Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 5th October 2024, 19:06   #4471

Re: Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries

Originally Posted by Innysta View Post
I did ride on last week and didn't see any discomfort/annoyance due to the rumbler strips.
At what speeds where you crossing the rumble strips between Hosur and Krishnagiri? How deep is it? Are these visible at night?

Last edited by Turbohead : 5th October 2024 at 19:10.
Old 5th October 2024, 20:00   #4472

Originally Posted by Turbohead View Post
At what speeds where you crossing the rumble strips between Hosur and Krishnagiri? How deep is it? Are these visible at night?
Was crossing these rumble strips at 80-100kmph. Not very deep. For SUV/MUV, it's normal, nothing felt as such. Even i didn't see any sedan/hatchback slowing down as well. Very well visible at night, there are two over-bridge construction and redirected thro' single lane.

Last edited by Innysta : 5th October 2024 at 20:01. Reason: rephrased
Innysta is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 6th October 2024, 14:03   #4473

Originally Posted by Turbohead View Post
They are better now, earlier some of them were deep enough to make us slow down but now they have filled up those deeper ones and softened it.
arun_josie is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th October 2024, 16:35   #4474

Im witnessing traffic jams at places where I haven't seen in the past 20 years. Last weekend, I was driving back to bangalore from Chennai, surprised to see 3km long jam just before the right turn towards krishnagiri due to bridge closure on one side towards bangalore. Well, and then I'm greeted with long pile up at every deviations.

Be extremely cautious while overtaking a truck on the deviation strip, the narrow gap closes fast with an blink of an eye leading to a disaster. Just don't try , it's not worth it, rather be late by few minutes.

Last edited by glovins2004 : 15th October 2024 at 16:36.
glovins2004 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 21st October 2024, 19:34   #4475

Today was deep trafficky miserable-ness from Avalakukki onwards after Hosur. There was heavy water logging on the road and created a tailback of more than a kilometre which took forever to clear.

So after consultation with the Harrier next to me, we waded through some 1 foot deep water and then I took my Jimny onto a mud track and whacked through a narrow slush trail until we got stuck again because some oncoming vehicles had created a log jam on the narrow track.

So I reversed out and then along with a couple of others, we went through some more muddy trails and villages until we found some tarmac which led us to Athimugam and eventually to Shoolagiri and back onto the highway. I lost a total of 1 hour and a quarter in this adventure but on the flip-side I enjoyed the views of pristine agricultural and floricultural lands. And fave my Jimny a workout too.

Anyway as usual the rest of the trip on the Vellore route was fine. Except that it is now around 4-5 years and they still havent completed the Chennasamudram to Madras stretch. I cannot imagine this level of cavalier treatment to an Important National Highway between two major cities!

I left home at 0615 hrs. Was able to extricate myself from the traffic tailback as described above and then stop at Murugan Krishnagiri at 0920hrs after my mud trail adventure.
And then I went straight barrelling along after breakfast to Madras and reached my Dads place in Kotturpuram at 1420hrs.

This is my first long road trip in my Jimny after buying it in March. I just have not had any time.

Today at no point did I exceed 100kmph on the highway. The Jimny was an absolute joy on that mud trail with its narrowness and lightness and on the highway with its nice manual gearbox and naturally aspirated engine. It is so engaging to drive and take those revs right up through the gears, that I am really glad to own one of these iconic little go anywhere toys. Cutting gears whenever I needed to slow down and take the innumerable diversions. Cracking through bits of under-construction sections and all that, without a care in the world.

Seriously it is bringing back all my wonderful memories zipping around in my various Gypsys over the years.

I really cannot be happier!
Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4699.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4700.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4703.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4705.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4708.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4712.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4717.jpeg  

Last edited by shankar.balan : 21st October 2024 at 19:44.
shankar.balan is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 27th October 2024, 05:25   #4476

Yesterday I came back from Madras but via the Chittoor - Palamaner road instead of the Krishnagiri stretch.

I have not travelled on this road for a while (June 2023 coming back from Madras and October 2023 while going to Madras).

I was in my Jimny and wasn’t really looking to be setting a cracking pace, because I was in absolutely no hurry.

So I left Madras at 930am and was toodling along the main highway enjoyably at 90-95kmph in my Manual Transmission vehicle in 5th gear and cruise control on, for the most part.

