Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 31st October 2009, 09:44   #16

Early morning driving - Payyannur/kannur -40/45 minutes (narrow /congested roads are at Puthiyatheru and caltex junction -otherwise can reach even earlier).

Kannur-Kozhikode - 2 hours not sufficient (Roads in mahe town area is not good and also very narrow roads)as we have to cross congested cities like Thalassery, mahe, vadakara, quilandi plus couple of railway crossings.

Early this month, I went to Guruvayoor. While going I missed one byepass and instead jumped into a wrong road which is meant for heavy vehicle plus the road was very very very bad (almost 4 km stretch driven only on 1st and 2nd gear -mostly 1st gear). Whilst coming back from guruvayoor, it took 5.5 hours with 15 minutes break.)

Edat- just 2km from payyannur towards kannur

Old 1st November 2009, 19:49   #17

Originally Posted by nairrk View Post
@abhilash

Calicut - University - Kottakal - Kuttipuram - Edappal - Kunnanmkulam - Chavakkad, Trichur - Chalakkudy - Angamaly - Aluva - Edapally - Arror - Alappuzha - Quilon - TvM.
When going from Kunnamkulam to Thrissur, you will not pass through Chavakkad. It is when you want to take NH17 to Ernakulam. At Kunnamkulam, sometimes you may have to take a one way narrow road and reach near the Bus Stand. In that case you need to take Left for Thrissur. You may get confused and it is better to ask somebody for the Thrissur Road.
Old 2nd November 2009, 13:47   #18

Okay noted.
I remember, when I went to Guruvaryur early sept, after about 7/8 km(approximately as I forgot to note down the mileage) from kunnamkulam towards guruvayoor, have seen a immediate leftturn (like a U turn) and a signboard written there -to Thrissur. May be this road joins with the one which you mentioned above ?
Old 2nd November 2009, 14:50   #19

Okay noted.
I remember, when I went to Guruvaryur early sept, after about 7/8 km(approximately as I forgot to note down the mileage) from kunnamkulam towards guruvayoor, have seen a immediate leftturn (like a U turn) and a signboard written there -to Thrissur. May be this road joins with the one which you mentioned above ?
See the image of Kunnamkulam Town. Here you will be going through the red path if the One way is in force. Else you will be entering the junction through the green path. On Sundays and off peak hours the one way will not be there.
Name:  kunnamkulam.png
Views: 1715
Size:  35.1 KB

By the way I am from Pallikunnu, Kannur.

Last edited by abhilash_iv : 2nd November 2009 at 14:51.
Old 2nd November 2009, 15:07   #20

Yes Abhilash, correct .
I remember now - that day was a sunday and I drove straight from edappal/kuttipuram through the green path and went straight to Guruvayoor.
The turn to left to Thrissur is the one I mentioned in my last post. In any case I was not aware about the one way drive as I followed other cars in front me (nothing noticed may be because of sunday ).
In all probability, I can reach Thrissur in around 6 hours (normal driving) and thinking of staying in thrissur and continue journey next morning (my wife want to see the temple- where the thrissur pooram being held) - Any opinion?

BTW -Are you working at Kochi?
Old 2nd November 2009, 15:16   #21

Yes Abhilash, correct .
In all probability, I can reach Thrissur in around 6 hours (normal driving) and thinking of staying in thrissur and continue journey next morning (my wife want to see the temple- where the thrissur pooram being held) - Any opinion?

BTW -Are you working at Kochi?
Yes you can reach Trissur from Payyannur in 6 hours. The Thirunakkara maithanam is the ground of Thrissur Pooram. The road takes a full circle around the Thirunakkara temple there. The pooram is held at the place where the Thirunakkara Temple faces the Paramekkavu Temple. I am not much aware of good hotels there, but since it is in the middle of the city, it will not be difficult to find a decent hotel.

Yes, I work in a company @ Infopark.
Old 2nd November 2009, 16:18   #22

Thank you very much for all informations.!

Hotel - Have seen couple of hotels (through internet) near vadakkumnathan temple
i.e CEE PEE Tower and Hotel GRand Park Regency.
Anyway, I still got time to decide this trip!
Old 2nd November 2009, 16:22   #23

Thank you very much for all informations.!

Hotel - Have seen couple of hotels (through internet) near vadakkumnathan temple
i.e CEE PEE Tower and Hotel GRand Park Regency.
Anyway, I still got time to decide this trip!
I am so sorry with the term Thirunakkara. Actually Thirunakkara temple and Maithanam is in Kottayam. I dont know how I typed it twice. It is Vadakkumnadha Temple and ground. Both temples are Sivan, that may be the cause of Goof up. Sorry about it. I hope somebody later will not find my post and get confused.
Old 2nd November 2009, 16:46   #24

Surprisingly, I too did not note the Thirunakkara. Since Paramekkauv name was there,
I did not give much seriousness to Thirunakkara. (I know Thirunakkara maithanam and the temple). Dont worry, mistakes comes, it is normal may be you are reading/replying the posts in between your work.
Old 28th April 2010, 23:14   #25

Could someone update me on the road conditions Calicut to Guruvayoor.
My last years trip, i returned with my rear skirts damaged. There was one stretch on the highway which was left untouched for years, which caused the damage. Is it still the same. Is there a better road to avoid this stretch. If so kindly guide me.
Old 30th April 2010, 00:08   #26

Originally Posted by Sportsmind View Post
Could someone update me on the road conditions Calicut to Guruvayoor.
My last years trip, i returned with my rear skirts damaged. There was one stretch on the highway which was left untouched for years, which caused the damage. Is it still the same. Is there a better road to avoid this stretch. If so kindly guide me.
Which route did you take? NH17? I had driven 6 months back. On some stretches work is progressing, but it is not treacherous. Good roads throughout.
Old 30th April 2010, 10:14   #27

Originally Posted by sbraj View Post
Which route did you take? NH17? I had driven 6 months back. On some stretches work is progressing, but it is not treacherous. Good roads throughout.
Yes it was NH 17. I guess that is the only route to Guruvayoor from Calicut. I know they were doing up the two lane system, but at a couple of points the roads just end and drops into kacha roads. This damaged my drive skirts. Another problem was no one gives you time to slowly lower your drive at these points, as the bus drivers are honking behind you, as though his bottoms on fire.
I am more worried about this stretch this time around, as I have a lowered spring. the drive is lowered by 10mm.
Old 30th April 2010, 10:27   #28

I know they were doing up the two lane system, but at a couple of points the roads just end and drops into kacha roads. This damaged my drive skirts.
Now I get it. I too faced the same issue. Think this was somewhere near Edappal. Latest that I heard is that the road work is over. But due to the wider and good roads, accidents have increased. Especially those involving the speeding Jeeps. Be cautious on this stretch.
Old 7th September 2010, 22:54   #29

Yes it was NH 17. I guess that is the only route to Guruvayoor from Calicut. I know they were doing up the two lane system, but at a couple of points the roads just end and drops into kacha roads. This damaged my drive skirts.
Any recent updates on NH17 between calicut and Thriprayaar (or Guruvayoor)? Need to do this drive after sunset.

Travel is expected this weekend (10th/11th Sep 2010).

If NH17 is not in condition, please suggest the alternate route (Kunnamkulam?).
Old 7th September 2010, 23:17   #30

NH 17 is having some bad stretch of roads at kuttipuram . So to avoid it take thanoor , tirur , thavanoor route to enter ponnani. Dont know the condition of thavanoor - ponnani road but will be better and short comparing with kuttipuram route .

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com