Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 31st December 2016, 18:23   #10171
BHPian

Re: All Roads to Kerala

Hi Friends,

My Alleppey trip got postponed and planning to do that in Jan17 now. I am pretty new to this route and would like some suggestions/inputs since it will be a 10+ hours drive with me as the only driver and I will be travelling with an infant.

As I always do, will try to leave Bangalore early by 5am. But it looks from the discussions above that there are few stretches on the route which is best avoided (bad traffic, construction).

Would really appreciate your valuable feedback. I received the following route suggestion from fellow tbhp-ian pramodpk

Route - Bangalore - Salem - Coimbatore(by pass) - Palakkad ( By pass )
- Mannuthy - Angamaly - Aluva - Edapally - Vytilla - Cherthala - Alapuzha.

Questions:
1) Are the roads in good shape all through. How much of the 570km is 4 laned. From experience I know that the roads till Coimbatore are all 4 lane but do not know after that.
2) Any specific stretch of the road to avoid?
Old 31st December 2016, 19:55   #10172
Senior - BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by adutta2k View Post
Route - Bangalore - Salem - Coimbatore(by pass) - Palakkad ( By pass )
- Mannuthy - Angamaly - Aluva - Edapally - Vytilla - Cherthala - Alapuzha.

Questions:
1) Are the roads in good shape all through. How much of the 570km is 4 laned. From experience I know that the roads till Coimbatore are all 4 lane but do not know after that.
1) Yes. The entire stretch is 4-laned, with these exceptions:

* Bangalore-Krishnagiri and (I think) Perundurai-Coimbatore are 6 laned.
* Coimbatore bypass is single carriageway, two lanes with shoulders.
* Vadakkanchery-Mannuthy is also single carriageway, (barely) two lanes.
* So is Chertala-Alapuzha (the final stretch).

2) The following stretches need special attention: