Old 11th February 2013, 11:08   #451

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Originally Posted by travelex View Post
Chose and bought Rapid elegance 2012 model for 10.07 on road. Drove on the highway yesterday and absolutely love the drive.
@Travelex : Many Congratulations for your new car. Wish you a trouble free service from the car and many happy mile munching.

Hope to see your ownership thread soon with lots of pics.

Last edited by Sommos : 11th February 2013 at 11:09.
Sommos is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th February 2013, 12:48   #452

Re: Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Othe

Originally Posted by travelex View Post
Chose and bought Rapid elegance 2012 model for 10.07 on road. Drove on the highway yesterday and absolutely love the drive.
Many congrats ! do post your ownership review once you have explored the Rapid !
stringbh is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th February 2013, 13:26   #453

Originally Posted by vineet1712 View Post
Budget:Under 12L(OTR)
Fueliesel
Daily drive:90Km (50 highway /50 city)
Iam not a speedester rarely go above 130.
Major Requirement is Fuel efficiency as i need to travel a lot.
And then look both interiror and exteriror.
Dont want to buy Dzire as i dont like the looks.
Iam looking for car that look like and have feature like verna and efficiency as dzire or Amaze(24Kmpl)..

Please pour in your suggestion or question i need to buy the car in next 1 month.
Get the Verna and drive it below 80 and get the desired fuel effeciency. Frankly the Verna is the best looking vehicle in the segment and had the highest feature list. Yep Rapid and Vento will drive better but somehow that does not seem to be you key requirement so Verna itself will be the best bet. The Manza Club Class top model is also a great feature package. The Linea will depreciate too fast and a refreshed one can be expected sooner than later so will not suggest that one. Fiesta will depreciate in value too soon as well.

Do check out the Duster 85BHP or wait for the eco sport (APR - book without test drive and final price to get in May) they both may just meet all your needs and give you somemore delight in the process.

1) Eco Sport Diesel - almost sedan like to drive
2) Duster 85 BHP Top Spec varient - almost sedan like to drive
3) Verna.
4) Rapid / Vento - Built better than the above 3 with decent feature set and better ride and drive but but..Skoda? and VW?

All are good lookers with decent interiors and will give decent fuel effeciency if driven well.

Fuel consumption does also depend on how light and how powerfull an engine is so if the power is less and the car is built lighter (thiner panels and door that don't close with a Thud plus lesser features) then you can get better fuel effeciency so it always ends up being a compromise. (This is not to say that some engines are indeed better at FE than others)

Last edited by ACM : 11th February 2013 at 13:28.
Old 11th February 2013, 15:36   #454

Hi Bhpians

i wrote my i20(Petrol Asta) exp earlier and now iam back.This time need your help in buying a Sedan car.
Budget:Under 12L(OTR)
Fueliesel
Daily drive:90Km (50 highway /50 city)
Iam not a speedester rarely go above 130.
Major Requirement is Fuel efficiency as i need to travel a lot.
And then look both interiror and exteriror.
Dont want to buy Dzire as i dont like the looks.
Iam looking for car that look like and have feature like verna and efficiency as dzire or Amaze(24Kmpl)..

Please pour in your suggestion or question i need to buy the car in next 1 month.
Hi Vineet,

I will suggest you go with VW vento TDI over sokda rapid and will try explaining why based on the options in hand around 10lakhs. My suggestions below is not to say the other options discardrd here are not worth but is just indicative of the value for money proposition.

I also own vento diesel and driving it for more than 2 years(44k on ODO) and have tested the same in all kind of rough terrains. Servicing cost has been around 8k every 15k and have done that twice till now. This includes wear and tear because of driving within interior M.P, UP and many other bad shaped roads. The car is still as it was on day 1.. all parts intact and well performing.

In terms of combined performance and fuel efficiency results, both vento and rapid TDI lead this segment with the best engines in class to offer with complete driving control. Skoda has borrowed the same engine and done refinements but the mother is still VW. Servicing network of VW is far far better and expanding gradually. Skoda servicing has yet to travel a long distance considering you want to have a multi city support and not just your own city.

Long distance drives(around 18k one way), you get around 19 kmpl consistently whatever way speed you want to drive the vento(assuming you drive in the recommended gear/speed ratios). You can get 20+ if you can limit your speeds around 100 which is upto you. I can touch 25+ on descent expressways today also if I can consistently drive around 90 with minimal breaking. May be amaze or, sunny can deliver slightly more FE but then they lack drastically in terms of power. So in single lane highways where you want to overtake effortlessly(without shifting lower gears) or, on hilly terrains with full load+AC on, VW or, skoda are the better options with the driving fun factor. German engineering does provide you long lasting prodcucts with a classic blend of performance, reliability, safety and FE.

I will just give you one more example to think(not to offend anyone here) - except for german cars in this segment no other manufacturer has the stable blend of everything(excluding the 6 airbags feature). All manufacturers have reduced the engine power or, increased the number of available gears to maintain good FE. Why wasnt this the case with VW or, skoda(its german engine anyways)? Why does VW cars offer good ride in city as well as highways as well as really bad roads? How can they ensure power with FE with corner control at high speeds or, driving on any kind of rough roads? Why is anything they manufacture perfect and lasts the longest(unless I damage myself)?

Honetly, I also dont know all the answers but their automobile engineers have spend enough time and efforts to strike the right balance between the required features and the servicing cost(I have shared with you already above). You can read more on ownership threads with people owning vento for 50k now. VW is offerring almost all of the gizmos that were earlier only available with verna.

Whichever option you choose, try to get the maximum returns(performance, comfort, brand value) without compromising on engine power.

