Old 22nd February 2022, 00:51   #1

Which used Automatic car for 8-10 lakhs to replace a 3rd-gen Honda City?

Vehicle to be replaced: 2011 Honda City 3rd gen
Budget: 8-10L
Does it have to be an upgrade?: NO; can do with a vehicle in the same segment
Time period: 3-6 years; the lesser, the better
Transmission: Torque converter/ CVT
HAS TO BE SAFE with atleast 2 airbags
Fuel: Petrol
Body style: Sedan, crossover, SUV, MUV
Brands to be avoided: VAG
Should return decent FE (10 in the city atleast)
Toyota Yaris and Honda City 4th gen seem to be the only options. Not a fan of the Verna. Not quite sure of the Ciaz's safety.
Parents don't prefer VAGs.
Will be driven by a 48year old sedate driver.
Also should older Corolla/Civic(fan) be considered?
Will we able to get a car with less than 40k on the ODO?
BHPians please suggest.
rajk15 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2022, 07:54   #2

Re: Which used Automatic car for 10-lakhs to replace a 3rd-gen Honda City?

Originally Posted by rajk15 View Post
Toyota Yaris and Honda City 4th gen seem to be the only options.
You're in the right direction. Also add the Ciaz AT back as its for a sedate driver. More options:

- Corolla Altis. You'll get a 4 to 5 year old car. Will be like a serious upgrade in every way. Lots & lots of options, as it was a good seller.

- The country's favourite = 1st-gen Creta AT. Everyone loves the Creta.

- S-Cross AT. European characteristics with Maruti's peace-of-the-mind ownership.
GTO is offline   (20) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2022, 11:49   #3

Re: Which used Automatic car for 8-10 lakhs to replace a 3rd-gen Honda City?

You will get a fairly new Honda Amaze CVT for Rs. 8 - 10 Lakhs.

IMHO, highly underappreciated car offering all the well loved Honda City traits at a far more affordable package.
Ferruccio is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2022, 12:17   #4
One

Toyota Yaris and Honda City 4th gen seem to be the only options. Not a fan of the Verna. Not quite sure of the Ciaz's safety.
I think Yaris and Creta will be two good solid options. My choice would probably be Creta for the following reasons:
1. A change (improvement) in driving position for the better between a crossover and sedan.
2. Change (improvement) in ingress/ egress for parents who seem to be users of the car.
3. Improvement in interiors over current car (not space) which won't be spartan.
4. Not a dated vehicle
5. All benefits of a Hyundai (and it's disadvantages too though)

Happy hunting
One is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd February 2022, 15:07   #5

My top pick would be a used Altis if one comes within your budget. I think it should be possible to get a less than 5 year old used model within that range. It should feel like an upgrade to a 2011 Honda City in every way. Another option would be a used Honda City but personally I’d pick an Altis over the City if there are comparable options available in both.

I’d be a tad wary of a petrol Creta A/T from the FE perspective. From what I’ve heard they’re a bit on the thirsty side, specially in city traffic. Other than that aspect an excellent choice as well.
Axe77 is online now   (13) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 08:29   #6

I’d look for a low mileage elantra anything 2013 onwards I have both the 5th and 6th gen, really reliable comfortable tourer which easily gives the Altis a run for it’s money.
TechSavvy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 08:33   #7

Creta Petrol AT should fit the bill perfectly, a 2017 model should be available for anywhere between 9-10 Lakh.

Being an owner the fuel efficiency in the city is around 8-10 kmpl.

If you're a sedate driver, this engine + TC gearbox should be perfect for your needs because try pushing this motor and it behaves in a very CVT-like manner where RPMs go up but speed doesn't and gets engine gets boom-y in the process, can get frustrating at times, manual mode does overcome it so plan overtakes on 2-lane roads in advance.

The thing with the 1st gen Creta is that even after 7 years the car has aged well, looks contemporary and has enough features to be competitive in today's market. Petrol AT launched in 2016 got Apple Carplay / Android Auto as well.

