(
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/)
waking up the old thread, have you guys observed that NH numberings have started to change? NH7 from Bangalore to Hyderabad is now NH 44, there has been change of numbers to NH 4 Bangalore - Belgaum section too. Is there any notification from NHAI on this?
And the new concept of Asian Highway (AH) being introduced in Indian roads too.
yes, i saw changes on google maps over the last week. Crazy it is!
I have seen an "AH" board on the outskirts of the Chennai on NH5 ( Chennai - Kolkata ) route
Originally Posted by asdon
(Post 2699884)
waking up the old thread, have you guys observed that NH numberings have started to change? NH7 from Bangalore to Hyderabad is now NH 44, there has been change of numbers to NH 4 Bangalore - Belgaum section too. Is there any notification from NHAI on this? |
This was decided way back:
Press Information Bureau English Releases. Google Maps has been showing the new numbers for a while now.
My personal take is that this is a sheer waste of money. Obviously the government doesn't agree with me :)
The table of old and new numbers is available here:
http://www.keralapwd.gov.in/compRepo...0Numbering.pdf Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlon
(Post 2700355)
I have seen an "AH" board on the outskirts of the Chennai on NH5 ( Chennai - Kolkata ) route |
Those are Asian Highways - can be seen on NH4 in Karnataka too.
Asian Highway Network - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
I saw NH7 suddenly being shown as NH34 in MP. While it continues to be in NH7 in UP. This is in Google Maps. Quite a lot of craziness going around it seems. Shouldn't it be done on one single day/moment/second/eon and all the changes become effective at one go? Whose bone headed idea was it to do it in a phased manner? No wonder MMI has been delaying their map updates till now. Now I know why.
Hi everybody
Some babu sitting in his air conditioned cabin decided that.
We would all prefer better roads rather than new numbers.
We in India fritter away our energy and resources on non issues.
Yes, the signanges with new highway numbers have started coming up in various places, saw NH66 signage near Mangalore. Also noticed several places now also have AH (Asian Highway) signage.
In fact my first experience with the renumbering exercise was one where I was surprised - During my visit to Mangalore in august last year I was discussing the route to take from the hotel to Udupi and the gentleman at the travel desk kept correcting me when I said NH17. It almost became an argument when he said there is no NH17 highway in that part of India, it is only NH66 that runs along the coast :Frustrati
Can anybody shed some light on the exact status of this exercise? When I browse through Google Maps, I can see NH7 marked as both NH7 and NH34. What exactly is going on at NHAI? Does anybody have some inside information? Or is this another highway renaming scam organized by the new minister Mr. Kamal Nath? The same highway being called with two different numbers is completely ridiculous.
Seriously the surface transport ministers have been pathetically handling this department under the last 2/3 ministries. AFAIK our current PM was pretty pissed with TR Baalu because of his atrocious record as he couldn't even achieve even 10% growth in roads during his tenure when compared to the previous NDA government. The guy who replaced him carried on the same pathetic record or might have even broken that one and now Kamal Nath seems to be going nowhere in managing NHAI. Add to that, this new recipe of a disaster with partial renaming of the highways with part of the exercise still in limbo.
Why do we have all the village idiots of India managing key ministries at the center is beyond me :Frustrati.
Govt plans new milestones for national highways. Quote:
The markers will be placed at every 200, with the ones at every 1-kilometre and 5-kilometre marks being larger in size. Five hundred ninety nine highways spread over 132,499.5km have been listed as per the new numbering system.
|
The government has set out to address the confusion caused by the 2010 renumbering of India’s 1.32 lakh km long network of national highways that has resulted in a great deal of confusion among commuters.
|
The issue dates back to 2010 when 221 national highways across the country were renumbered with the aim of ensuring more flexibility and creating a systematic numbering scheme based on the orientation and the geographic location of the highway. However, its implementation resulted in creating navigation and technical confusion for both road users and the government itself. Most highways continued to use both or either number; the kilometer stones sometimes carried the new number and sometimes the old one.
|
News Source.