(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
I am planning to drive down to Dharamshala in the last week of August. I would be driving down with my mother and brother in my i20. Ideally I intend to drive down from gurgaon, till any intermediate location, halt for the night and then drive on the next day to Dharamshala
Queries:
-Could anyone suggest a good place in between to stay, so that on 2nd day, I can reach dharamshala by noon.
-Should I stay at Dharamshala or McLeodgang? Ive heard drive to Mcleodganj is quite steep.
-Advice the best route. I was told that either I could go via Bilaspur Swarghat Mandi and onwards. Kindly suggest.
-Has any one ventured on that side recently. Any streches to to avoid? How are the road conditions.
-How feasible does Bhakra nangal, jwaladevi and chintpurni look.
I still haven't decided the number of days, but the itinerary as of now is
Day 1: Drive from Gurgaon till intermediary destination(not sure where I should halt)
Day 2: drive to Dharamshala
Day 3,4 stay at Daramshala/Mcleodganj
Day 5: Depart from Dharamshala/Mcleodgang, stay at location (not sure, please suggest)
Day 6 return to Gurgaon
Would appreciate your response. Any additional tips. I am new to hill driving. Pls help...
I would stay in one of the Haryana Tourism motels - at Sonipat, Panipat, Karnal, Kurukshetra or Ambala.
Of the 2 routes to Dharamasala - the first via Kiratpur/Amb and the second via Pathankot - please note that road conditions around Ropa, Kiratpur and Amb are bad, and in respect of the second, you will have to content with diversions due to road widening on NH1 and heavy traffic (besides being the longer route).
Bhakra Nangal is off the Kiratpur-Una road, and an easy detour.
Road from Dharamsala to Mcleodganj is like any normal Himalayan road; however, the one-way road to descend may be a little more steeper than usual. No problems, except that you need to be careful since it is also a narrow road.
Avoid Bhakra route its a moonscape. Best bet is still Ropar, Nangal, Mehatpur, Amb, Dehra, Kangra, Dsala. If you are religious minded I will suggest visiting Chintpurni, Jawlaji and Ma Hateshwari temples enroute. If you want to be absolutely comfortable then do Gurgaon - Nangal the first day and then the next visit the temples enroute and reach Dsala by say 1400 hrs or so. Avoid Bilaspur route, too long, Patankot route too tiring.
There is another route to Dharamshala which goes via Delhi - Ambala - Ludhiana, Phagwara - Hoshiarpur - Gagret - Kangra - Dharamshala . This route will be longer by around 50 - 60 Kms but you can visit Chintpurni Mata, Jawala ji and Chamunda Devi temples enroute to Dharamshala. You may have to face few bad patches around Hoshiarpur.
If you intend to take this route then I would advise to leave early in the morning and reach Chintpurni mata in the evening. Spend night in a hotel at Chintpurni (check devotees rush on Sunday and Tuesday mornings). Next day you can go to Jawala Ji and Chamunda Devi and then reach Dharamshala by afternoon.
Do PM me, if you need further details.
cheers!
IRISH
Absolute No to staying at lower Dharamsala! McLeodGanj or better still Naddi village are the places to stay. Drive to MG is not steep IMO, but yeah, last 4-5 drive from D'sala to Naddi village is steep. I'd to drive my Esteem, containing 4 people and their luggage mostly in 1st & 2nd gear for that distance.
The road around Una was full of potholes and after Una, there was road widening in progress, so it was a dirt/gravel track for ~20 Km.
Thanks a ton folks.
So there are three routes,
1. Ropar, Nangal, Mehatpur, Amb, Dehra, Kangra, Dsala
2. Via Pathankot
3. Delhi - Ambala - Ludhiana, Phagwara - Hoshiarpur - Gagret - Kangra - Dharamshala
I have been told that the third route has least mountain drive.
Also, I have not driven on the hills too much. I have done Manali last year. Just wanted to know if the highways on the hills around Dharamshala/ McLeodganj are as good as the those near Manali.
