Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 2nd February 2022, 11:55   #631

Re: Tirumala / Tirupati Seegradarshanam query

Originally Posted by adisan View Post
Yes, visited about 5-6 years back. It is in a village, near to Renigunta. Not many people seem to visit the place. It is a very old temple.
Thanks for the response.
Actually I wanted to visit this temple when I visited tirumala last week. But, due to time constraint (as we wanted to return back to Bangalore on the same day), I could not do it. But, I am planning to book the tickets again for March month and at that time, I will try to visit this temple and other ones that I have marked in my google maps.
kavensri is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd February 2022, 19:53   #632

Originally Posted by kavensri View Post
Recently got a whatsapp forward about this temple, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gudimallam_Lingam and http://know-your-heritage.blogspot.c...66V02vKtHWTvKq.

And the location is very near to Tirupati, https://goo.gl/maps/aWSS3wRRwJw1aKBDA.
Has anyone visited this temple? Looks really interesting though.
I visited this temple in 2019. When I visited this temple, I had to go through a road that was directly like the main road in a village and an unofficial parking fees was also collected. Looks like the whole village was in on it. I tried to argue, but better sense prevailed and just paid the fees.

The temple itself is very small. There is a board by ASI giving the history of the temple. The statue itself in within the sanctum sanctorum of the temple. I had visited this temple as a deviation in between SriKalahasti and Tirupati. The roads after the deviation is quite scenic and at many times, the traffic quite sparse, roads were fine, lots of deviations, if you want to drive within some farms, it is possible. We chose a different route to tirupati then the one that we took when coming from SKH. Mobile reception was poor enroute, we had downloaded maps on the phone and lots of water in the car.

The afternoon was the only feasible time for us, sun was quite harsh. This made walking on the stone cut path into a tap dance.
Old 2nd February 2022, 19:58   #633

Originally Posted by govigov View Post
I visited this temple in 2019. When I visited this temple, I had to go through a road that was directly like the main road in a village and an unofficial parking fees was also collected. Looks like the whole village was in on it. I tried to argue, but better sense prevailed and just paid the fees.

The temple itself is very small. There is a board by ASI giving the history of the temple. The statue itself in within the sanctum sanctorum of the temple. I had visited this temple as a deviation in between SriKalahasti and Tirupati. The roads after the deviation is quite scenic and at many times, the traffic quite sparse, roads were fine, lots of deviations, if you want to drive within some farms, it is possible. We chose a different route to tirupati then the one that we took when coming from SKH. Mobile reception was poor enroute, we had downloaded maps on the phone and lots of water in the car.

The afternoon was the only feasible time for us, sun was quite harsh. This made walking on the stone cut path into a tap dance.
Thanks for all the information that you have shared above. This will definitely help me when I am planning to visit this temple in March.
Old 3rd February 2022, 16:52   #634

Finally after months of trials we got blessed with SED slot on 10th Feb; 5:00pm.
I will be driving from Kochi to Tirumala with my wife + 2 sons, following is the plan which I am thinking,
9th Feb: Early morning start from Kochi by 4:00AM, and hope to reach Tirupati by evening 6-7pm, (google map shows around 650Kms, and 12.5Hrs drive time, with breaks in between I am thinking of around 12-14Hrs time)
10th Feb: Early Morning darshan at Padmavati temple, By 9-10, I am thinking to go to Tirumala, and have darshan at “sri bhu varaha swamy temple" at Tirumala, and wait at Tirumala top, By 2 or 3 join the queue for SED darshan
After darshan come back and stay for night at Tirupati
11th Feb: Early morning travel to Sri Kalahasteeswara temple, and by noon plan to drive back to Kochi
Based on forum feedback I plan to book stay at Pai Viceroy, and I hope secured parking is present in the same hotel,
For parking at Tirumala I follow the forum suggestion "https://goo.gl/maps/5kD2ednEMzSQrngJ7"

Can you please guide me with the following points
Is this travel plan is good enough or need any changes due to the time crunch?
What time does the Padmavati temple open for darshan? Will the temple allow darshan by morning 6:00am? In web it shows from 5:30AM onwards, but any covid restriction on darshan timings?
What time does the “sri bhu varaha swamy temple" close at Tirumala, will I be able to reach before morning time closure after having darshan at Sri Padmavati temple? In website it shows different timing some say 9:00AM or some place it say 12:00Pm etc.… any latest update?
To reach this parking lot do I have to take the Tirumala outer ring road? Google map shows the path through Tirumala ring road,
My son is not recovered fully after a surgery and need to take rest in between, that is one personal restriction which I have, he still can’t walk long in a stretch, max feasible is around 10mins walk, then he need to sit and charge up, hence checking,
Can I take glucose water in a bottle for him inside the temple/Q complex?
How far is the SED Q complex from this parking lot? In my SED ticket it is shown us to report at ATC circle, is both ATC circle and Vaikuntam Q Complex near the parking lot is same? Do I need to hire a jeep/auto to drop us at ATC SED Q complex?
Any specific travel restriction while entering AP or TN? both my self and wife is double vaccinated and will carry vaccination certificate, other than that we all plan to take RTPCR test on coming Tuesday to meet the 72Hr RTPCR requirement, If we get RTPCR -ve certificate by Tueday evening then it should valid till Friday evening correct? (72Hrs),
Any guidance on these points? Hope to have a peaceful darshan
Old 3rd February 2022, 17:23   #635

