Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 14th June 2023, 20:54   #1

Advice on a Shillong - Tezpur - Bomdilla - Tawang road-trip in the Monsoons

Hello BHPians,

I have been an avid reader of your informative posts. This time I've thought to seek your opinions/Suggestions on my upcoming road trip from Shillong to Tawang via Tezpur.

I've got in touch with some of my friends and have received mixed responses from them on my proposed tour. Hence I think honest opinions of BHPians would guide me through this situation.

-planning to cover the stretch in a period of 7 days with rest in between.

-Travelling alongwith spouse, 5 yrs old child, and two other middle aged relatives in a 2021 model Tata Altroz 1.2P NA.

My question is whether July would be a good time for the trip considering the weather? What is the condition of road and if any alternate and better route option exists? Availability of road side amenities enroute? Options available enroute in case of minor breakdowns? Any specific things to be carried along? Petrol stations on the way?

Suggestions would be valued. Also kindly provide inputs if I have left out anything important.... Thanking you all in anticipation of a favourable response.

P.S - Accommodation, ILP and other administrative requirements have been/will be taken care of.
Old 14th June 2023, 23:48   #2

re: Advice on a Shillong - Tezpur - Bomdilla - Tawang road-trip in the Monsoons

Hi su30dew, don't really want to be a spoilsport here but July is absolutely a horrid time to go to Tawang. In fact, the entire monsoon season is a bad time to go to the hills. The roads are landslide prone and you will find many road blockades. Bhalukpong route as well as the Balemu route, both are prone to landslides. Besides, Tawang can be best seen in the month of October and to a certain extent November when the hills are full of colours. Monsoons are a bad idea for sure. Roads can be pretty bad during rains and the chances of getting stuck is very real. Last year, the extended rains went till early October and road closures happened as well.

Fair assessment from my side- Bad idea, certainly with a car like Altroz.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com