If I chose to stay at Nangal, are there any good resorts which you could suggest, near the dam/ or with good view?
I am just a bit apprehensive driving with my family, so if you could suggest the best route.
@Karmachakra - Though I have't been there lately but I think option 3 is a better route. Try to stay at McLeodganj at any of the hotels. McLeodganj is much cooler than Dharamshala and will give you the feel of a proper hill station. As far as driving up to McLeodganj is concerned, just drive on your side and honk wherever neccessary and you should be good.
Regarding the stopover you could also stop at Ludhiana on your way up and back. All the best !
Kamachakra, Refer my T-Log details
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...ala-delhi.html
if you have not seen Amritsar, spend a day there its worth it. You can also see golden temple and Wagah border too. The route from Una - Kangra is in bad shape when we went in Jan 2010.
As for staying i suggest to stay a Dharamshala - it will be easy to travel to other places like Palampur, Billing, Baijnath temple etc. Mcleodgang requires only a day trip. if you are not intending to travel , the Mcleodgang is better.
v&v
Thanks very much. Somehow, last year the trip did not materialise. This year I am now planning to go again finally to Mcleodganj. I have taken leave from 21st May- 28th May. So a total of 8 days.
I intend to
Day 1
Drive from gurgaon on the following route
Delhi - Ambala - Ludhiana, Phagwara - Hoshiarpur - Gagret - Kangra - Dharamshala.
Stay night 1 at chintpurni mata
Day 2: Go to Jawala Ji and Chamunda Devi and then reach Dharamshala by afternoon
Question: would bhakra nangal also fall on this route? or should i cover it in my return trip back to gurgaon
Confused on place to stay
I want to visit lot of places in the area including
-mcleodganj
-naddi
-palampur
-bhagsunath falls
-andretta
- any other place to visit?? any ideas
based on above places, im nt sure where i should stay.
I was initially thinking mc leodganj, but one of freinds also suggested naddi.
I am just trying to avoid my car getting stuck in some narrow city road in the hills.
Are HPTDC hotels good? any other ideas/ suggestions on places to stay?
DAY2; reach dharamshala/mcldgnj,
DAY3/4: visit places in this area
Day 5: either i continue staying here, or i goto stay at palampur or any other nearby area.
Day 6: drive back till some in between place. how would bhakra nagal be as a spot.
Day 7: get back to gurgaon
Too many questions, but i am just trying to make a plan. your inputs would be appreciated.
PS: As a foodie, any must visit places to eat... lemme know
-?? any other places
Delhi - Ambala - Ludhiana, Phagwara - Hoshiarpur - Gagret - Kangra - Dharamshala.
You should instead go - Delhi - Ambala - Chandigarh - Ropar - Nawanshar - Hoshiarpur -route - NH1 is in very bad condition so Ambala - Ludhiana is going to take not less than 2- 2/1/2 Hours
Plenty of food joints on delhi - Chandigarh way - you can stop at Murthal haveli - on left while going to Ambala or at Neelkanth just before Karnal - if you are travelling in day time - take care of speed between - delhi Border ( after Rai ) & Murthal and near karnal , if you take NH1 to Ludhiana than take care between Ambala & rajpura as well , mostly in day time only
If you are going trough Chandigarh you can stop at Hoshiarpurian Da Dhaba at BP pump at Balachaur - order there Famous Karhi Pakora & dont forget to take BARFI - they make from pure Milk - You will no where get this kind of tasty burfi
If you have time you can go to Dalhousie & Chamba
Folks,
I have some more structure into my plan.
Day1: Delhi- Chintpurni Devi
(Route: via ropar.. Thanks Turbanator)
I heard, the Una Amb stretch is in a abad state with a strech of 30 kms bad. Any recent road conditions to avoid this stretch?
Chintpruni devi darshan in the evening or early morning at around 4.
Day 2: Drive - Chintpurni Devi- JwalaDevi-Kangra Devi-Chamunda Devi- All temples- would keep my mother happy. Reach Dhramshala by evening
Stay at dharamshala or MCLDGNG. Any good places..? How is Hotel Bhagsu at MCD.
