Old 30th April 2007, 20:41   #1

used corolla....octavia.....optra?

a friend of mine is looking to buy a used car in the C+ segment. he currently owns a scorpio. so this car would be his second car.

his requirement are
-comfort
-reliability
-economy

we have shortlisted the octavia diesel, corolla and optra. now straight away optra would be the cheapest in the market and is a comfortable car. its not very economical to run though at least not the 1.8. so its a battle between the czech and the jap! toyota currently edges ahead with its better/cheaper service bakup.

now i want to know
-which car? octavia diesel or the corolla?
-how much to pay for a well maintained 2003 model
-what problems i can expect on a 4 yr old car.
-for around the same price what other cars should he be considering?
Old 1st May 2007, 10:25   #2

knock knock......guys? i need some suggestions pronto!

i have gone thru the forum but i didnt find any long term ownership reports on corolla. octavia seems to be a bomb to maintain! anyway please let me know soon. being cheap is in the used car market is giving the optra its edge back.
Old 1st May 2007, 12:47   #3

comfort
-reliability
-economy
Corolla will Suits your requirement best , U can get H2 2004 mode for around 6.5l .
Old 1st May 2007, 13:25   #4

Used octavia in good condition = 8-9 lakhs
This kind of money will get you a brand new Optra or a brand new Corolla.
So take your pick
Old 1st May 2007, 18:27   #5

wow! used octavias go up to 8-9 lacs?? ok i was looking at something around 6.5-7. i mean we are talking about cars which are nearly 4 years old now.

can someone elaborate on corolla's maintenance issues. A.S.S. etc. my friend is looking at a 2003 H2 model i think for around 5.8l. the car is in pretty good condition. silver colour. minor scratches here and there. its a private sale.

anything in particular he should look for?
Old 1st May 2007, 18:36   #6

If he can shell 5.8 then why not look at Verna/UVA/SRV and all..! New Cars at that price..! with a little bit more- He can look at Lancer Base..!
Old 1st May 2007, 19:06   #7

anything in particular he should look for?
This link contains most info of what you should lookout for,no point retyping it again.

Toyota Corolla
Old 1st May 2007, 21:55   #8

-comfort - Optra
-reliability - Corolla
-economy - Octavia
You can get a fully loaded 1.8LT, done 30k kms for 5.5L with all the bells and whistles.

Otherwise i would suggest you the Corolla. It has a mix of all the requirements your friend needs.
Old 1st May 2007, 22:14   #9

you guys are right about gettin a new verna/UVA/SRV for tht price.... but those cars dont carry the same value as a corolla. besides UVA and SRV are hatchbacks. he's looking for a sedan. i dont see a point getting a verna petrol. from what i know the diesel is the one with all the magic.

BUSA the optra is very poor on fuel economy which is the sole reason for him looking at other options. especially the 1.8.

choosing a car isn;t easy is it? lol!
Old 1st May 2007, 22:17   #10

Corolla does not command such a high resale back here in delhi also..! If he is looking for a good car- it suits better to buy a New car for the second hand car price..!
Old 1st May 2007, 22:46   #11

yeah but dont used cars down south cost more than up north. how much should he be paying for a 2003 H2 corolla? i thought 5.8l was not bad.
Old 1st May 2007, 22:47   #12

I have seen a 4 year old accord go for slightly less than 6 ! and talking of a non accident and decent model..!
Old 1st May 2007, 22:48   #13

BUSA the optra is very poor on fuel economy which is the sole reason for him looking at other options. especially the 1.8.
I get around 9.5-10kmpl in Mumbai City Driving with 100% AC on and shifts at 3000RPM-4000RPM. Mine is a 1.8 with a Conical KnN filter and tyres upsized to 205 on 15inchers. Also doesnot ABS lower the FE. Mine does have ABS.

The Corolla will give you 10, the Optra will give you 9.5
Old 1st May 2007, 22:52   #14

ok guys! i;m so sorry i just called my friend the corolla he looked at was 2004 not 2003. H2.

BUSA i dont quite know how but i had a friends optra for a month. similar driving style with AC on all the time i couldnt manage to get more than 8. this car was completely stock. i even got it tuned once when i had it with me. and i've also know few other optra owners live with similar mileage figures. other than that i love the optra. its a nice car.
Old 1st May 2007, 22:56   #15

Sometimes Mileage also varies with Petrol type..! In my lancer I mix Power and Regular from HP, 1 : 2 Half Tank Ratio- I get decent 10.3- 11.9 with the lancer..!

With my XETA-When I was driving largely on Petrol, I was getting lower FE with Power, and 1-2 KM more FE with Regular from HP.