Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 6th October 2023, 14:37   #721

re: Bangalore - Mysore Expressway Thread

This guy was coming on the speed track from the opposite direction, wondering if this should be called as an attempt to "Suicide" or "Murder". There were no entry or exits nearby and I could only believe the guy has been on that lane for some distance unless he decided to turn back on the same lane

It was Oct 2nd Monday, and we found many cars with flat tyres on the Mysore-Bangalore side, wondering if there is some trick going on there

Last edited by gadadhar : 6th October 2023 at 14:41.
gadadhar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 18:00   #722

Originally Posted by gadadhar View Post
This guy was coming on the speed track from the opposite direction, wondering if this should be called as an attempt to "Suicide" or "Murder".

It was Oct 2nd Monday, and we found many cars with flat tyres on the Mysore-Bangalore side, wondering if there is some trick going on there
Quite possible this is a suicide attempt given he is on fast lane. If you have the clear license plates, you can directly report to Traffic police via twitter.

The flat tyres reminds me of Bengaluru ORR news https://www.deccanchronicle.com/nati...motorists.html
Making some quick money off unsuspecting owners.
DetectiveMiles is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th October 2023, 18:15   #723

we found many cars with flat tyres on the Mysore-Bangalore side, wondering if there is some trick going on there
Did you not notice the makeshift puncture repair shops which has come up in recent times? I have observed many such shops and the barricade mesh is broken where the shops are present too.

So i am not surprised anymore
Oppanna is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 7th October 2023, 07:02   #724

Originally Posted by Oppanna View Post
Did you not notice the makeshift puncture repair shops which has come up in recent times? I have observed many such shops and the barricade mesh is broken where the shops are present too.

Might be a scam as suspected, someone should report this on the Bangalore Traffic Police Twitter page.
Fillmore is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 9th October 2023, 09:59   #725

Originally Posted by DetectiveMiles View Post
Quite possible this is a suicide attempt given he is on fast lane. If you have the clear license plates, you can directly report to Traffic police via twitter.

The flat tyres reminds me of Bengaluru ORR news

Making some quick money off unsuspecting owners.
Sorry, the number is not clearly visible in the video.

Originally Posted by Fillmore View Post
Might be a scam as suspected, someone should report this on the Bangalore Traffic Police Twitter page.
There were too many vehicles with flat tyres and it cannot be a coincidence. Will this fall in the purview of Bangalore traffic police?
Old 9th October 2023, 10:07   #726

There were too many vehicles with flat tyres and it cannot be a coincidence. Will this fall in the purview of Bangalore traffic police?
Unfortunately no. This highway passes through Ramanagar, Mandya and Mysore district. Respective district juridiction!

Highway Patrol may be able to curb this menace though!
Oppanna is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2023, 10:14   #727

This guy was coming on the speed track from the opposite direction, wondering if this should be called as an attempt to "Suicide" or "Murder". There were no entry or exits nearby and I could only believe the guy has been on that lane for some distance unless he decided to turn back on the same lane
On the other hand he is keeping to his left while driving
Old 9th October 2023, 10:17   #728

Unfortunately no. This highway passes through Ramanagar, Mandya and Mysore district. Respective district juridiction!

I did not notice any patrolling vehicles in the stretch. After the media report, cops should be aware of this scam

There are traffic wardens in most of the entry/exit, I saw a motorbike getting stopped at the entry.
gadadhar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2023, 17:13   #729

Originally Posted by Oppanna
Originally Posted by gadadhar
I did not notice any patrolling vehicles in the stretch. After the media report, cops should be aware of this scam
Highway Police mobiles also are maintained by the respective district police. So Ramanagara, Mandya and Mysore districts will have their own highway patrol mobiles. My understanding is that there are two units, one at Ramanagara and another at Channapatna.

What I have observed is that in KA, Highway Police mobiles are also detailed to provide VIP pilot duties. So they may not be on the highway at times. TN and KL does not generally do that. In distress (not to lodge complaints) dialling 112 or using the 112 mobile app works. These calls/alerts are logged in the system and have a built in escalation mechanism. It goes to state control room first, and then to district control room and to the MDT in the police vehicle. No one can say that they did not know the event. Our neighbours (hubby, wifey and two young kids) were actually helped well by the Ramanagara Highway mobile as their vehicle got stalled on a desolate stretch of this highway. The police actually picked them up in their vehicle and dropped them at a small hotel near Ramanagara town.
sachinpk is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 14th October 2023, 09:48   #730

I went to Srirangapatna for Pitru Puja today in the morning and returned back. The drive was pleasant and used Cruise control at 98KMPH throughout.

