite of the Honda City lineage and my dream car . It's a head turner even today, it's one car that if well maintained, can last for years to come (case in point - my relative's 10 year old City that I had the pleasure of being driven in) and its engine is super refined and I've heard that it's amazing to drive too (since I can't drive yet!)

To summarize - definitely a yay for that price! As fellow BHPians have said, it can definitely take much more than 82k. If you do decide to purchase it, enjoy every moment with it!

Until next time,
imprezzer
imprezzer is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 09:35   #8

It's a really good offer, go for it. Though I would recommend you try to close the instalments a little sooner

Only thing to be taken care is to ensure you change the timing belt and everything, along with the fluids including the gear oil. Because its near the 1 lakh mark and 10 year old age.

This will be your immediate expense and once done, should drive for eternity. That gen City is the best in my opinion, with a desirable style and actual Hondaness.
chinmaypillay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 09:49   #9

My sister has a 2010 ANHC and let me tell you the car still drives like when it was new. If you are sure of the car's condition, IMO go for it. Keep apart some money to give it a good service and maybe a polish sesh and you're good to go!
Maverick_4662 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 10:09   #10

A friend has this Honda City 2013, The odo now reads slightly 82k odd kms.

Nevertheless, is this a good buy for 2.6 lacs?
I own 2013 City with 1.2 Lakh Kms on it. It has been a blissful 10 years of ownership. I am still running everything stock (Except consumables - Tyres, Battery, Wiper blades, Pads)). I would say go for it:

1. Its a no-Nonsense car in every sense, extremely reliable and predictable
2. Maintenance cost is very low. I use to service my car every 6 month (against recommended 3 months) based on my low usage, Average Yearly cost of maintenance (PM) is 10K approx.
3. Car shares lot of important parts with City 4G (which got discontinued just now), so availability of spare is no issue.
3. City brand in general has a respect of its own.
UD17 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 10:43   #11

I own a 2012 Jul Honda City. Had bought it for almost 5lacs in early 2022 and have taken it to a trip from Bangalore-Mumbai, Bangalore to Hyderabad and Bangalore to Gokarna in a little more than a year of ownership and have loved every moment. Had bought it as this was my wife's dream car (to some extent, mine as well) and would blindly recommend it to anyone opting to get it in used market.

Coming to your post, I would say you are getting it at a steal, considering the payment option been provided. If I were you, I wont beat an eyelid before finalizing it.

I am sure you will have fun with it and cherish it for at least 5 more years.

Talking about the cost of owning it, spare are definitely more expensive, but quality comes at a price. As long as it you service it on time and take good care, hardly anything breaks. It is a well made car and one of the best offerings from Honda. I think the next generation onwards, somewhere Honda City lost its charm and started focusing on economy, diluting the experience a bit.
samee_arian is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 11:15   #12

Please validate the complete service history and check for rust formation with the help of a professional (preferably in Honda ASS). If all are in order, just go for this deal eyes closed. This was the last generation of the City which stood for core Honda values. It is super reliable, great to drive and has a timeless design which shows no signs of aging. A close friend mine has the same variant - he has even done a few OEM retrofits! I myself have a Jazz of 2012 vintage with 1.03 lakh kms on the odo - absolute fuss free ownership experience.
anuragbagur is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 13:28   #13

I own 3rd gen city VMT 2011 model and driven for 109000 kms and still it is as good as new. Just routine maintenance and consumables and this city will never let you down. In fact I put up my city for sale in classifieds and my price is much higher than what you intend to pay . I do not intend to lower my quote and feel the car is worth every penny. Of course, it is with full service history at HASS. You please make sure that body rusting is not there, suspension and steering rack issues and timing belt noise are also not there. Else it is a very reliable car and seems to be a steal at that price. Lastly, do check underside for any damage due low low GC. All the best.
sheelRP is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 15:29   #14

I have a 2009 City VMT which I bought new and now at 97,000km used in Chennai (sea breeze and slightly salty water) 2012-2018. I can assure you it will be trouble-free ownership. A major issue you might come across is rusting if you live in a coastal belt. I got the car stripped and repainted early this year.
Apart from that, the car runs in almost everything which came from factors back in 2009. Exceptions are the radiator fan motor and clutch slave cylinder which were both changed once, tyres, brake pads, windshield wiper, suspension bushes, and fluids. Even mud flaps which came new with the car still holding on. Maintenance is cheap compared to a 2011 Hyundai i10 Kappa2 we had owned.
Ground clearance and low-end torque can be an issue when the car is fully loaded.
jagdish_ker is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2023, 15:58   #15

Its a steal deal !!

2013 was the last year of 3rd Gen City and I remember this model was roughly 60%~70% CKD and that was reflected in the quality once the heavily localized 4th Gen was launched.

And, with many of my colleagues still driving it with as much 2 Lac+ on the ODO , if you are sure that car has been well maintained and the owner is trustworthy - You should proceed for the deal.

Moreover, you get interest free installments .
Motorhead23 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com