Old 12th September 2012, 17:44   #166

Re: Fish me out of this 15 lac soup!

Originally Posted by Omtoatom View Post
Yeah overall, JMD enjoys a better reputation over the others. Like you said, they deal straight and most customers appreciate that. I mean, come on, we know our car stuff right
+1

Originally Posted by Omtoatom View Post
Like I said, since you're in no hurry, might as well wait for a freshly indented one. Are you going with the Ambition TSI in black btw?
Black unfortunately is not available at the factory, so a freshly indented car will be either white or silver, wife agreed for silver so silver it is. Though this will be our 3rd silver car. But I will sit inside and be on the driver's seat and that is what matters to me

Originally Posted by dezrskb View Post
Put down to dealer in advance specifically what all parameters (or lack of it) will not be acceptable to you if not met with (like manufacture date).

Solution to the Odo reading problem is to go to the stockyard on the day car arrives and see the reading. After that you know what is the reasonable distance it may run before delivered to you and no need to accompany the sales agent around the town
Just spoke in detail with them on the expectations from my side, I also spoke to the GM of JMD auto stating the same. Given the references and long association of JMD with my employer, I would assume them not to goof up.

Unfortunately I will not be in town when the car arrives, but will again trust them here as I have clearly told them that I will decline delivery is PDI is not satisfactory.
Old 12th September 2012, 18:25   #167

Originally Posted by Shreyas Aterkar

Unfortunately I will not be in town when the car arrives, but will again trust them here as I have clearly told them that I will decline delivery is PDI is not satisfactory.
Still 2 solutions exist.
1. Ask the dealer to click a snap of odo reading as it arrives and mail it to you.
2. Ask a relative / a friend to check the reading for you.
But these actions are advisable for truly paranoid and will betray the lack of trust and may make them hostile (but I doubt it, till you pay the complete amount due, they will comply)
Most banks happily disburse the DD few days early, even before your car arrives. But if you specifically instruct them to hold it till you have inspected the car, they too will have to comply. If dealer is aware of this, he is under pressure to deliver goods in good condition and on time. But of course this works if bank loan constitutes large part of payment.
Best of luck with the purchasing process!!
dezrskb is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th September 2012, 08:49   #168

Originally Posted by dezrskb View Post
Still 2 solutions exist.
1. Ask the dealer to click a snap of odo reading as it arrives and mail it to you.
2. Ask a relative / a friend to check the reading for you.
But these actions are advisable for truly paranoid and will betray the lack of trust and may make them hostile (but I doubt it, till you pay the complete amount due, they will comply)
Most banks happily disburse the DD few days early, even before your car arrives. But if you specifically instruct them to hold it till you have inspected the car, they too will have to comply. If dealer is aware of this, he is under pressure to deliver goods in good condition and on time. But of course this works if bank loan constitutes large part of payment.
Best of luck with the purchasing process!!
I think, I will ask the sales advisor to call me and let me know the odo reading when the car lands at their stock yard and as soon as I am back, will go to the stock yard to inspect. I will trust them on this given the references here. Also, I have asked them not to proceed with registration unless I am satisfied with the PDI. Hoping for the best.
Old 13th September 2012, 23:18   #169

Originally Posted by BoeingDriver View Post
http://motoroids.com/upcoming-launch...l-the-details/

+ a friend of mine who happens to be an chevy dealers close relative confirmed the same.

is this true ? I have been running from pillar to post trying to get information on the new Cruze launch. Infact I was going to book the Cruze AT this weekend, but after seeing this video and post- I am again stuck nowhere.

Please refer to my post on this topic.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offici...-review-8.html

If someone can provide me some accurate information on this new and related details, it will make my life far easier. Due to this ongoing uncertainty, I am on the verge of dropping the idea of buying a car all together

Originally Posted by drchernish View Post
From where did you get this info? Are they reliable sources?

Dr.Cherish, can you confirm or updtae on the launch of this new Cruze as posted by BoeingDriver ? This is extremely confusing but IMO can be correct news.