Try and see a verna and vw car driven upto 50k to compare. You will get answer yourself as to which product remains intact. Also note that we dont generally buy cars only for its chunky cosmetic features. It has to be the maximum VFM for the buyer so that whoever at home drives the vehicle does get the extreme satisfaction. Safety cannot be only guranteed with 6 airbags. Car build quality has a major role to play!!!

Hope you make the right choice!!! All the best...
Old 11th February 2013, 16:18   #455

Thanks @ ACM and Nikelesh.

Your suggestions are really valued......

I really dont wana go with Skoda,Ford,Renault,Nissan
as iam not sure about A.S.S and parts availablity say after 3-4 years.

If you see iam going to really be driving a lot around 25k-30k Km/Year.
In that regard i really need a Strong and Reliable car.
When reliablity comes i trust Maruti,Honda,VW,Toyota.

Maruti i dont think i have any option
Honda----I am really thinking about Amaze(24km/pl)
Vw-----Vento(I just not able to finalize as i dont know about average some guys say 14-15 and some say 18max other wise i can buy highline)
Toyota Etios-----i think the best engine and reliable ,no cost of servicing(Only thing where it get hit is Interior.not sure on fuel efficiency)

@ACM---I dont Want Rapid because its not for me.(iam too small for that car or it would have been in my garage by now.
Old 11th February 2013, 16:30   #456

Thanks @ ACM and Nikelesh.

Your suggestions are really valued......
Vw-----Vento(I just not able to finalize as i dont know about average some guys say 14-15 and some say 18max other wise i can buy highline)
I did indicate on the vento TDI FE figures and am using it for so long that I can give you the true picture for FE unbiased.

I tried sending my contact number to you by team bhp message but your account settings doesnt allow sending anything in person to you. You can send me your details by message and can give you a call rightaway. Rest upto you

Note from the Team-BHP Support: Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another on the same thread.

Last edited by Technocrat : 13th February 2013 at 04:39. Reason: Please read the note in your post, thanks
Old 11th February 2013, 17:22   #457

I really dont wana go with Skoda,Ford,Renault,Nissan
as iam not sure about A.S.S and parts availablity say after 3-4 years.

If you see iam going to really be driving a lot around 25k-30k Km/Year.
In that regard i really need a Strong and Reliable car.
When reliablity comes i trust Maruti,Honda,VW,Toyota.
If you don't want to go with Skoda, it is purely your decision and all would respect it. However, there are many Rapid owners in the forum, who are very happy about the car.

In general it is believed that the Japs/ Koreans are more reliable than the Europeans.

Maruti i dont think i have any option
Honda----I am really thinking about Amaze(24km/pl)
Toyota Etios-----i think the best engine and reliable ,no cost of servicing(Only thing where it get hit is Interior.not sure on fuel efficiency)

@ACM---I dont Want Rapid because its not for me.(iam too small for that car or it would have been in my garage by now.
I thought ACM was suggesting the Verna and not Rapid.
I could not understand while you have discarded the Rapid, you are interested about the Vento. The siblings share identical specs.
Are you interested in having a car with good mileage only, and not one which has good handling and ride confort. I ask this because you said 50% of your usage will be in highways.
Old 11th February 2013, 17:52   #458

Sorry i didnt ment Rapid i ment duster....
@sommos i need very good mileage with nice handlinng and comfort.
Iam very intrested in Verna but Milege of 15 doent allow me to think for it.
@nikesh can you send me an IM now ,iam not able to send one to you

I think iam squaring up the things to Verna SXO or Vento Highline

Or Honda Amaze

Last edited by Technocrat : 13th February 2013 at 04:39.
Old 12th February 2013, 02:36   #459

Thanks a lot for the wishes.
Now time to head to accessories section and look for seat covers and possibly bluetooth and rear parking sensors.
Old 12th February 2013, 10:58   #460

Finally, the Terra Beige Volkswagen Vento TDI HighLine is home
Could not have found a better replacement for the Swift VDI. And yes, this car too will be seeing upwards of 35k kms per year. Ownership thread coming up soon!
Which Diesel car for ~10 Lakh? Vento vs Verna vs Rapid vs Fiesta vs Linea vs Others-600553_10152525462300251_631742165_n.jpg  

satya180 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th February 2013, 11:42   #461

I think iam squaring up the things to Verna SXO or Vento Highline

Or Honda Amaze
Have you given any thought to the Chevrolet Sail Sedan? It is a VFM proposition, with standard 3 yr/1lakh km warranty.
Interiors are nothing to brag about but it is much better than Etios. If a big boot is not a must-have for you, you can try this.
Old 12th February 2013, 13:46   #462

Originally Posted by satya180 View Post
Finally, the Terra Beige Volkswagen Vento TDI HighLine is home
Could not have found a better replacement for the Swift VDI. And yes, this car too will be seeing upwards of 35k kms per year. Ownership thread coming up soon!
Congrats @satya180
I also upgraded from Swift to Vento TDI two years back.. You will luv the change...
Hope to meet you in Pune vento meet(whenever next it happens)
Old 12th February 2013, 16:56   #463

Can some one please tell me the correct average of Verna.

Iam hearing lot of difference voices
some say 13 some 16 some 18 and some even saying 22

What is the Truth
Old 12th February 2013, 17:35   #464

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post one-liners that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the overall quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 20th February 2013 at 10:45.
nikesh is offline   Received Infraction
Old 12th February 2013, 19:26   #465

Note from Mod: There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the board experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use spell-checkers.

Last edited by GTO : 20th February 2013 at 10:46.
vineet1712 is offline   Received Infraction

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com