Some of your queries answered below:

Originally Posted by Manoj View Post
What time does the Padmavati temple open for darshan? Will the temple allow darshan by morning 6:00am? In web it shows from 5:30AM onwards, but any covid restriction on darshan timings?
Once I went around 6.15 AM and was told that it opens for darshan only after 7.45 AM. Also, sometimes they close the darshan for an hour in between during the day.

What time does the “sri bhu varaha swamy temple" close at Tirumala,
The Bhu Varaha Swamy temple has been closed since the first wave of covid-19. Not sure it has reopened yet.

To reach this parking lot do I have to take the Tirumala outer ring road? Google map shows the path through Tirumala ring road,
Yes.
BTW, there was some damage to the up ghat road, so vehicles share the down ghat road for a few kms, but traffic will be allowed only in one direction at a time. This can easily add almost half an hour each to both up and down journeys, if the up ghat road is not repaired by next week.

My son is not recovered fully after a surgery and need to take rest in between, that is one personal restriction which I have, he still can’t walk long in a stretch, max feasible is around 10mins walk, then he need to sit and charge up, hence checking,
No matter where you park, there will be a bit of walking either to VQC or when returning after darshan. There are free buses as well as paid jeeps that will drop at VQC / back to parking after darshan. Do ensure to note some landmark near where you park.
BTW, after entering VQC there will be at least 15 minutes of walk even if it is direct line to darshan.

Yes, better avoid the use-and-throw plastic bottles.

How far is the SED Q complex from this parking lot? In my SED ticket it is shown us to report at ATC circle, is both ATC circle and Vaikuntam Q Complex near the parking lot is same? Do I need to hire a jeep/auto to drop us at ATC SED Q complex?
Already answered above.

Any specific travel restriction while entering AP or TN?
KA-AP, AP-KA there were never any restrictions. If yours is a KL car, then not sure about KA-TN,TN-KA. Some reports suggest that KL and MH cars are checked at Attibele.

Last edited by adisan : 3rd February 2022 at 17:28.
adisan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2022, 17:40   #636
BRV

What time does the “sri bhu varaha swamy temple" close at Tirumala, will I be able to reach before morning time closure after having darshan at Sri Padmavati temple? In website it shows different timing some say 9:00AM or some place it say 12:00Pm etc.… any latest update?

Any specific travel restriction while entering AP or TN?
Per my visit last December
Padmavati temple opens throughout the day - except for an hour or so in the morning / afternoon / evening during special pooja and if there are VIP visits which are not disclosed.

Same for Sri Bhuvaraha Swamy temple which is opened throughout the day.

Though there are boards and instructions to carry RTPCR negative certificates / Double vaccination for Darshan, no one bothered to check.

PS: Only Pushkarini is closed for public
BRV is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2022, 18:06   #637

Thanks a lot for the detailed answers, I will keep these points noted
Yes, I will not carry a plastic bottle
Yes, i will be driving a KL vehicle, but I will not be entering KA, from Krishnagiri to Vellore to Chittoor to Tirupati

Just one more doubt,
My SED ticket shows ATC circle entry, can I utilize the VQC SED entry point? or is it mandatory to enter through ATC circle itself as in SED ticket? Question because VQC seem closer to the parking space, and heard that once inside Queue complex then there are benches to rest, which will be helpful for my son, Can you please confirm on this point as well? Please let me know
Manoj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2022, 18:16   #638

Hope and pray that he recovers fast , about needing assistance due to the surgery I would recommend that you visit a small office on the right side of the main temple ( flush to the temple wall, IIRC a blue colored office which you can see when you exit after Darshana) where you can request them for some special assistance due to the medical condition. When we visited Tirumala, Bhu varahaswamy temple was closed to public including access to the Pushkarni.
mazda4life is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2022, 18:17   #639

My SED ticket shows ATC circle entry, can I utilize the VQC SED entry point? or is it mandatory to enter through ATC circle itself as in SED ticket? Question because VQC seem closer to the parking space, and heard that once inside Queue complex then there are benches to rest, which will be helpful for my son, Can you please confirm on this point as well? Please let me know
VQC is common for all types of darshan, but with different points of entry for different types of darshan. For SED you would have to go only though the ATC circle entry.