Note from Moderator : Please read the rules of the forum before proceeding. Repeat will earn an infraction

Last edited by mobike008 : 14th September 2012 at 10:41.
Old 25th October 2012, 09:20   #170

Guys, finally the turbo beast i.e. Laura 1.8 TSI Ambeinte is home. We took the delivery yesterday on Dusshehra. Its silver in colour. Got the following accessories fitted from the dealer - 1) Chrome exhaust tips 2) Illuminated door sills and 3) High security number plates. Had asked for 3D mats as well. They said they have but when I saw, these were some other brand and definately not worth the price, so cancelled that and now I am off to searching for those here in Mumbai. Other things that I purchased 1) Jabra Freeway from ebay 2) Got the stock goodyears changed to Michelins Primary LC from Saifee tyres, Mumbai and 3) Got an Aux in cable

When the car landed in the dealer's stockyard, it had ~ 11 kms on the odo. Initial impressions are very nice. Stopping myself from revving the car beyond 2500 rpm. Its a very smooth drive after graduating from the Esteem. Just getting used to drive this beast in start stop traffic and learning to avoid stalling it. Will try to put up some pics during the PDI and during the delivery in a couple of days.

Thanks for all your inputs!

Last edited by Shreyas Aterkar : 25th October 2012 at 09:24.
Shreyas Aterkar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th October 2012, 12:20   #171

Originally Posted by Shreyas Aterkar View Post
Guys, finally the turbo beast i.e. Laura 1.8 TSI Ambeinte is home. We took the delivery yesterday on Dusshehra. Its silver in colour.
Congratulations Shreyas. Please do start a detailed ownership thread once you clock some kms with the TSI
The Ambition comes with 15” wheels right?
vb-saan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th October 2012, 12:55   #172

Originally Posted by vb-san View Post
Congratulations Shreyas. Please do start a detailed ownership thread once you clock some kms with the TSI
The Ambition comes with 15” wheels right?
Thanks a lot VB! Yes, the Ambition comes with 15" wheels (195/65/R15).

And yes, I will write a detailed ownership review once I clock some reasonable kms. With under 100kms of driving, I would not be able to do justice to the review.

Thanks again!
Old 25th October 2012, 15:47   #173

Congratulations, on your super Laura, did you get the additional warranty 2+2 and what discount did they factor in for you? drive safe
Old 26th October 2012, 06:46   #174

Originally Posted by TRANSAM View Post
Congratulations, on your super Laura, did you get the additional warranty 2+2 and what discount did they factor in for you? drive safe
Thanks transam! Yes I did get to additional warranty i.e. the skoda shield and also drive assure i.e. Zero dep. Huge discounts can be obtained on the petrol model anywhere from 2.5 to 3 lakhs.
Old 26th October 2012, 11:13   #175

Stopping myself from revving the car beyond 2500 rpm.
Congrats, but why would you do that? The car can revv till almost 7000rpm. You are taking it just over 1/3rd of the usable power. I don't think this is written in the manual. Enjoy your car, don't take it over 4000rpm. 2500 is ridiculously low.
Old 26th October 2012, 11:41   #176

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
Congrats, but why would you do that? The car can revv till almost 7000rpm. You are taking it just over 1/3rd of the usable power. I don't think this is written in the manual. Enjoy your car, don't take it over 4000rpm. 2500 is ridiculously low.
I know 2500 is very low, I am used to changing gears at at least 3000 rpm in my esteem. I read this run-in stuff in the manual, will try to upload the same sometime later. But the TSI engine is very addictive and it revvs so effortlessly that its a treat to drive this beast. Though, in start stop Mumbai traffic, I felt the clutch was a bit harder than my esteem and I need to get used to this.

Well, had a few questions, would appreciate your inputs on this:

1) Do you idle the car for some time the first time you drive for the day and idle when ur done for the day? Read somewhere on the forum about this.

2) Do you take it easy for a few minutes when you start driving in terms of revving the engine so that the engine warms up a bit before the turbo starts its work?