There wasn’t much traffic to speak of and what there was, was quite disciplined.

The tragedy of course is that large stretches of road from Chennai upto Vellore are still under construction 4 years on. This is criminal, considering that they charge toll. And that this is a big road between two big cities.

Anyway I got to Vellore and on to the Chittoor stretch, stopped for some coconut water at about 12 ish.

There was a beautiful rare honey coloured Chippiparai Hound (one of our vanishing Indian dog breeds) and his name was Guru and he belonged to the nice local person who was selling the tender coconut water.

The road was lovely. It was a sunny day.

I was driving a much loved, little, go anywhere, manual transmission machine, enjoying the revs and the gearbox whine; the nice feel of my little Jimny and changing gears and taking it up the rev band in each gear is fun!

I was also revelling in the beautiful landscape and the curves on the parts which were the old two lane highway. (Like the forgotten old road (Route66) in the Disney movie Cars).

Then I merged back with the big concrete stretch which has blasted through some of the hillsides, in a bid to widen the highway.

Yet, not all of the feel of this road is lost. My friends and I used to motor down this road in our Maruti 800’s and Gypsys and Zens and even once or twice on my friends’ Rajdoot Yamaha RD350 in the late 1980’s and through the 1990’s and even in the early 2000’s.

We used to use this road to Tirupati and all even up until the 2010’s. Then for a long time owing to road works and the fact that the main Hosur route is much more convenient for where I live in Bangalore, we just fell out of the habit and stopped using the Palamaner route.

The roadworks are still on. There are a number of bridges being built and road surfaces can at times be iffy.

But it is all in a days work for the Jimny.

This hilly road through rural TN and AP and KA, via Mulbagal and Kolar and all, is a joy in its own way.

Nowadays it is not as lonely as before. And there are plenty of nice eating places too.

However I stopped only at Woodys, which has been the landmark stop since the 1990’s. And it is still nice, thank heavens.

The rest of drive is still nice. We motor along some lovely tarmac all the way to the big new STRR exits.

Then we hit Kolar Town and pass through some road works and then the great sidewinder - the infamous Hosakote rumbler strips.

After passing the Hosakote Toll and then the final toll at the KR Puram - Bangalore entry, we fall into the absolute misery of traffic with those four long signals and the usual unruliness and jamming, wedging, bullying and honking.

But its fine. We have to live with it. Luckily it was not a rainy day with water logging and all.

So I muddled through and struggled along via Old Madras Road, Indira Nagar, Inner Ring Road, Koramangala and finally Home.

Truth be told I thoroughly enjoyed the drive.

I really enjoy my manual Jimny with its nice little naturally aspirated 1.5 litre engine, which is frankly more than enough for the average speeds we are able to achieve on our highway drives (which hover between 40-60kmph) and the general unpredictability of our roads and terrain and sudden speed breakers and potholes even on the highways.

Despite all this, I had passed the great KR Puram hanging bridge at 1536hours. Which is in my view, pretty good going.

My little Jimny makes me feel like Im in an old fighter plane ; ok, a slightly more modern fighter plane than my Gypsy was.

And I love that feeling. As I have said before, this is an excellent vehicle and well suited to our situation.

Yes, the Cretas and Seltoses and Thars and XUVs and Scorpios and Skodas and all will overtake the Jimny.

But with Hard Acceleration also comes Hard Braking.

It is fine, in my book to be overtaken.

Because in India, the road itself and its imperfections and toll gates and rest stops even things out nicely, just like the immigration queues and luggage conveyor belts even things out at the Airport too!

Maybe I am guilty of too much fantasising.

Or I may be an eccentric, but I really don’t care what the world thinks.

I just love my old school motoring experiences just as much as I like driving on a fast and smooth highway.

It is not about huge bulk and mad power and millions of BHP and Torque.

It is about how well the engine and gearbox mesh and how light and responsive the vehicle is.

It is about the sound and the feel and the engine note and gearbox whine and the ‘Soul’ if I may.

As many erudite folks around the world have said, there is an incomparable joy which one should enjoy in this fast paced, digitally distracted and impatient world, in driving a slower car faster.