Once inside VQC, unless you are directed to one of the waiting rooms, there won't be any benches. The crowds these days are better behaved (in terms of not rushing ahead, not pushing others etc). Whether you would be able to sit while walking in the queue towards the temple is doubtful.

Wishing you a great trip and darshan.
Old 3rd February 2022, 18:20   #640

Originally Posted by BRV View Post
Per my visit last December
Padmavati temple opens throughout the day - except for an hour or so in the morning / afternoon / evening during special pooja and if there are VIP visits which are not disclosed.

Same for Sri Bhuvaraha Swamy temple which is opened throughout the day.

Though there are boards and instructions to carry RTPCR negative certificates / Double vaccination for Darshan, no one bothered to check.

PS: Only Pushkarini is closed for public
Thanks a lot for the good news,
I can have darshan in both these temples.
Ok, I will keep the Pushkarini skipped

Originally Posted by mazda4life View Post
Hope and pray that he recovers fast , about needing assistance due to the surgery I would recommend that you visit a small office on the right side of the main temple ( flush to the temple wall, IIRC a blue colored office which you can see when you exit after Darshana) where you can request them for some special assistance due to the medical condition. When we visited Tirumala, Bhu varahaswamy temple was closed to public including access to the Pushkarni.
Thank you for the wishes, and useful tip, I will keep the point noted, he is able to walk, no special assistance is required, we need to break in between.

VQC is common for all types of darshan, but with different points of entry for different types of darshan. For SED you would have to go only though the ATC circle entry.

Once inside VQC, unless you are directed to one of the waiting rooms, there won't be any benches. The crowds these days are better behaved (in terms of not rushing ahead, not pushing others etc). Whether you would be able to sit while walking in the queue towards the temple is doubtful.

Wishing you a great trip and darshan.
Ok, Got it,
Thank you for the wishes

Last edited by Aditya : 3rd February 2022 at 23:04. Reason: Back to back posts merged
Manoj is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2022, 19:14   #641

The Bhu Varaha Swamy temple has been closed since the first wave of covid-19. Not sure it has reopened yet.
This temple is open now.

BTW, there was some damage to the up ghat road, so vehicles share the down ghat road for a few kms, but traffic will be allowed only in one direction at a time. This can easily add almost half an hour each to both up and down journeys, if the up ghat road is not repaired by next week.
Now the up ghat road is repaired (partially though), so there is no sharing of down ghat road and no waiting period as well.

No matter where you park, there will be a bit of walking either to VQC or when returning after darshan. There are free buses as well as paid jeeps that will drop at VQC / back to parking after darshan. Do ensure to note some landmark near where you park.
Approximate distance from car parking to SED entrance is less than a KM. But if you are not comfortable walking this distance, better to hire a jeep and get a drop. This is what i did when i went there last week. They charged me Rs20 per person.
kavensri is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th February 2022, 16:50   #642

Originally Posted by srvm View Post
During my Tirupati trip last week, I visited Prasanna Venkateswara Temple, Appalayagunta. This is the only Temple in which Lord Venkateswara has his right hand in Abhaya mudra. This place is about 15kms from Tiruchanoor. Roads are good, scenery is awesome. Traffic is thin.
Temple is open from morning till night, and not much crowd usually. On each Thursday forenoon, darshan is suspended for a few hours because of some special pooja.

Lots of information is available online regarding this temple. Do consider visiting this temple during Tirupati trips.

Last edited by adisan : 4th February 2022 at 17:17.
Old 4th February 2022, 20:14   #643

Just one more doubt,
Question because VQC seem closer to the parking space, and heard that once inside Queue complex then there are benches to rest, which will be helpful for my son, Can you please confirm on this point as well? Please let me know
If parking is closer to ATC, return will be a longer walk.

Once inside the SED queue areas, there are indeed benches on and off. If you all don’t care about letting others get ahead of you, you can easily walk, break, walk, break it. The total ‘walk time’ if you were to do it in one go with zero queue won’t be more than 15 minutes, but because of crowd control, it does feel a very long walk. You can take it easy. Let others who run and rush to get ahead of you.

For the return, once you collect the Ladoo, best is to take a Jeep back to the parking. The heat can be quite dehydrating.

Have a good Darshan.
jkrishnakj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2022, 10:59   #644

Are they checking RT-PCRs very closely? I have a 18 year old who got his first Covishield dose but is not due for the second till March.

Do I need to do a RT-PCR for him?
Old 5th February 2022, 11:27   #645

Originally Posted by itwasntme View Post
Are they checking RT-PCRs very closely? I have a 18 year old who got his first Covishield dose but is not due for the second till March.

Do I need to do a RT-PCR for him?
No, you don't have to carry RT-PCR report. Even my duaghter had her first dose of Covishield in Jan and they did not ask us to show RT-PCR report for her. In general, what i saw was, they are not so strict when it comes to vaccine certificates.
kavensri is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com