Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 12th July 2023, 10:45   #736

Re: Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Bangalore - Hiriyur - Challekere - Bellary.

Hiriyur to Bellary is a wide 2-lane. But you won't find to eat on this section. So plan some thing prior to that.
Just curious sir. Isnt the Anantapur road better to reach Bellary sir?

Narayan.
Old 12th July 2023, 13:31   #737

Originally Posted by sandsun7 View Post
Areas like Chickmaglur, Yercaud, etc are very doable!
Thanks sandsun7.

Slightly tangential but would you know how is Nandi Hills during monsoons. That’s a backup plan we are considering. Go to Nandi Hills, stay in a resort nearby and then just explore around - 2 day one night trip.
Old 12th July 2023, 14:38   #738

Originally Posted by warrioraks View Post
Thanks sandsun7.

Slightly tangential but would you know how is Nandi Hills during monsoons. That’s a backup plan we are considering. Go to Nandi Hills, stay in a resort nearby and then just explore around - 2 day one night trip.
Not a bad idea if you choose a weekday and not a weekend. there are a couple of places worth visiting around nandi hills, like the Bogha Nandeeswara temple, Srinivasa sagar dam, Gudibande fort etc. KSTDC Mayura pinetop is located atop the hills but it is a basic hotel. Sells primarily because of the location.
sandsun7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2023, 14:55   #739

Originally Posted by warrioraks View Post
Thanks sandsun7.

Nandi Hills is a good backup location nearby BLR City, but should be avoided on weekends. Weekend Traffic is horrible and is worse than BLR City traffic.

And there are many resorts, restaurants below and nearby Nandi Hills and the KSTDC one on top is just ordinary. You can also explore nearby localities, there are few trails, small temples, villages, mini hillocks etc to explore.

narayanang76

Last edited by narayanang76 : 12th July 2023 at 14:56.
narayanang76 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th July 2023, 16:33   #740

Originally Posted by iamnarayang View Post
Just curious sir. Isnt the Anantapur road better to reach Bellary sir?
Both sections are good as I understand. But I am not that aware of Ananthpur-Bellari. I have never driven.
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 1st January 2024, 11:04   #741

Pyramid Valley is OK for quiet timepass with the family. Inside the pyramid, every 2 hours or so, there are mediation programs like silent meditation, meditation with audio and meditation with video

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_165703.jpg

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_165821.jpg

It is very dark inside the pyramid because it has no windows. Artificial lighting is dim like in a movie theater. So it is a good opportunity to test out the "night mode" in your camera:

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_165919.jpg

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_170020.jpg

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_170158.jpg

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_170302.jpg

You can see these wall etchings when you exit the pyramid:

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_170512.jpg

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_170540.jpg

Outside, there is a small waterbody where you can do boating, children's playground, accupressure walkway and a large park with green lawn.

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_172450-1.jpg

Cool Drives within 150 km from Bangalore-20231231_170928.jpg

There is a restaurant inside the complex, but he ran out of food.

Last edited by SmartCat : 1st January 2024 at 11:15.
SmartCat is online now   (8) Thanks
Old 25th January 2024, 00:44   #742

Folks,
I am looking for a place around Bannerghatta side that is supposedly a great mini forest park with a hill to take pets to - I forget the name I was once told hence asking here. Alternatively if anyone knows a sprawling expansive forested place on the way to Hosur within 90mins of Koramangala area please let me know. (Excluding Anchetty Hogenekal side). The idea is to mix a long drive with a leisurely pet walk and hike.

Old 25th January 2024, 07:29   #743

Originally Posted by Ragul View Post
Folks,
I am looking for a place around Bannerghatta side that is supposedly a great mini forest park with a hill to take pets to - I forget the name I was once told hence asking here.
Are you talking about Tobo Hill top? This place is closed for public now.
Old 25th January 2024, 23:02   #744

Planning to do a ride on Attibele - Denkanikottai - Anchetti - Hoganekkal. I haven't taken that route for a long time now. Does anyone know what is the current condition of the road?
Old 26th January 2024, 01:24   #745

Originally Posted by arun_josie View Post
Are you talking about Tobo Hill top? This place is closed for public now.
I don’t think that’s the one. This place also has a pond I heard…
Old 28th January 2024, 09:46   #746

Yesterday, I did a day drive all the way to Lepakshi. It was my first time driving on this route. The NH44 and the small stretch of 10+ kms into Lepakshi are mostly a breeze to drive on. The round trip for me was about 270 kms. I took the Whitefield - KR Puram - Hebbal - Nandi Upachar - Lepakshi route on the first leg and for the return leg I took the new STRR via Hoskote all the way to Whitefield.

On my way to Lepakshi, I noticed a new Pit stop ‘The Big Bay’ (https://maps.app.goo.gl/CKHccRFhppRTjS197) - looks like it is newly opened along the way on NH44. It truly was a welcome surprise with an open air highway mall listing stores such as Starbucks, Empire, KFC, Haldiram’s, and many more. The washrooms were also clean and well maintained.

It would be absolutely fantastic if similar pit stops start coming up on all major highways at every 1-1.5 hours. That would encourage many more to go on road trips.

Last edited by Adsc0230 : 28th January 2024 at 09:58.
Adsc0230 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th January 2024, 10:52   #747

Originally Posted by Horizon81 View Post
Planning to do a ride on Attibele - Denkanikottai - Anchetti - Hoganekkal. I haven't taken that route for a long time now. Does anyone know what is the current condition of the road?
The first step is actually getting to the Denkanikottai road from Hosur if thats how you plan to go.

If you stay close to Bannerghatta Road / IIM, then another option would be go via Bannerghatta park, Jigar Anekal - Thally - Denkanikottai.

If the plan is to go via Hosur, then please note there is quite come road work before the TVS factory. I guess roads beyond Denkanikotta/Anchetty should be in general good. But would be good to hear others. I dont have first hand info on these sections.
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2024, 17:14   #748

Originally Posted by Horizon81 View Post
Planning to do a ride on Attibele - Denkanikottai - Anchetti - Hoganekkal.
Had done this route last year, there was some bad sections between Anchetti and Hogenakkal. Nothing very bothering, rest of the section was fine.
mpksuhas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st January 2024, 14:34   #749

Cross posting the link to another thread which is relevant here

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/trave...bengaluru.html (Quick Visit to Isha Foundation Chikkaballapura (Bengaluru))
Old 31st January 2024, 14:41   #750
SGK

Originally Posted by ampere View Post

If the plan is to go via Hosur, then please note there is quite come road work before the TVS factory. I guess roads beyond Denkanikotta/Anchetty should be in general good. But would be good to hear others. I dont have first hand info on these sections.
I travel in this route regularly till Denkanikottai (Have farm house over there) and this road is good. Kindly take the Attibele -TVS route and connect the main Denkanikottai road.
SGK is offline   (1) Thanks