If we miss this now, it will be too late!
Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4793.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4792.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4796.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4800.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4807.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4811.jpeg  

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-img_4813.jpeg  

Last edited by shankar.balan : 27th October 2024 at 05:45. Reason: Soacing, Spelling and punctuation
shankar.balan is offline   (36) Thanks
Old 28th October 2024, 16:38   #4477

As many erudite folks around the world have said, there is an incomparable joy which one should enjoy in this fast paced, digitally distracted and impatient world, in driving a slower car faster.

If we miss this now, it will be too late!

Woah! Well said.
I encore , every bit of what you said.
Somehow, I love these deserted single lane roads, to the maddening fast 6 lane expressways. (of course I choose them to travel from Point - A to Point - B)
Old 28th October 2024, 16:51   #4478

Dear Tribe,
I am planning a temple visit to Kanchipuram in the 2nd weekend of November.
Leaving from Ecity on Saturday morning and returning on Monday.

I have my 70+ parents - who cannot sit for long at a stretch, so i will need to take a stretching & bio break every 2 hours at least.
I drive at sedate speeds.

Please help me with the following queries:
1. What time should I start to reach Kanchipuram by 12:30/1 PM on Saturday?
2. Please help me with a itinerary so that I can cover the major temples out there. Pls bear in mind, parents will not be able to stand in too long queues for long, esp., in the bright hot sun.
3. Any other Original Silk Sarees shop - other than Prakash Silks - with genuine pricing and quality?
4. What time should we start from Kanchipuram to reach Ecity by 5 PM ? Any good place to have lunch en route, plain & simple and hygienic vegetarian food.
5. Which route to stick to during the to and from?

Kindly guide.
Thank You!

Last edited by BIL2_HGi10 : 28th October 2024 at 16:52. Reason: Missed one question
Old 28th October 2024, 18:42   #4479

Originally Posted by BIL2_HGi10 View Post
Dear Tribe,

I have my 70+ parents - who cannot sit for long at a stretch, so i will need to take a stretching & bio break every 2 hours at least.
I drive at sedate speeds.

2. Please help me with a itinerary so that I can cover the major temples out there. Pls bear in mind, parents will not be able to stand in too long queues for long, esp., in the bright hot sun.
3. Any other Original Silk Sarees shop - other than Prakash Silks - with genuine pricing and quality?
4. What time should we start from Kanchipuram to reach Ecity by 5 PM ? Any good place to have lunch en route, plain & simple and hygienic vegetarian food.

Kindly guide.
Thank You!

With the constraints you mention, keep 4.15 hours from E.City to Kanchipuram (including a 30-40 minute break). The standard from E City to Kanchipuram under ideal conditions is about 3.15 hours. The earlier you start, the better, you may be able to travel faster due to sparse traffic. Stick to the Krishangiri route, but be prepared for some traffic at the tolls (esp Krishnagiri), then Ambur and then Vellore and pretty much after Vellore, the traffic is reasonably heavy and with some minor diversions due to road work in progress.

Sree Saravana Bhavan (https://maps.app.goo.gl/uDprtS9EqicUokti8) around Shoolagiri is a good place for a food break during your onward journey.Inside Kanchipuram, HSB used to be a good option and recently, they don't hold the same standards of food or service anymore. I would recommend Sai Sangeet as the option you could go with. If you want to explore some local food scene (for yourself, if you want to explore ), try Kovil Idli (https://maps.app.goo.gl/QFnzhSG8fhLioNQg8), you won't be disappointed, in fact totally worth it. Let me know if you want to try other such eateries.

For Silks, there are a lot of places, but try T Chengalvarayan Silks or AS Babu Sah Silks. They are not the places that would splash the city with billboards and glitzy ads, but are really traditional players with good quality products ( Disclaimer: I'm in no way affiliated with any of those players. It's just where my wife and relatives buy usually).

Places to visit:

Mainstream
1. Ekambareswarar temple
2. Kamakshi Temple
3. Kumarakottam
4. Kachapeswarar temple
5. Kailasanathar temple ( ASI maintained temple famous for architecture and sculptures)
6. Varadaraja Perumal temple.
7. Shankara mutt.

You should expect some crowd at some of these temples, esp, Kamakshi temple and Varadaraja Temple.