3) The drive side seat belt hook keeps on hitting the B pillar and makes an irritating noise when I take a turn. Have you faced this? Though is not a major issue, but is there any easy fix to this?

4) Though there is a check up at 7500 kms or 6 months, do you suggest keeping a can of engine oil, as I have read on the forum that TSI is thirsty during the initial days w.r.t. the engine oil? HOw has been your experience on this front.

Old 26th October 2012, 12:10   #177

I know 2500 is very low, I am used to changing gears at at least 3000 rpm in my esteem. I read this run-in stuff in the manual, will try to upload the same sometime later. But the TSI engine is very addictive and it revvs so effortlessly that its a treat to drive this beast. Though, in start stop Mumbai traffic, I felt the clutch was a bit harder than my esteem and I need to get used to this.

Well, had a few questions, would appreciate your inputs on this:

1) Do you idle the car for some time the first time you drive for the day and idle when ur done for the day? Read somewhere on the forum about this.

2) Do you take it easy for a few minutes when you start driving in terms of revving the engine so that the engine warms up a bit before the turbo starts its work?

3) The drive side seat belt hook keeps on hitting the B pillar and makes an irritating noise when I take a turn. Have you faced this? Though is not a major issue, but is there any easy fix to this?

4) Though there is a check up at 7500 kms or 6 months, do you suggest keeping a can of engine oil, as I have read on the forum that TSI is thirsty during the initial days w.r.t. the engine oil? HOw has been your experience on this front.

The manual must have said 2500rpm for the diesel. I doubt its that for the petrol. Either way, try not to cross 4k rpm, and don't give full throttle till 1000kms.

1) I don't idle it when I just start the car, but I have instructed my driver and I too idle it for say 20-30 seconds before putting the car off. Especially if I have driven hard.

2) Till the temperature needle goes at least a quarter of the way to H I keep it below 3000rpm and don't give more than half throttle. After quarter it should be fine.

3) You mean passenger side? I think I had this problem sometimes earlier, but it doesn't seem to happen now.

4) Definitely keep one can of engine oil. The car will use some oil, I had to get it topped up once or twice, I think at 4000 kms. Keep checking the engine oil every 500kms.
Akshay1234 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th October 2012, 12:39   #178

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
The manual must have said 2500rpm for the diesel. I doubt its that for the petrol. Either way, try not to cross 4k rpm, and don't give full throttle till 1000kms.

1) I don't idle it when I just start the car, but I have instructed my driver and I too idle it for say 20-30 seconds before putting the car off. Especially if I have driven hard.

2) Till the temperature needle goes at least a quarter of the way to H I keep it below 3000rpm and don't give more than half throttle. After quarter it should be fine.

3) You mean passenger side? I think I had this problem sometimes earlier, but it doesn't seem to happen now.

4) Definitely keep one can of engine oil. The car will use some oil, I had to get it topped up once or twice, I think at 4000 kms. Keep checking the engine oil every 500kms.
Thanks a lot for your quick revert. Will keep these things in mind. Also, will go through the manual this weekend. Thanks again!
Old 26th October 2012, 23:40   #179

hope i am posting in the proper thread. this is my dilemma. we are graduating from honda city and are now confused. let me tell my specs and would like to get your inputs on what would be the best vehicle

a) Good Rear seat space for 3 adults . (Honda city was a bit apt for us)
b) would be chaffeur driven for majority of the time. 70% city to city commute (chennai )and 30% to other cities thru highway.
c) Should have good pickup.
d) I am not an enthusiast and max speed might be 110-120.
e) safety is must
f) Good after sales service
g) affordable maintenance cost?
h) average mileage - 12 - 15k / year

which vehicle do i go for or do i just have the verna which fits my bill? do i go for petrol or diesel? dad was mentioning that we shud be going for diesel, but i am not sure. added bonus would be looks and snob value.

Prash
Old 26th October 2012, 23:46   #180

Congrats, Shreyas, on your new acquisition! I can imagine how you must be feeling!! Enjoy the car and do keep updating us on your experience. Am waiting for my Yeti 4x2 to be delivered sometime next week!