Day 3: Discover MCLDGNG, go to dal lake/ bhagsu falls
Day 4: Go to Palampur. I haven't decided yet. Any other suggestions for nearby place to stay. Visit tea gradens, andretta, Baijnath.
Day 5: Go to Nainadevi/ bhakra nagal and return to gurgaon.
Which would be the best route for return.
Any further inputs...? or latest road conditions, any other places that must be visited in the vicinity.
Thanks a ton .. and i look forward to your responses. Still lot of planning to do.
Originally Posted by karmachakra
(Post 2352501)
Folks,
I have some more structure into my plan.
Day1: Delhi- Chintpurni Devi
(Route: via ropar.. Thanks Turbanator)
I heard, the Una Amb stretch is in a abad state with a strech of 30 kms bad. Any recent road conditions to avoid this stretch?
Chintpruni devi darshan in the evening or early morning at around 4.
Day 2: Drive - Chintpurni Devi- JwalaDevi-Kangra Devi-Chamunda Devi- All temples- would keep my mother happy. Reach Dhramshala by evening
Stay at dharamshala or MCLDGNG. Any good places..? How is Hotel Bhagsu at MCD.
Day 3: Discover MCLDGNG, go to dal lake/ bhagsu falls
Day 4: Go to Palampur. I haven't decided yet. Any other suggestions for nearby place to stay. Visit tea gradens, andretta, Baijnath.
Day 5: Go to Nainadevi/ bhakra nagal and return to gurgaon.
Which would be the best route for return.
Any further inputs...? or latest road conditions, any other places that must be visited in the vicinity.
Thanks a ton .. and i look forward to your responses. Still lot of planning to do.
Cheers |
Palampur you can stay at Hotel Tea bud. Its Himachal Tourism hotel. You can visit Niggle cafe in evening, good place. Must visit S. Shobha singh art gallery in Andretta.
A question at this juncture: If i cover Chintpurni, Jwaladevi,Kangra Devi, Chamunda Devi on Day 2, and then go to Dharamshala, would it take me the entire day? Or can all this be covered in 5-6 hours and I could spend half a day at Dharamshala..?
Any other inputs/ responses....
Originally Posted by Turbanator
(Post 2352280)
You should instead go - Delhi - Ambala - Chandigarh - Ropar - Nawanshar - Hoshiarpur -route - NH1 is in very bad condition so Ambala - Ludhiana is going to take not less than 2- 2/1/2 Hours |
No need to go to Nawanshahr! Turn right from Balachaur towards Garhshankar - Mahilpur - Hoshiarpur.
Ropar - Nawanshahr leads to Jalandhar.
Originally Posted by karmachakra
(Post 2354084)
A question at this juncture: If i cover Chintpurni, Jwaladevi,Kangra Devi, Chamunda Devi on Day 2, and then go to Dharamshala, would it take me the entire day? Or can all this be covered in 5-6 hours and I could spend half a day at Dharamshala..?
Any other inputs/ responses.... |
You can cover Chintpurni - Jwala ji (a small detour) - Kangra Devi on way to D'sala from Delhi.
Chamunda ji is in between D'sala - Palampur (35 km). Also visit old Shiva Temple at Baijnath (17 km from Palampur)
Lots of options there. If you are staying at Palampur (Which in my view is a more logical choice than Dsala) then you can see the following :
1. Plpur-Uttrala Hydel Station-Baijnath-Andretta-Plpur.
2. Plpur local neugal cafe- Tea factory-A small temple of a village diety beyond neugal.
3. Plpur-Chamunda Devi-Dsla-Mcleodganj-Bhagsu nath either stay there or return back to Plpur.
I would prefer you do Jwalaji- Chintpurni- Kangra devi on your way to Plpur.
On your way back come via Hamirpur, do baba balaknath and Bhakra Dam and if still upto it Naina devi.