Things to be careful of:
- Check the brake pedal feel, it's possible you might not like it.
- On dirt-roads the car takes more time to brake.
- Window motors fail at any given point

Alternatives I would suggest are the Corolla AT, Yaris CVT, BR-V CVT, City CVT

Last edited by CEF_Beasts : 24th February 2022 at 08:38.
CEF_Beasts is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 10:06   #8

I would suggest the Ciaz AT - New, if you can stretch a bit. From safety perspective, if you want to consider Creta, no harm in considering Ciaz
Sk8r is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 10:38   #9

Vehicle to be replaced: 2011 Honda City 3rd gen
Budget: 8-10L
Does it have to be an upgrade?: NO; can do with a vehicle in the same segment
Time period: 3-6 years; the lesser, the better
Transmission: Torque converter/ CVT
HAS TO BE SAFE with atleast 2 airbags
Fuel: Petrol

BHPians please suggest.
For around 10 lacs you can get yourself a 2016-2018 Hyundai Elantra Petrol Automatic. If youre lucky you might get one with warranty. Don;t go by the quoted prices, Elantras depreciate a lot. It comes with bells and whistles and more!
Pashin is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 11:09   #10

Re: Which used Automatic car for 10-lakhs to replace a 3rd-gen Honda City?

You're in the right direction. Also add the Ciaz AT back as its for a sedate driver. More options:

- Corolla Altis. You'll get a 4 to 5 year old car. Will be like a serious upgrade in every way. Lots & lots of options, as it was a good seller.

- The country's favourite = 1st-gen Creta AT. Everyone loves the Creta.

- S-Cross AT. European characteristics with Maruti's peace-of-the-mind ownership.

4-5 year old Corolla Altis in 8 to 10 lakhs?!! Only in sweet dreams. You won't find it for less than 12 that too if its base model G. Higher model GL for around 11 or 12, and the top model VL (AT came with base model G or with the VL) won't be available for less than 14 lakhs. Even though this car has been discontinued, its resale value is strong, and for several good reasons. However if you are okay with the pre face lift models from 2014 to 2016, those you shall definitely find for 6 to 9 lakhs depending on model level and whether serviced from original workshops with bills, or not.

You may or may not find 4-5 year old automatic Elantra in this budget.

Other options are Creta and Ciaz if safety ratings are not important, while S-Cross, Brezza, Yaris, and City if safety ratings are important to you. Happy hunting

Last edited by redohabitat : 24th February 2022 at 11:34. Reason: Corrected typo
redohabitat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 14:57   #11

Honda Jazz? With slight overage in budget you can get brand new Jazz.

- Has excellent, sedan rivaling leg room all around.
- Much better utility compared to any sedan.
- Scored 4 stars in GNCAP recently.
- Has CVT.
- Is Honda. You are already familiar with the brand.
amol4184 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 19:35   #12

Any specific reason you are looking for a used car? And does it have to be a sedan?

You could instead look for a new Kiger CVT around 11 lakhs. It would tick all the boxes and is extremely nimble and comfortable for elders. Returns FE of 11kmpl in city and around 14 in highway.

Last edited by luvurride : 24th February 2022 at 19:41.
luvurride is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 20:06   #13

Well,
A quick glance at the all new Baleno might tug your heart strings a little assuming your parents are biased towards a Maruti for the peace of mind it offers. Yes, it is a good package with 6 airbags and has a reasonable amount of gizmos if for a change are willing to try it out as a first step in the tech car world. Best thing is it starts at 6.35 for the base model so can aim up for higher variants within your desired budget.
aamz6512 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th February 2022, 20:32   #14

My suggestions
1st. Few years old Corolla Altis CVT
2nd. Used City 4th Gen ZX CVT
3rd. Brand new Jazz V CVT

Last edited by Latheesh : 24th February 2022 at 20:34.
Latheesh is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 25th February 2022, 13:30   #15

I would suggest you to go for a used honda city or used Hyundai creta as both the corolla and yaris are discontinued models, looks like you tend to keep your cars for a longer duration of time maybe allocating spares can be a issue.
zaid qazi is offline   (1) Thanks