Old 25th February 2022, 15:06   #16

Re: Which used Automatic car for 8-10 lakhs to replace a 3rd-gen Honda City?

I would avoid the Civic as most examples would be too old.
Instead look for a newer Corolla Altis in your budget as an upgrade in terms of space and comfort but do take a test drive as the heavier steering could be a little downer in terms of ease of driving.

Other options would be the S-Cross AT if you are able to source one as it is a recent launch: it's a great all rounder, and the base auto should be around Rs. 12L on road post discounts which would be worth the stretch or even the base trim of the Ciaz AT at around 11.5L.

Between the City and the Ciaz, I personally didn't find there to be a big difference for a sedate driver. The CVT of the City had a rubber band effect, whereas the TC of the Ciaz made city driving easier. Interior quality (at least for pre-facelift City 4th Gen lower trims), legroom, etc. are also very similar and Maruti scores on part availability and pricing; though the biggest advantage of the City is the 4 star NCAP rating and the biggest advantage of the Ciaz is that you will get a nearly new (if not new) model.
lamborghini is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th March 2022, 00:51   #17

¡Hola! folks,

Thank you everybody for your valuable inputs and apologies for the late reply. Apologies if I sound biased, my family are die hard Honda fans; have a gen 2 Honda City (surprisingly, driven only 40k km) and a gen 3 city (crossed 60k); both are serviced at a known's Honda service centre, A.S.S. is not really much of a problem- so would be a cherry on the cake if we find a Civic in the budget.

You're in the right direction. Also add the Ciaz AT back as its for a sedate driver.
Will surely consider it GTO! It wasn't being considered only because of the suspected safety.

Corolla Altis. You'll get a 4 to 5 year old car. Will be like a serious upgrade in every way. Lots & lots of options, as it was a good seller.
Originally Posted by Pashin View Post
For around 10 lacs you can get yourself a 2016-2018 Hyundai Elantra Petrol Automatic. If youre lucky you might get one with warranty. Don;t go by the quoted prices, Elantras depreciate a lot.
Originally Posted by TechSavvy View Post
I’d look for a low mileage elantra anything 2013 onwards I have both the 5th and 6th gen, really reliable comfortable tourer which easily gives the Altis a run for it’s money.
Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
My top pick would be a used Altis if one comes within your budget.
The Civic is number 1 on the list, closely followed by the Corrolla and Elantra coming in 3rd, although I doubt we'll be able to find one in the budget given the covid & chip shortage induced inflation in the used car market.

The country's favourite = 1st-gen Creta AT. Everyone loves the Creta.

- S-Cross AT. European characteristics with Maruti's peace-of-the-mind ownership.
Will consider them as well although the safety bit is a bit concerning for both (more so for the Creta, which hasn't been tested at all V/S the S-Cross whose younger sibling Vitara Brezza still has 4 stars in the G-NCAP).

Originally Posted by Ferruccio View Post
You will get a fairly new Honda Amaze CVT for Rs. 8 - 10 Lakhs.

IMHO, highly underappreciated car offering all the well loved Honda City traits at a far more affordable package.
Originally Posted by amol4184 View Post
Honda Jazz? With slight overage in budget you can get brand new Jazz.
Thank you for the suggestion Ferruccio and amol4184. Not sure if either of the cars would be able to haul the amount of luggage the City does, during our highway runs(3-4 times a month). We are not light travellers- the entire boot and the seat behind the co-passenger seat are filled with lugage. To be honest, a new car is not really a requirement, not like we can claim tax benfits :-( .

Originally Posted by luvurride View Post
Any specific reason you are looking for a used car? And does it have to be a sedan? You could instead look for a new Kiger CVT around 11 lakhs.
Frankly, looking in the used car market to not take a depriciation hit and to not go down a segment. While the Kiger's engine and GB would not be in question, two things about it bother me- (i) Renault A.S.S. (ii) Kiger's interiors quality. To be very honest, would prefer an S-Cross AT for another 1 lakh V/S the Kiger but wil always be number 2/3 if we look in the new car market.