While returning, there was a major accident on the lane towards Mysore on the Ramanagara bypass. The traffic was piled up and many drivers were driving on the wrong way to escape the jam only to add to the misery.
speedmiester is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th October 2023, 13:10   #731

Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
I went to Srirangapatna for Pitru Puja today in the morning and returned back. The drive was pleasant and used Cruise control at 98KMPH throughout.

While returning, there was a major accident on the lane towards Mysore on the Ramanagara bypass. The traffic was piled up and many drivers were driving on the wrong way to escape the jam only to add to the misery.
I drove the same stretch(towards Bangalore) this morning and noticed the accident on the opposite lane that you are talking about. The mangled cars presented a terrible sight - a Ciaz, an Innova Crysta, and the third one looked like a Swift.

I set the cruise control at 100 km/h for a significant part, and quite contrary to your pleasant driving experience, I did not enjoy the drive much. I stuck to the rightmost lane, but there were quite a few slow-moving vehicles on the lane. To overtake them, I had no other option but to switch lanes. Not just that, there were cars zooming past me on the other two lanes to my left. This further strengthens my opinion that more than the speed of the cars, it's the 'lane indiscipline' that is the biggest contributor to road accidents.
Emvi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th October 2023, 14:42   #732

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

Originally Posted by Emvi View Post
I stuck to the rightmost lane, but there were quite a few slow-moving vehicles on the lane. To overtake them, I had no other option but to switch lanes. Not just that, there were cars zooming past me on the other two lanes to my left. This further strengthens my opinion that more than the speed of the cars, it's the 'lane indiscipline' that is the biggest contributor to road accidents.
You are 1000% correct. Even if we follow the 100kmph rule and sit in the right lane. Or if we follow the 80kmph rule and sit in the centre lane, sooner or later we will come across someone who simply ignores anything and everything to do with lane discipline, speed limits, overtaking rules, indicator rules etc. And most definitely this makes for an uncomfortable driving experience. Lane and horn and headlamps/ indicators/ flashers related discipline is not at all going to be easy for us Indians to learn. We are an inherently and congenitally indisciplined lot. Not much we can do except rant here and drive carefully outside.
shankar.balan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th October 2023, 15:04   #733

Originally Posted by Emvi View Post
I set the cruise control at 100 km/h for a significant part, and quite contrary to your pleasant driving experience, I did not enjoy the drive much. I stuck to the rightmost lane, but there were quite a few slow-moving vehicles on the lane. To overtake them, I had no other option but to switch lanes. Not just that, there were cars zooming past me on the other two lanes to my left. This further strengthens my opinion that more than the speed of the cars, it's the 'lane indiscipline' that is the biggest contributor to road accidents.
My comments are based on putting in more than a lakh KMs on the previous highway between Bangalore-Mysore. Compared to the chaos I was used to, these are not even an irritant anymore. As long as I do not have to take any extreme evasive action, I will rate it as a peaceful drive.

I am happy that I can use the Cruise control for extended period with speed closer to the ton.
speedmiester is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 14th October 2023, 15:36   #734

Originally Posted by speedmiester View Post
My comments are based on putting in more than a lakh KMs on the previous highway between Bangalore-Mysore. Compared to the chaos I was used to, these are not even an irritant anymore. As long as I do not have to take any extreme evasive action, I will rate it as a peaceful drive.
Having myself driven on the stretch countless times, I absolutely agree with you. The new highway is several notches better than the old one, no matter how you look at it. Apologies if my post presented a different perspective.

After the 'strict implementation' of speed limits, I drove on the highway for the first time today. And for the first time, I used cruise control on the highway. I was under the impression that the rule enforcement had compelled the majority of motorists to adhere to it. The disparity between expectation and reality is what disappointed me a bit. Nonetheless, the highway remains one of my favourites.
Emvi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 20th October 2023, 20:38   #735

Any updates on how the Dusshera special traffic on this route? I am planning to drive from Bangalore to Mysore tomorrow (return by night). Expecting a bit higher traffic and praying for no surprises on fast lines like the auto rickshaw posted earlier on this thread.