Some not so routine places:
1. Nadavavi Kinar ( Stepwell ) : https://maps.app.goo.gl/sXD5Ktc21ScQBX849
2. Sanjeevi Rayar temple ( https://maps.app.goo.gl/CjkaDTwtpEVHBHs26 ) - old temple by a huge pond.
3. Thennangur temple (36 kms ~1hr) : https://maps.app.goo.gl/CjkaDTwtpEVHBHs26
4. Chitragupta temple, Kanchipuram ( rare temple dedicated to Chitragupta)
5. Vaikunta Perumal Temple
6. Ulagalanda Perumal Temple

You can add in other temples on the route if you find it appetizing : The Jalakanteshwarar temple + fort at vellore, the Sripuram Golden temple off Vellore and the Margabandheswarar temple at Virinchipuram.

Yesterday I came back from Madras but via the Chittoor - Palamaner road instead of the Krishnagiri stretch.

I have not travelled on this road for a while (June 2023 coming back from Madras and October 2023 while going to Madras).

I was in my Jimny and wasn’t really looking to be setting a cracking pace, because I was in absolutely no hurry.

So I left Madras at 930am and was toodling along the main highway enjoyably at 90-95kmph in my Manual Transmission vehicle in 5th gear and cruise control on, for the most part.

There wasn’t much traffic to speak of and what there was, was quite disciplined.
It's my usual route, given where I stay in Bangalore (the eastern periphery), and yes, it's very peaceful for most parts, especially after you exit Ranipet/TN boundaries.

The Chippy looks handsome. How old was he?

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 29th October 2024 at 10:31. Reason: Back to back posts merged.
airguitar is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 29th October 2024, 16:54   #4480

Kindly guide.
Thank You!
Please consider at least 5 hours for a drive with 2 breaks. This can increase if there are rains or traffic jam at Hosur/ Ambur. Sai Sangeet after Vaniyambadi toll and A2B at Arcot exit are decent options for food/coffee/bio-breaks. If climbing up and down ramps is an issue, you could skip Sai Sangeet and stop at CCD which is just a few kilometres ahead . Starting from E-city around 6- 7 AM would be ideal. For the return, you could start around noon.
Old 29th October 2024, 17:31   #4481

However I stopped only at Woodys, which has been the landmark stop since the 1990’s. And it is still nice, thank heavens.
What a small world. I was in Woddy's aswell on the same time.

Bangalore - Chennai - Bangalore : Route Queries-whatsapp-image-20241029-5.29.05-pm.jpeg

Wish to check if the Jimny parked next to my Fronx is yours?
ash22 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th October 2024, 17:56   #4482

Originally Posted by ash22 View Post
What a small world. I was in Woddy's aswell on the same time.

Attachment 2675672

Wish to check if the Jimny parked next to my Fronx is yours?
Indeed a small world but that particular Jimny isn't mine.
shankar.balan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 1st November 2024, 12:06   #4483

Dear Tribe,

Since you are planning a 2 day trip, please start when it is convenient to your parents. But keep in mind that most temples in Tamil Nadu closes between 1200 - 1600 Hours.

Further please book your accommodation first before starting as the hotels may get sold out during the weekends.
Old 2nd November 2024, 00:19   #4484

Query on Bangalore Chennai Expressway - Is it opened on any stretch? I heard Karnataka side it is almost finished, but officially not open.

Travel plans next week.
Old 3rd November 2024, 15:39   #4485

Originally Posted by jaaz View Post
Query on Bangalore Chennai Expressway - Is it opened on any stretch? I heard Karnataka side it is almost finished, but officially not open.

Travel plans next week.
I rode on the new stretch today upto V.Kota from Hoskote, around 70 kms. The road work is complete till the V.Kota exit and is being built post that few kms after the V.Kota exit.

There are very few cars on the stretch and it was mainly locals. You can access it from the Hoskote side through the upaved entry ramp. But I wouldn't go on a 4 Wheeler since if any of the exit ramps are blocked as this is not officialy open, then you have to back track quite a lot. Also, there are construction and maintenance vehicles stopped and moving in the wrong direction along with local vehicles. Add to that no hotels or pumps yet although the road is more or less done with proper signage etc.

So better to stick to the old highway till they officially open this stretch.

Last edited by tharian : 3rd November 2024 at 15:42.
tharian is online now   (4) Thanks