Originally Posted by One View Post
I think Yaris and Creta will be two good solid options. My choice would probably be Creta for the following reasons:
Originally Posted by Axe77 View Post
I’d be a tad wary of a petrol Creta A/T from the FE perspective. From what I’ve heard they’re a bit on the thirsty side, specially in city traffic. Other than that aspect an excellent choice as well.
Agree with all your points, the only thing bugging me about the Creta is it's safety aspect and it's FE.

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
Creta Petrol AT should fit the bill perfectly, a 2017 model should be available for anywhere between 9-10 Lakh.

Being an owner the fuel efficiency in the city is around 8-10 kmpl.

Things to be careful of:

Originally Posted by Sk8r View Post
I would suggest the Ciaz AT - New, if you can stretch a bit. From safety perspective, if you want to consider Creta, no harm in considering Ciaz
Their safety aspect is what is bugging me.

Originally Posted by redohabitat View Post
4-5 year old Corolla Altis in 8 to 10 lakhs?!! Only in sweet dreams.
This is kind of concerning. Let's see if we get anything worthwhile.

Originally Posted by aamz6512 View Post
Well,
A quick glance at the all new Baleno might tug your heart strings a little assuming your parents are biased towards a Maruti for the peace of mind it offers. Yes, it is a good package with 6 airbags and has a reasonable amount of gizmos if for a change are willing to try it out as a first step in the tech car world. Best thing is it starts at 6.35 for the base model so can aim up for higher variants within your desired budget.
Haha! Parents luckily aren't Maruti-biased. Baleno might be a downgrade from a City in terms of space and overall quality. For all the reasons I mentioned above in the post, not sure we'd really prefer the Baleno/Jazz/Amaze.

Originally Posted by Latheesh View Post
My suggestions
1st. Few years old Corolla Altis CVT
2nd. Used City 4th Gen ZX CVT
3rd. Brand new Jazz V CVT
The first two are definitely on the list. Jazz might be short on space.

Originally Posted by zaid qazi View Post
I would suggest you to go for a used honda city or used Hyundai creta as both the corolla and yaris are discontinued models, looks like you tend to keep your cars for a longer duration of time maybe allocating spares can be a issue.
Yes, we do sustain our cars longer. The only thing bugging me is the 15-year old rule that is in effect in Delhi and Haryana. Never know when Punjab and Chandigarh follow suit.

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
I would avoid the Civic as most examples would be too old.
Instead look for a newer Corolla Altis in your budget as an upgrade in terms of space and comfort but do take a test drive as the heavier steering could be a little downer in terms of ease of driving.

Other options would be the S-Cross AT if you are able to source one as it is a recent launch: it's a great all rounder, and the base auto should be around Rs. 12L on road post discounts which would be worth the stretch or even the base trim of the Ciaz AT at around 11.5L.

Between the City and the Ciaz, I personally didn't find there to be a big difference for a sedate driver. The CVT of the City had a rubber band effect, whereas the TC of the Ciaz made city driving easier. Interior quality (at least for pre-facelift City 4th Gen lower trims), legroom, etc. are also very similar and Maruti scores on part availability and pricing; though the biggest advantage of the City is the 4 star NCAP rating and the biggest advantage of the Ciaz is that you will get a nearly new (if not new) model.
Funny story, the entire car search started after we kept seeing new Civics on different routes in one week other than the rather hectic city driving is becoming day by day. The Civic is being considered not just because of the segment upgrade but since it tugs some heart strings.
City becuase of it's safety and Honda badge.

Thank you all for all the suggestions. Will keep you all posted.
Old 19th March 2022, 00:05   #18

Given that you already have a trusted Honda dealer for maintenance, get a 2013 Accord eyes closed. It has more space, is faster, rides better and has a better interior than the Civic you’re considering. Has a 5 star NCAP crash score and was the top safety pick for many consecutive years by thr IHS. Maintence is quite cheap and it’s great value for money at 5-6L.
AJ56 is offline   (1) Thanks