Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 20th October 2022, 14:00   #1

Bangalore-Akkalkot: Route Queries

Mods: I searched for this specific route on the forum, couldnt find one. Hence starting a new thread. In case a thread exists pls merge.

Experts and BHPians,

I am planning to travel from Bangalore (North Bangalore, Yelahanka to be more specific) to Akkalkot Maharashtra near Solapur. The route which is the most preferred is Bangalore-Chitradurga-Hospet-Vijaypura-Solapur-Akkalkot. The distance is 650+ kms and approximate time required to cover this route would be 11+ hours. Add a couple of hours for stops. The vehicle is Tata Harrier with 3 occupants (all adults).

Couple of queries.
1. Is this best route in terms of road conditions, availability of food options, refuel options etc. Any pain points in this route.
2. Kindly suggest good stoppage points in terms of fuel and Food.

I remember when I had travelled from Solapur to Vijapur, there were some random super huge speed breakers which increased the time of travel, do they still exists?
Bangalore-Akkalkot: Route Queries-route-map.png  

Old 20th October 2022, 14:23   #2

Re: Bangalore-Akkalkot: Route Queries

@godhlur, when do you plan to go ? I can check a bit, however, general inputs based on some familiarity I have about the area:

going via Bijapur-Solapur-Akkalkot would be fine, IMO. Things have improved between Bijapur-Solapur compared to earlier. And this route would mean more highway compared to the other options.

Food options limited between Chitradurga and Bijapur - but do check the other threads that explore the Chitradurga-Hospet-Solapur section. Fuel options are not a problem. There is one IOCL COCO outside Bijapur on the highway.

Akkalkot - check Ajinkyatara.

However, do go steady on the Solapur-Akkalkot section. Have seen couple of accident reports at some of the points in between.

Suggest to avoid going via Afzalpur - again due to local reports of bad sections of road in the MH side, as one approaches Akkalkot - esp if it is raining. (have seen videos).

Last edited by condor : 20th October 2022 at 14:33.
condor is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 20th October 2022, 14:46   #3

@Ghodlur Sir, I recently traveled from Bangalore to Gulbarga and had taken Bangalore-Chitradurga-Hospet-Vijaypura route. My observations
- Roads are really good
- Food options are very limited in Hospet >> Bijapur section
- For Fuel refill we have an IOC Tiwari Petrol Pump just before the Bijapur Toll
This Pump is super crowded with trucks
BrokenHW is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th October 2022, 14:52   #4

Originally Posted by condor View Post
@godhlur, when do you plan to go
It can be on the coming Saturday or Sunday early morning. Planning to start at 5 am in the morning to get the min traffic advantage.

I will be starting with a full tank, expect to reach destination in one tank hopefully.

I usually stay at the Yatri Bhavan near the temple at Akkalkot. Bookings are tentatively done.
Old 20th October 2022, 15:09   #5

Rechecked on the Hospet-Solapur part, and the inputs are:

Food options:
* Upadhya Ruchi at Aimangala before Chitradurga by-pass. Its on the right, but can access it. (Avoid Sarvodaya veg which is closer to Chitradurga)
* After Chitradurga, Anand Vihar is ok to go to.
* at/near Kushtagi
* Inside Ilkal - Kamat hotel
* About 5km after Ilkal is Prakash Dhabha (has parking + restroom facilities)

Between Bijapur and Solapur - many Dhabhas are there. One name mentioned was Bamboos about 10km after Bijapur, on the highway.

Hope this helps.

Sufficient fuel stations.
Old 20th October 2022, 15:10   #6

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
Bangalore (North Bangalore, Yelahanka to be more specific) to Akkalkot Maharashtra near Solapur.
There are 2 route choices you have:

1. Bangalore-NH7-Gadwal-Raichur-Yadgir-Gulbarga-Akkalkot - You can check Awaz's update here (Bangalore to Gulbarga : Route Queries).

2. Bangalore-NH4-Chitradurga-Bijapur-Solapur-Akkalkot

The second route is an absolute beauty, barring the speed breakers between Hospet and Almatti.

There is a BPCL COCO before Bijapur town (Hospet direction) and IOCL COCO on Bijapur bypass. There are bridges on Bijapur bypass, so don't expect to see the IOC and stop, use Google Maps.

There are lot more non-COCO pumps on Bijapur-Solapur stretch. This being a trucker stretch. So fuel is never a problem.

For food, there is only Anand Vihar near Kuldigi and Nandagokula at Kushtagi bang on the highway after Chitradurga. Otherwise you have to enter Hospet or Bijapur town, where there are enough restaurants.

Solapur-Akkalkot-Gulbarga is being widened since 2020
narayans80 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th October 2022, 11:11   #7

I completed the Bangalore - Akkalkot trip, covered a distance of 690 kms in 9 hrs driving time. Started at 5 am faced couple of issues - 1. Diversion near BHEL due to road closure 2. Morning traffic upto Nelamangala around 5.30am 3. Damaged roads for 4-5 kms after Tumkur. From there till Chitradurga it was smooth ride. The 4 laned NH 50 all the way till Bijapur was very good and so was NH 52 till Solapur. Had to navigate through Solapur city traffic to reach NH150E which was a 4 laned concretized road all the way till Akkalkot. HAd refuled at Bijapur and also had lunch there.

Had decided to travel to Narsobachi wadi and Audumbar in MH. The NH 166 was a revealtion. Smooth 4 laned tolled highway till Miraj and Sangli, supposed to be the connection to Ratnagiri from Nagpur. A distance of 241 kms was covered in 2.5 hrs. Good speeds, good roads is all a BHPian needs. Decided to halt at Kolhapur for Mahalaxmi darshan.

Started back to Bangalore at 6 am and reached North Bangalore i.e Yelahanka around 1.30 pm. Speeds of 110 was easily doable due to good NH48 roads and zero traffic. I even crossed the 2 laned road between Dharwad and Belgaum in 30 mins due to less traffic.

Covered a total distance of 1674 kms in 4 days with a fantastic avg of 16.2 and speed of 77 kmph.

Many thanks to all those who suggested and made this trip a memorable one. Special thanks to Condor for his advice.
Bangalore-Akkalkot: Route Queries-20221026_181705.jpg  

Last edited by ghodlur : 27th October 2022 at 11:13.
ghodlur is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2022, 15:38   #8

For Travellers to Akkalkot Swami Samarth:

renovated Guest house - "Ganesh Mandir Yatri Thamba"

Bangalore-Akkalkot: Route Queries-ganeshmandir-akkalkot.jpg
Old 3rd December 2022, 15:47   #9

Originally Posted by condor View Post
For Travellers to Akkalkot Swami Samarth:

renovated Guest house - "Ganesh Mandir Yatri Thamba"

Attachment 2386129
Looks good. Can you share the location link or any contact/website details if available. Can forward to few of my friends and relatives.
Old 10th December 2022, 21:52   #10

@Godhlur, this would be in the Annachatra Mandal campus close to the temple.

They do not take reservations, nor do they have online booking. It's a kind of walk-in.

Last edited by Aditya : 23rd December 2022 at 22:21. Reason: As requested
Old 30th October 2024, 14:06   #11

Folks, I need recommendations for breakfast options at Pandharpur and lunch options between Zalki and Chitradurga.

I am expected to reach Pandharpur around 8.30 am and lunch hopefully around 2 pm near Ilkal or Kushtagi.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com